SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 24664 12/6/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
75% of reviewers $303.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
6.40
spacerspacer
6.80
spacerspacer
7.00
samsung30f2nx.jpg


Keywords: Samsung Wide Prime NX APS-C


vietlh81

Registered: December 2012
Posts: 2
Samsung 30mm f/2 NX review by vietlh81
Review Date: 12/6/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nice focal for everything, compact, lightweight, fast prime
Cons: AF is not ultrasonic, lens hood not included.

Only one reason for me to give up DSLR system (Nikon, Pentax, Canon..), and pass to NX system is this lens.


It is sharp, very sharp from center to corner.


AF speed is not fast but ok for me, better if it would be equiped Ultrasonic motor.


It is ideal for nearly all purpose photography.
arconovum

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 4
Samsung 30mm f/2 NX review by arconovum
Review Date: 4/18/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good optics.
Cons: terrible for video , pathetic auto focus, terrible warranty

As usual with my review of Samsung nx200, and various Samsung specific lenses, I have very little good to say, unfortunately Samsung seems to forget that a lot of competition exists in this market, and make things plagued with unacceptable flaws and defects. So without further ado here is my review of this lens.


So this lens has decent optics, its light weight, not too expensive, Ifunction is fun etc.. etc.. and this is all expected. You get this from all other reviews of this lens on the web. Now I will tell you what you won't see in these reviews after 2 months of testing and usage.


As I have said in previous reviews holds true here on the subject of auto-focus being imperfect and requires manual intervention.


This lens cannot / should not be used at all for video.
Auto-focus mode is far too slow to completely useless(this is no exaggeration), it often fails to be able to focus at all or will take about 5 to 8 seconds to finally focus in on the subject, and of course this is not just the fault of the lens but the camera. Also in Auto focus mode the lens does a lot of mechanical noise that gets recorded on the video, and is very loud.


In manual focus mode its the same problem when in video mode, the lens focus ring rubs and grinds and makes a lot of noise on the video when using the provided mic on the camera.


Manual focusing is not direct drive so to speak, it's software trying to interpret your motions on the focus ring, and so you don't just turn a little to the right to get perfect focus , you have to start from zero every time from a totally blurred view and work your way back to focus again, and this you will do over and over 3 to 4 times before you get it right, forget this in a video, and never mind the picture perfect moment for anything in motion.


In the end I cannot recommend this lens for the nx200 camera, because the two do not compliment each other the way a consumer would expect, a consumer of a point and shoot will expect to use the video abilities of a camera , without focusing issues and noise.


As all lenses from Samsung , they are considered an accessory , no warranty is respected if it fails , Samsung will not repair it nor replace it, this is what I was told directly from Samsung while speaking to an agent and floor manager.


This being my 3rd review I feel I should say this. You will find that I am very strong worded about my reviews, Yes I am , I don't know what Samsung are thinking but if they are thinking that somehow they are paving the way to a new diminished standard of making cameras and equipment, my advice is to re-think your strategy.
mu55ster

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 9
Samsung 30mm f/2 NX review by mu55ster
Review Date: 7/12/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: SHARP - small - SHARP
Cons: doesn't fit on my 5D ;(

GET IT GET IT GET IT


This lens was my reason for buying into the NX system, Sharp at F2 and tiny, perfect focal length for me at 45mm eqv, size is great, I have yet to find a reason to need a hood either.


Love it - Highly recommended
lol101

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 2
Samsung 30mm f/2 NX review by lol101
Review Date: 2/5/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $310.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: High image quality, well built, very small and cheap.
Cons: no iFn button

THE lens to get with a NX!


Excellent IQ right from the (large) maximum aperture.
No distortion, no chromatic aberration, almost no vignetting... in a very light and small package.


And did I mention it's cheap?


If you have a NX, go get it!


... and if you don't have a NX, buy one and THEN, GO GET IT!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.