SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
19 270586 9/30/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
95% of reviewers $401.76
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.63
spacerspacer
9.11
spacerspacer
9.05
tamron70-300f4-56vcusd.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Sony Tele Zoom 35mm SP Di VC Image Stabilized USD tested


rrwilliams64

Registered: September 2013
Posts: 9
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by rrwilliams64
Review Date: 9/30/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $265.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: VC very effective, great IQ
Cons: CA, can be a load to carry all day

Best tele-zoom for the $, IMO. Well built, image quality is superb. I preferred the images from the Tammy over the Nikon 70-300 VR.
Martijnsx

Registered: June 2013
Posts: 1
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by Martijnsx
Review Date: 6/22/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $460.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp at 300mm wide open, focus accuracy, very cheap!!
Cons: None so far

I have had quite some lenses. With my canon 550d and 5d mark III i had the 50mm prime, the 70-300 IS, the 70-300 IS L, the 70-200 4.0 L and the 70-200 2.8 II (twice). Now i switched to Nikon and i have the 35mm prime and the 18-105 kit lens.


I can tell you this, the tamron 70-300 is sharp! It is sharp at 300 mm, it is sharp wide open (@300mm) and focus accuracy is almost 100%. I feel it is on the same level or better than the canon 70-300 L with respect to sharpness. Both canons where less sharp at 300mm wide open. The tamron is better. Where this lens stands out is focus accuracy. It may be due to my nikon d7100 body but focus is spot on any time. Only my first version of the canon 70-200 2.8 II L had better Sharpness and color.


Strange thing is this lens is € 350 euro including a free polarise filter. It is a bargain.


I am very critical on focus performance and sharpness and switched most of my purchases for better copies within couple of days afterpurchase. This one stays for sure. My 35mm prime does not give the same focus accuracy.


Overall i am impressed. I think tamron improved the production quility of this lens lately.


I purchased my copy in holland.
Gromit

Registered: June 2013
Posts: 8
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by Gromit
Review Date: 6/22/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $460.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Focus speed, solid build, great IQ, 5 yr warranty (UK)
Cons: Stiff zoom ring...that's it!

I bought this lens a few months ago, and tried to do a lot of homework before visiting my photographic dealer, discounting several lenses which didn't reach the starting grid. I then short-listed 2 Canons - 70-200 F4L USM (non-IS) and the much-loved 70-300 IS USM. The salesman threw in the Tamron as a wild card and I'm seriously glad he did.


We spent 2 hours in the store making detailed comparisons using my MacBook (with 2 other guys in the shop offering very valued, experienced but un-biased opinion) including making crops of each image. On all settings, the Tamron edged out the Canon 70-300 fairly easily, and the Canon was excellent to start with! Against the 70-200 F4L, the Tamron loses slightly when wide open, but once stopped down to F5.6/8 the differences were extremely hard to find, with the Tamron only losing <very> marginally at the corners. In several of the images I took, we really couldn't tell any difference between the Tamron and the Canon L - it even came to the point that we couldn't remember which images were from which lens, they were that close.


Downsides? It's slightly soft at 300mm/F5.6-8 but as I very rarely go there it's a non-issue. The zoom ring is also stiff at the moment, hoping this eases off over time. It's also a big lens - and I have large hands. I'm also not a big fan of the zoom ring being at the front of the lens and that it turns opposite way to my other lens (Canon 17-40 F4L) which feels odd at the moment. Not a deal-breaker though.


Doesn't feel special like the L lens either, but of course not much does and it would be cruel to expect a 300GBP lens to do so


For one 1/3 the price of the Canon 70-200 IS (L) the Tamron is surely a great buy and very highly recommended.
d5100_Nikon

Registered: June 2012
Posts: 3
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by d5100_Nikon
Review Date: 6/28/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, quiet
Cons: Not always focusing accurately

Much much better than the Nikon 55-300mm I returned. I can get fairly sharp pics with this lens at 300mm. Very happy with that! There are some things to be aware of - you need lots of light to use a faster shutter speed, and other things that are less important. I totally recommend this lens!
Milo2041

Registered: February 2012
Posts: 3
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by Milo2041
Review Date: 2/1/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $389.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent
Cons: Size

I have owned many zoon lenses and this is one of the best I have used. So far the results are stellar and pretty close to the results from using Canon L4.0 70-200 IS Lens.


It is a large lens but is compensated by results
jonasjschreiber

Registered: December 2011
Posts: 2
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by jonasjschreiber
Review Date: 12/14/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $359.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build Quality, Sharpness, Features, Price
Cons: Really cannot think of anything within reason

Excellent lens which pairs well with my Sony A33. With all the features (USM focusing, full time manual override, Internal Focusing, Focal Length Window, Build Quality) at the price I paid ($409 - $50 mail in rebate-- which was back in my hands less than 10 days after I sent it in) I cannot imagine anything better. The images are sharp, the lens feels GREAT in the hands, and I can tell it is quality. I don't have any fear about issues like I would with Sigma lenses and Sony SLT bodies, and I cannot see the benefit of a lens like the Sony 70-300G 4.5-5.6 over this lens, even at $300 more. Great lens, if you are on Sony system, get it!
hjanssen

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 2
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by hjanssen
Review Date: 10/31/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light, sharp, quick af
Cons: easy to operate the two switches(AF and VC) unitenditly

I bought this lens to replace a 70-200 and 80-400 for holidays on a D700 and I was very much surprised by the sharpness, quick AF and tha ability to AF in dark curcomstances. I took pics at a house concert and the combination never refused to focus and it was really dark there. I think lens sensetive to back light as a 70-200.
CYI_DEAL

Registered: September 2011
Posts: 2
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by CYI_DEAL
Review Date: 9/11/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $320.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent VC, QUALITY BUILD, FANTASTIC IQ...GREAT PRICE AND WARRANTY
Cons: NONE!

I had a very hard time picking this lens vs the Nikon 70-300mm VR . I was researching the web reviews for weeks to see what lens was a better bang for my buck. I also went down to my local camera shop to compare the both in person. I really wasn't to impressed with the Nikon VR system compared to the Tamron VC. The VC locks on like a guided missle! The performance of the Tamrom wide open was just great. I ended up picking up a new Tamron 70-300mm VC USD via eBay for a smoking great price $370 with a $50 rebate and 6yr warranty! I paired it with my Nikon D7000 and it's a marriage made in heaven! I have no remorse at all buying this great lens. It's the best bang and quality for the money hands down!
grule

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 7
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by grule
Review Date: 8/12/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, image stabilization, focus
Cons:

I replaced a Canon70-300 IS with this Tamron, and it is a good upgrade. They are very comparable optically, with the Tamron having a slight edge, especially under 200mm. At 200mm and longer, they are essentially equal.


But the tamron is a newer design, is cheaper, better build, has ring AF and full-time manual focus.


The Tamron is slightly larger as well. But it aslo feels more substantial and better built-the canon has a loose, plastic feel, while the Tamron is rock-solid.


A worthy addition for anyone needing 300mm and unable to justify spending 3X for the Canon "L" 70-300.
scott bynum

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 1
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by scott bynum
Review Date: 7/16/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $349.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very good AF, very good contrast and color, 6yr. warranty
Cons: none at this time

I use this zoom on a Canon 50d & the pictures come out very nice ! Any tests, reviews in any magazine says this lens on a crop sensor Dslr is best in class ! From 70mm to 200mm excellent & at 300mm very good. I'm getting 3 to 4 F/stops of VC stabilization which is awesome ! The only downside and it is a very, very small downside is when the VC engages, you look thru the view finder and the image jumps in a snap. But I'm getting use to it. That is the only downside or I would have rated it perfect 10. Either Canon or Nikon mount you have, this will be a very good lens to have in your bag ! The best 70 to 300 zoom for the money !
jaflor

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 2
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by jaflor
Review Date: 6/19/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good pictures
Cons: Heavy

I wen to Zoo (la Paz Bolivia) and the pictures are perfect. AF works good and fast.
pinkfloyd71

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 1
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by pinkfloyd71
Review Date: 4/23/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp even at 300mm. Very good VC and speed AF
Cons: no

Good build, super VC, very nice sharp,excellent price
DH

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 3
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by DH
Review Date: 4/20/2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $389.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Affordable, nice IQ
Cons: not sharp between 200-300, very inconsistent focus accuracy

The Tamron 70-300 performs very impressively well for it's price point. But between 200-300mm the performance is not good at all and does not match up to the competition.


And it is my opinion that my Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC Lens has a very inconsistent focus accuracy.Making pictures is good when its focus right, but a sharp lens does not deliver sharp subjects if not focused accurately.
Noesje

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 1
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by Noesje
Review Date: 4/7/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp
Cons: slow

sharp from 70-200, decrease a lttle from 200-300, buat still very good and its affordable.
I use it on Nikon D300s.
It struggle a little to focus in low light, but hey, it's not f2.8 lens. But in daylight it rocks!
VC is very very good.
Overall it's very good
dadgummit

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 6
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by dadgummit
Review Date: 1/10/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good build, Sharp, Excellent VC, Excellent price
Cons:

I just received this lens for Christmas and I could not be happier. I am using it on a Canon 50D and have about 100 shots on it all snapshots in the back yard and inside the house. I took a shot of the angel at the top of the tree hand held at 300mm with only the light from the tree (no flash) and it came out very sharp with excellent detail. I then went outside and took some pictures of a humming bird on the power lines and once again was amazed at how sharp it was.


The build quality is about the same as or a little better than the EFS 17-55 f2.8.


For the price I honestly think you can do no better. useful focal range, 6-year warranty, sharp, comes with petal shaped hood.
KirkL

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 2
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by KirkL
Review Date: 12/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Versatility combined with high IQ for its class
Cons: Heavy enough that it could use a tripod ring

I purchased a Nikon D7000 together with a Tamron 70-300mm VC six weeks ago and am having a ball with the combination. Images are sharp through out the focal length range if you stop down: f/5 at 70mm, f/7.1 at 200mm and f/9 at 300mm for best results. AF is fast and the effectiveness of the Vibration Compensation when used with stationary subjects has to be seen to be believed. Minor quibbles: VC does not work nearly as well when panning moving subjects, the small switches are easy to accidentally flip, the lens is a bit heavy for its class, and there is no tripod ring. I like this Nikon/Tamron pairing so much that I have put together a system around it, adding:
1.) A Manfrotto Long Lens Support so that it can be safely mounted on a tripod. A bit of extra rubber had to be taped to the V shaped rest in order to properly support the lens and the supplied strap would not work with the Tamron in place, but otherwise this accessory provides a solid foundation to shoot from. And….
2.) A Kenko 1.4x teleconverter (a Nikon TC will not work). Images with the lens racked out to 300mm are sharp when the aperture is stopped down to f/10 and show little distortion, CAs, or loss of contrast. AF still functions, but takes a full second before it can lock on, so manual focus is easier to use. And....
3.) A Sunsniper Pro Strap so that I can wear the D7000/Tamron at my side while hiking or shooting at outdoor festivals.
This lens cost just $350 when purchased with a new camera after rebate, but a price in the neighborhood of twice that would be reasonable for the quality it delivers.
claus

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 5
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by claus
Review Date: 12/22/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp already wide open and at all focal lenghts, very good VR
Cons: color rendition on the cooler side

I had the Nikon AFS 70-300 VR for abt. 2 years. Since I got the Tamron lens I sold the Nikon lens because the Tamron is overall a tiny little bit better (especially at the 200...300mm range) than the Nikkor.


This is my first non-Nikon lens (I own 19 Nikon lenses) and I'm quite happy with it.
mannypr

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 3
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by mannypr
Review Date: 11/6/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Accurate autofocus Efective VC, sharp , price
Cons: A bit heavy

This lens has low distortion , it's sharp wide open from 70-300mm edge to edge . Was going to buy the nikon version but bought this one instead and after using it for two weeks I have absolutely no remorse for going for it. VC is uncanny in the way it grabs whatever your focusing on and holds it . Its' new focusing motor USD is fast and more important accurate . Colors are very nice although a bit cool . It's almost silent with a very slight wirl sound when it's focusing. Highly recommended.
pc998

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 5
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF review by pc998
Review Date: 9/24/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $479.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp even at 300mm. Good AF speed and color. VC is extremely effective.
Cons: USD is not silence enough but not an issue

It has absolute focus accuracy with D700 using 51-pt auto area or single focus point.
While the USD focus speed is fast (but not the fastest), we can still hear the focus noise. In contrast, Canon USM is near silence. The VC is extremely powerful. It seems to me that the stabilization effect is even better than Canon’s IS and Nikon’s VR.


For many other 70-300 zoom lenses over the market, the resolution drops starting 200mm and onward. However, this SP lens has excellent performance across the whole zoom range even wide open. Corner sharpness is almost the same as the center. For instance, the performance at 300mm is particularly good and looks even better than its 70mm. I think the XLD (similar to fluorite) is really powerful.


In general, this is the highest quality Tamron SP zoom I have ever used. It outperforms the Nikkor 70-300 VR much.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.