SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
3 51200 11/28/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $813.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.33
spacerspacer
9.67
tokina16-28f28.jpg


Keywords: Tokina Canon Nikon Zoom 35mm FX AT-X PRO


Clarktor

Registered: November 2013
Posts: 2
Tokina 16-28mm f/2.8 AT-X PRO FX SD review by Clarktor
Review Date: 11/28/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness at 16-20 mm, very good at 24 and 28mm. Good resistance to CA. Price.
Cons: Prone to flare, heavy, requires expensive Wonderpana solution for fitting filters.

I bought this lens because from the reviews it appeared to be the best wide angle zoom for Canon EF mount, irrespective of price. It easily beats the 16-35 II in all parameters, being superb in the 16-20 range when stopped down. Aparently the corners are soft wide open, but I never use this setting for landscapes which is what the primary application of this lens would be.


Its weakness is in the corners at 28mm although it is still very good (better than any Canon UWA zoom), but at this focal length I have my Contax Carl Zeiss 28mm F2.8 if I'm being super fussy.


Being F2.8, the lens is quite heavy. As I shoot landscape, all I'd ask for is a F4.0 zoom that is sharp in the corners from F8.0-11, but such a beast does not exist. If Canon get off the a$$ and release a 17-40II that meets these requirements I would get that, but until then this lens is it.


It is prone to flare in direct sunlight, but this is a common trait amongst UWA lenses.


Don't let the filter aspect put you off; I use the Wonderpana system for CPL/UV and split ND filters and it works a treat, although the bulk it adds make storage a bit of a pain. Given that the Tokina destroys the Canon 17-40 and beats the 16-35II at less than half the price, I am more than willing to live with it.


Highly recommended.
colinjames

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 8
Tokina 16-28mm f/2.8 AT-X PRO FX SD review by colinjames
Review Date: 10/21/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast 2.8 , build, focus is fast and accurate
Cons: 2.8 at 28mm, flare with long exposures

Tokina did a great job with this lens. Debated a long time over Nikon 17-35mm - but landed here. I previously owned the Nikkor 14-24mm, so carrying this around is no problem. save your money over Nikon. Newest version has nice cap and ass gasket. Wish 28mm @ 2.8 performed like 16mm - but prefer the wide end to be sharp. Really useful focal length for DX. Close focus is great, but of course be wary of bulbous McGee. Zoom is stiff - may ease up but remains to be seen.


What else for the same money? A used 16-35mm f4 or an old 200,xxx serial 17-35mm 2.8? Perhaps primes for half the price? I think this lens is money well spent.


Looking at samples from new full frame Tokina 17-35mm f4 indicates some intense CA - the 16-28mm handles it well happily and is easily corrected in LR. Will keep an eye on the newcomer from tokina. Build and size/weight resemble one of my previous favorites - the Nikkor 20-35mm - but let that go due to poor close focus distance...
Creyr Glas Lightworks

Registered: July 2009
Posts: 10
Tokina 16-28mm f/2.8 AT-X PRO FX SD review by Creyr Glas Lightworks
Review Date: 2/3/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $890.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wide coverage, very sharp, great color and low CA/vignetting
Cons: Can't take a front filter, sticky zoom

I traded my Canon 24-105 F4 IS for this lens because I needed a wider range of coverage, and did not need the long telephoto reach. I knew I was taking a chance on this since there were no reviews anywhere. But after testing this lens against the Canon 16-35L, and the Canon EFs 10-22, I decided this lens gave me superior color and range for my applications (which is studio work for models and landscapes).


First, optically, this lens is fabulous. I find it on par with any L series lens for color rendition, sharpness and overall image quality. I feel I lost no quality in moving from the 24-105 to this lens. The constant 2.8 is great and by the time you hit F4 I think the overall DOF is quite sharp and large. I am very happy with all things optics/image quality from this lens.


Second, this lens is fully weather sealed and is very well built. Its admittedly quirky to have that fish-eye like front element, and its a very long and heavy lens, but I am very confident in its quality, I trust it will give me years of good service.


A few notes for those who want to know. It cannot take front filters due to the front lens element. As I understand it, this lens is very similar to the Nikon 12-24 (http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/showproduct.php/product/1122/cat/13). From the one review I could find, this lens offers similar optical features/quality. Also, it has the focus clutch mechanism, which you either tolerate or love.


In the end, this lens either fills a need or not, and for me, it was the better choice than other options for the Canon mount (I even had the money to get the 16-35L and chose this one). I would highly suggest testing it out if it fills a need in your lens lineup.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.