SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 40721 1/7/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
83% of reviewers $220.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
6.83
spacerspacer
8.67
spacerspacer
8.33
sony35f18.jpg


Keywords: Sony Standard Prime A-Mount DT APS-C SAM


lenslover

Registered: July 2012
Posts: 3
Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18 review by lenslover
Review Date: 1/7/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $220.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness, light (170gr), fast aperture for low light hand held
Cons: mainly plastic

I owned it and shoot with my A77 :
- Focusing with SAM motor : a bit noisy, not fast for action but accurate for most of the cases
- Plastic built : looks cheap and the cost is cheap indeed
- I recommend you to try some chose-up shots ( at about 0.30m ), you will be amazed by the result even at the max aperture 1.8
- From f/2.0, very impressive for landscape, candids, portrait.
- Very good sharpness from center to corner from f/4
- At 170gr, you never notice that you have this lens attached to you camera.
Sony DT 35mm f1.8 simply deserved a BRAVO.
db73961

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 5
Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18 review by db73961
Review Date: 12/20/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: cheap, light weight
Cons: cheap, not that sharp or contrast

Feel like a toy, a cheap toy, not like any other Sony's product. Not any better then a zoom lens.
translucent mirror

Registered: February 2012
Posts: 4
Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18 review by translucent mirror
Review Date: 7/12/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $254.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lightweight, cheap
Cons: None

This lens is currently on my A77 more than the other lenses at the moment. Its light and has replaced my SAL1650 as my main walkabout lens. I use it mainly for street photography and for those who are familiar with the SAL50F18 lens, it produces very similar quality results but with the 52mm field of view. Good value for money.


Check out samples of the photos at http://translucentmirror.com/2012/07/walking-around-with-my-35mmlens/


My photos with the SAL35F18 and SAL50F18 also can be found at
www.500px.com/translucentmirror


Thanks!
Beachrider

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 22
Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18 review by Beachrider
Review Date: 10/5/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $195.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Inexpensive. Very light. Very good IQ (even wide open). Works well on a700 and NEX5n (w/LA-EA1). More compact than most 35mm lenses. SAM is noisier than SSM/USM/HSM, but quieter than in-camera focus.
Cons: Plastic lens mount, distance scales are very basic

I like this lens mainly for indoor work on NEX5n (w/LA-EA1). It gives the advantage of NEX5n electronic shutter and mirrorless shooting. It helps me exploit the high-ISO functions of NEX5n better than E-mount lenses, so far. It's price also puts it within reach of people just-starting-out.


This is probably the first prime lens that any Sony Alpha users could consider. This FL is very useful on APSC, it performs really well and is quite inexpensive.


Using it on LA-EA1 does compromise NEX5n's lens-correction (for vignetting, distortion and CA) that is available with E-mount 16mm pancake lens. Also LA-EA1 CDAF on NEX5n is about as fast as E-mount CDAF on NEX5.
infocus

Registered: October 2011
Posts: 8
Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18 review by infocus
Review Date: 10/4/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $251.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very high resolution
Cons: Nothing considering the low price

This is a perfect std. lens for the Sony a77 with a field of view equivalent to 52.5mm in 35mm camera terms (x1.5 comparison factor), and with the Sony DSLRs you always have image stabilisation. It is very well corrected and delivers top IQ. I use it when I need as much details as possible in my buildings and landscape pictures. For full figure and candid shooting in nature as well as studio it provides a comfortable working distance; skin tones are pleasing and depth of field easy to control. This equipment is a fast and reliable companion enhancing interactive creativity using the EVF for checking WB, highlights and contrast, and the tilting LCD for composing in awkward positions. Regards JvE.
outafocus

Registered: September 2011
Posts: 2
Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18 review by outafocus
Review Date: 9/17/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very small, lightweight, fast 1.8, SAM motor-in-lens
Cons: Plastic construction through and through

I wanted a fairly fast, inexpensive lens for indoor situations. This lens is eqivalent to a 57mm on my Sony a580. I've done my usual testing and this lens is very sharp at all aperatures. The construction is ALL PLASTIC ...., even the mount is plastic (How much can a metal mount add to the price?). How it holds up is a big question. Although it has a built-in focus motor I see no difference in speed from my other, non-SAM lenses (should have used the extra $$ for a metal mount!). Manual focus is a little sloppy with about 1/16th inch play in the focus ring. Bottom line: a very good deal for the money. We'll see if it lasts.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.