SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
12 132396 4/5/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
92% of reviewers $1,639.10
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.83
spacerspacer
9.58
spacerspacer
9.25
nikon85f14g.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Tele Prime 35mm AF-S tested


timtomgo

Registered: April 2013
Posts: 2
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by timtomgo
Review Date: 4/5/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,667.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: contrasty, razor sharp, very fast AF considering the kind of lens
Cons: expensive, not 1.2 :p

There is nothing bad to say about. If there is a weakness it could be its relative lack of sharpness at 1.4 in the center COMPARED to the sigma and the canon. This is mostly because of CA's, once removed in post processing you almost wouldn't see the difference honnestly. The green CA can require some more attention. But again none of other manufacturers managed to hold this level of sharpness all across the frame.


AF speed and accuracy allows it to use it for everything, this is a HUGE plus for me compare to the canon (awfully slow, just renounced to use it)


The plastiky appearance is actually not that bad and is definitely not fragile.


its younger sibbling the 1.8G is however a super cool cheap lens. i recommand it especially for indoor/studio shooters. it doesn't handle flare (at all). i would go for it if there was some benefit in AF speed like the canon (there is none and maybe even a tad slower) and i wasn't an outside shooter where the 1.4G handles every kind of lights through the lens without loosing contrast or showing flare. this is much appreciated. the 1.4 aperture also allows some more low lights situation and artistic fantasies.


i tried the sigma which was impressive, if the focus accuracy was more reliable i would have keep it.


All in all, this nikon is almost perfect, but also instead the 1.8G, an investment, and will keep a high value in the time.
CraigH

Registered: October 2011
Posts: 8
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by CraigH
Review Date: 5/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, beautiful micro contrast, magnesium internal parts, external polycarbonate, Nano coating
Cons: Would prefer an aperture ring

This might be the highest quality optics for an 85mm lens available. It's as sharp as sharp gets wide open and edge to edge. If this sombrero effect is visible, it is not by these eyes nor any other reviewer. This optic is best of class and worth the price for someone who wants the very best.


It has replaced my AF-D version to become my work-horse for location portraiture or any other purpose requiring this focal length. In the studio, it shares top spot with an old Nikkor 105 f/2.5 AI lens on a D700.


Forgetting sharpness for a moment, this lens also shines with a special quality that is hard to quantify or even truly qualify. I call it micro contrast. Some just call it high resolution image quality. Whatever it is, this glass has it in spades. You load of the RAW file and begin to work then realize so little is needed. The image is stunning as it sits. I look close at the color and luminosity transitions and am amazed that glass can get it so right.


As is usual, it's not the camera or the lens but the photographer that creates a compelling image. In the case of this Nikon 85 f/1.4 G, you've got something which really helps to contribute, making it easier if you do your part.
Steve Bingham

Registered: September 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by Steve Bingham
Review Date: 9/3/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Resolution! Bokeh quality, Construction, lack of glare, quiet.
Cons: No VR - but that might account for the superior non-glare!

I have owned and tested the Nikon 14-24, 24-70, 70-200, 105 VR macro, and f2.8 300. This 85mm f1.4 G might well be the highest resolving lens I have ever owned - at distances of 6' and longer. The 105 VR had superior resolution at NEAR distances but fell far short of the 85 f1.4G at longer distances. Doing a simple infinity resolution test the 85 f1.4G wins. The problem is that most testing sites rarely test at longer distances! Testing done with D7000. Prior tests done with D700 and D3s.


This lens is also incredibly glare free - another quality not often tested for!


In short, this lens sets a new standard for Nikon for medium to longer distances (6'-infinity)
ZinhaEq

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 2
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by ZinhaEq
Review Date: 7/19/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,850.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, lack of vignetting, distortion and chromatic aberrations, focus accuracy
Cons: looks a bit plastic, a bit of LoCA (but nothing)

This lens is amazing. Never had any chance to own the D version, but it beats me why some people don't need corner sharpness that the G version gives. Is every single portrait photographer taking portraits wide open with the subject in center? Well, I don't and it is very critical for me to have enough sharpness in corners (which D can't deliver). Also, I must say that focusing is a thing that many complain about with this lens. It might not be an improvement over D in speed, but it is in accuracy. I must say I still don't get people who find focusing on this lens slow. Why they even go try a prime lens. They should go along with 70-200mm then. I guess this lens should offer a VR (not that I need it anyway) just to look something more in comparison to its predecessor. I would also add that if you don't need corner sharpness for portraits, just go and buy yourself the D version of this lens. Oh, and the G version is great for landscapes when stopped down. It even beats the new 70-200mm, which I also have pleasure to own along with this lens.
MGB

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by MGB
Review Date: 1/5/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,590.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Accurate AF, excellent tracking, sharp wide open, nano goodness, bokeh
Cons: It's not 1.2 ? ;-)

This is an excellent lens period. The changes are subtle compared to the D version, but add them up and it's a different lens. I sold the D version to buy this, so the purchase price was heavily subsidized by the old lens.


I don't understand why others are comparing it to Canon's 1.2 (where at 1.4 it's technically stopped down a bit), or Nikon's 1.8D (that doesn't go to 1.4), or to Nikon's 70-200 II (that is meant for sprorts and sucks at less than 2.8), or to other brands that are similarly priced as this lens is but lack autofocus. This is a different lens than any of them and is used differently than any of them. And if you don't think the price is fair, then you don't really need this lens. The 1.8D will suit your needs just fine. Just saying.


The AF speed going from extremes isn't as fast as the D, BUT if your shooting style doesn't require this, then the AF will be plenty fast for you. I think with the new 1.4 G lenses, Nikon struck a better balance in AF speed and accuracy vs say the 70-200 II (not that the 70-200 isn't accurate, very much so, but there is a bit more room for focus error using 2.8 lenses vs 1.4 - at similar focal lengths).


The D is suited more for portrait work, where as the G is a better all rounder 1.4. The G is sharper at infinity at 1.4 than the D is.


The G renders the image warmer than the D. Which I find better since it matches the look of my other G lenses. Makes batch editing easier/faster.


The build is tank like. It's not the same as the D of course, but it's not an 18-55 either. It's heavy, for it's size. There is a lot of glass in there. It feels like the 24 1.4, maybe a tick lighter. No complaints. It's not the metal of old, but feels solid.


The difference is like the change from the 70-200 I to 70-200 II. Subtle in many places, and subtle in improved image quality. John and Jane Doe may not see the difference, but if you're reading this, you are the type that will see and feel the difference.


Lastly, it's quiet. Think AF during video. Even with external mic. The G is quiet.
mrcontinental

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 7
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by mrcontinental
Review Date: 12/7/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,595.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A professional caliber updated prime lens
Cons: Price?

First review here and felt compelled to say something after reading the sites review. I only read the reviews AFTER I have shot with or purchased my lenses because sometimes the reviewers get way out of hand in their assessments.


This lens is a joy to use, especially at f1.4. I have actually gotten wonderful street shots after dark even with the limited DOF at 85mm because the lens is that sharp. It is close to my 200mm f2 and 300mm f2.8 in sharpness but smaller and lighter and can be carried everywhere. I don't shoot brick walls or test charts so I can't comment on this particular segment of photography which is quite popular online so all I can say is that for regular work in low light and action it is brilliant. And where people got that idea that $1600 dollars should get you perfection I'll never know. Happy shooting.
3systemuser

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 19
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by 3systemuser
Review Date: 11/15/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good AF , very sharp at f4 and up in the center, almost complete lack of CA.
Cons: poor build quality for the price , soft until f2.8 , very soft at f1.4, never gets tack-sharp

it is a plain overpriced lens, it is just as good as the old 85f1.8D as Dave says here.


only pros I found are : its fast and accurate AF and its good flare performance.


I returned this one and I decided to use my Zeiss 85f1.4ZF2 instead.


if it is not sharp below f2.8 , what is the point of having this super expensive prime or choosing it over the very very sharp almost flawless 70-200f2.8VR2?


for me it is an useless prime, prieod.


I compared this lens to my old canon 85f1.2Lmk2 and Minolta 85f1.4G and both of these 2 outperformed my Nikkor 85f1.4G.


I think this was the worst recently released Nikkor and maybe I would get the Sigma 85f1.4HSM as it becomes availabe in F mount soon.
micahmedia

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 3
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by micahmedia
Review Date: 11/2/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp
Cons: expensive

Reviews for this lens are all over the place. I demo-ed one of these and it didn't knock my socks off compared to my 1.8. It is absolutely sharper...but not $1500 sharper. And it's a substantial lens in terms of size. Weather sealing and AFS are welcome additions. But not for the money involved.


A word of caution about some of the reviews going around: adapting rear focus lenses for use on other bodies will get varying results that don't always reflect the quality of the optic involved. Rear focus designs like this are designed in such a way that the static front groups have to be fairly precisely positioned in relation to the plane of the sensor/film. Third party adapters are a) suboptimal and b) not consistently sized. One can luck out and get a good one, but it's a crap shoot.


As far as comparisons to the 1.2 canon: all three Nikkors (1.8D,1.4D,1.4G) have much nicer bokeh at full body portrait lengths. It's not as extremely different as 50mm lenses, but it's noticeable. All of these lenses get a bit ringed at further subject distances. This newest 1.4G is no exception. It is, however, best in class.
claus

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 5
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by claus
Review Date: 10/28/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,690.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp and contrasty
Cons: Expensive, but there's no free lunch. Worth every cent.

This lens rocks. Period.


Because I know that the reviewer is strongly Canon biased I suggest SLRGear to reconsider their staff for reviewing.


There is a high risk to lost their credibility.


[Editor: It has no bearing on our review comments, but for the record I actually happen to be a Nikon shooter, and am very happy with my equipment.]
genotypewriter

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 12
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by genotypewriter
Review Date: 10/6/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: general image quality
Cons: build, center sharpness, coma

85 1.4G compared against the 85 1.2L II, both on a Canon 5D Mk II:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/genotypewriter/5057691550/


Aspects compared:
* Far distance corner sharpness
* Far distance center sharpness
* Bokeh (general and highlights)
* Close distance center sharpness, rear and front bokeh
* Close distance corner sharpness, rear and front bokeh
* Relative illumination between the two lenses and vignetting, close-up and infinity


It's a very good lens but the build quality makes you wonder. A simple tap on the lens leave the entire plastic casing and the glass within vibrating. Quite similar to the 24 1.4G in that regard. It'll make great pictures but I wouldn't get one as a long term photographic investment.
bobbibrown

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 4
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by bobbibrown
Review Date: 10/3/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp starting @1.4, very nice bokeh, contrast, color rendition, af-s
Cons: LoCA

It is just a amazing piece of glass. Works perfect on my Nikon D3x and D3. Really high recommanded!!
jtorral

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 9
Nikon 85mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by jtorral
Review Date: 9/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,699.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: afs, build, image quality, contrats
Cons: G makes it unusable on older film cameras

I just received my 85 a week or so ago and have been happy as heck with it and the D3s.


I have a growing collection of 85G images on NI. shoild you care to take a look, here are 3 different links to the 85 over there.


Link 1 is a quick view
http://www.nikonimages.com/galleryquickview.php?lenstype=1046


Link 2 is a slide show like flickr
http://www.nikonimages.com/slideshow.php?lenstype=1046


Link 3 is the gallery view where you can add and remove search filters.
http://www.nikonimages.com/showgallery.php?lenstype=1046


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.