SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
14 221656 1/13/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
93% of reviewers $1,321.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.79
spacerspacer
9.21
spacerspacer
8.93
nikon24-120f4g.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm AF-S VR II Stabilized tested


valt3r

Registered: January 2013
Posts: 3
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by valt3r
Review Date: 1/13/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp from f4, good VR, looking PRO
Cons: Distortion and vigneting at 24mm

Good lens for allaround.
Some pictures here http://3foto.ro/sedinta-foto-profesionala/
Flyinghigh

Registered: September 2013
Posts: 2
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by Flyinghigh
Review Date: 9/13/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, good all in one travel carry around lens
Cons: Too much light fall off

Sharp photos, good colour, VR works well.
Little bit too much plastic although you don't want the lens to be much heavier!
123click

Registered: December 2011
Posts: 7
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by 123click
Review Date: 12/3/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: VR II, sharpness, great walk around lens
Cons: Too much plastic

I only hope this lens lasts the distance for being compromised with too much plastic but that is no to say I am not impressed with its image quality which is sharp from corner to corner at every aperture at every focal length. My only worry is I am afraid I will wear this lens out pretty soon by loving it to death for its sharpness and wearing out the plastic zoom adjustment ring. The barrel distortion is pretty strong at 24mm but it is very simple and can be corrected in a few clicks with a mouse by Photoshop
tokutomica

Registered: September 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by tokutomica
Review Date: 9/13/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,198.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp at f4, very sharp at 5.6 and above, good contrast and colors
Cons: Light falloff is too high

I use this lens with my Nikon D700 for landscapes and people photography. Sharpness is very good at the centre wide open between 24 and 85 mm but only acceptable at 120mm. Unlike slrgear I could not detect any drop in performance at 85mm and f4. The borders are slightly soft at f4. Stopped down to f5.6 the sharpness constantly improves up to f11. Distorsions are strong but easy to correct either in Capture NX or in LR and PS. The only thing that bothers me ist the extreme light falloff which is so strong that even Caputre NX cannot remove it. Fortunately the light falloff is gone when stopped down to f11. Build quality is very good. AF ist fast, silent and accurate. VR works as advertised. All in all I'm very satisfied with the performance of this lens
Tom
http://www.toku.ch
TommyB

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by TommyB
Review Date: 6/25/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,199.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nikon knew what they wanted with this lens considering its predecessor and competion (24-70f/2.8)
Cons: Barrel distortion & vigetting that is easily correctable in software

NOTE: This review is applicable to FX Format!


I ruminated for months before deciding to sell my precious 24-70f/2.8 to finance this lens.


You see, I have a need and a passion for the 24-120 focal length, and Nikon's FX offering was the 24-120 f/3.5-5.6...a lens which I owned for a time and found wanting.


So, I researched the web, tried the 24-120f/4 lens in a local store on my D3s and took the photos home and picked them apart.


After a week of ownership I can say that I made the right decision...for ME. That extra 50mm on the long end has made my 24-70 just a pleasant memory.


This lens is SHARP...you'll read about softness and vignetting in the corners wide open, and barrel distortion at 24mm. Yes, it's true...but these flaws can be corrected in software easily. Color and contrast easily rivals my 24-70.


With a camera like the D3s, the f/4 constant aperture is no issue. I shoot at night as I did with the 24-70 f/2.8.


Overall, I believe this lens is a winner. Nikon put the good stuff where it needs to be to become a good compromise on quality, performance AND affordability.


If money is no object, by all means get BOTH the 24-70 AND this 24-120! LOL!!!


Had I been able to keep my 24-70 and get the 24-120 I probably would have. But after a week of using this lens for the type of shooting I do, I have a feeling that the fine 24-70 f/2.8 would have gotten a lot of shelf time...not the place for a superb lens like that to be.


A note on the SLRGear review: It's generally spot-on in my view and one of the first reviews I read prior to purchase. It was quite helpful to me. One minor point: Try as I might, I haven't yet seen the CA that is mentioned...perhaps I haven't hit just the right conditions yet...I rarely shoot wide-open in bright sunlight where this aberration would be found. It's worth noting that the SLRGear review mentions that CA is better-controlled than in the 24-70 f/2.8.
Vladi Stoimenov

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 2
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by Vladi Stoimenov
Review Date: 5/12/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, practical zoom range, brilliant photos
Cons: Expensive

I have bought in December 2010 my 24-120mm lens, went on vacation… and was fully disappointed from the image quality. It was unsharp and lusterless; in addition it had a back focus.
Nikon service had repaired the lens twice with the final conclusion: 'fully in norm'. But my old cheap 16-85 was much, much better...
After a long battle I return the lens back and it was replaced by the local dealer.
The new lens is almost perfect! It delivers sharp and brilliant photos throughout the whole zoom range.


I am happy now.
regardlese

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 3
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by regardlese
Review Date: 12/21/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: légerté -maniabilité-range-VR
Cons:

jai vendu le 24-70mm2,8 pour acheter ce nouveau zoom que j aime tout particulièrement
il me permet de tout faire du 24 au 120
avec le VR II en plus!
parfait
J4son

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 2
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by J4son
Review Date: 12/17/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb Sharp
Cons: build quality, too bulky

Best lens i ever have, picture quality same as 24-70 2.8,
super sharp!
goldenpiggy

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 6
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by goldenpiggy
Review Date: 12/1/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Scary sharp wide open, superb flare/ghost resistance, accurate AF, great color rendition
Cons: Build quality could be better, slight zoom creep, expensive

I bought this lens to replace the 18-200 VR on a D7000. It has not disappointed. It is in a different league than the 18-200 VR. This is what I find:


1) This lens is absolutely tack sharp wide open throughout the entire zoom range. No need to stop down at either end. So it is truly usable at f/4.


2) Contrast and color rendition is fantastic wide open -- images just pop out rather than look flat. Must be the nano-crystal coating.


3) I've never experienced a lens so resistant to flare and ghosting. You can pretty much leave the hood at home. Truly fantastic. Great lens for sunset shots or bright outdoor (although the D7000 tends to overexpose in high contrast scenes.)


4) AF accuracy is very, very good. Dead on, actually. AF speed is not lightning quick like the pro Nikon lens with metal bodies (e.g. 24-70, 70-200), but still very quick. I have no problem with fast moving subjects like speedboats or motorcycles. AF is totally silent.


5) The focal length is what it is -- this lens doesn't breathe like the 18-200. This is great. I can get pretty damn close (about a foot) and get the magnification close to a macro lens.


6) VR works superbly. Yes it is an f/4, but because it is truly sharp at f/4, you can do 1/4s or 1/8s shutter and have reasonably good night time shots. I don't really miss fast glass with this.


7) 24mm on a DX body is not really wide enough, but good enough for everyday use. For wide angle, I still need a separate lens like the Tokina 11-16. 120mm at the far end is enough for me. This surprised me, as I thought it would come up short.


8) My copy unfortnately has some play in the zoom ring. And it has a little bit of zoom creep (nowhere as bad as the original 18-200 VR). I wish Nikon would have put a zoom lock on this lens.


10) Takes 77mm filter -- great!


11) Lens is big, but feels light. I can have the D7000 with this lens around my neck all day no problem.


12) It is overpriced for the construction. No doubt. This lens should be $1000 or less. Not $1200.


All in all, a truly fantastic walkaround lens. Don't know why it has gotten some bad reviews; my copy is just about perfect. You won't be disappointed on a DX or full frame.
Bobcopeland

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 7
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by Bobcopeland
Review Date: 11/15/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,687.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Sharp, convenient size, feels very well engineered
Cons: Distortion

Sharpness: This has been raised as an issue. I went out this morning and took a series of pictures at f4 to f8 around 75 & 85mm. I use a D700 and the results on all pictures were very sharp at the centre and the edge. Viewing the files at 100% on a decent monitor, I could not see any worthwhile difference between f4 or f5.6.


Distortion: It could be better but its not too serious and is easily sorted in Photoshop ot Elements. Its more of an inconveniece which slows down my work flow.


Vignetting: Not brilliant at the wide end but many modern lenses seem to suffer from the same problem. I have to correct this with most of my lenses unless I crop out the centre of the picture. Again this is an easy fix with photoshop or Elements


CA: This could be better but again this is easly dealt with using the tools in ViewNX


Build: the lens feels very well put together with no slackness in either theFront lens tube, zoom or focus rings. To put it in context my 80-200 focus ring feel less well engineered and I know it to be a superb example of this particular lens.


VR2: what can I say, it does exactly what it says on the box.


I use my camera every day for work and pleasure and this lens now stays on for everything except maco or telephoto shots. I had several other lenses which covered similar focal lengths and I have now sold them all. I am very pleased with my lens and it should save me a lot of money in the future as at last I have a lens which does everthing I could realistically expect and I will be keeping it. Yes it does have a few minor issues but they can all be solved with software. In short, a brilliant lens.
3systemuser

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 19
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by 3systemuser
Review Date: 11/15/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: sharp in the center of the FF, fast AF , universal range with very effective VR.
Cons: horrible distortion in all range, poor build quality with 2 step zooming system,horrible amount of CA , horrible flare resistance, mosterous mount of light falloff.

the build quality of this lens is poor and it is not as sharp as the Nikon 24-70f2.8GED my main lens for my D700 and D7000.


but its AF is very fast and accurate.


There are a few issues with this lens:


1 excessive amount of CA.
2 the worst kind of distortion.
3 the worst lightfall off I have ever seen.
4 its Nano coating is not as good as that of these other Nano coated lenses.
5 it is not as sharp as the 24-70 or 70-200VR2.


So , it is hard to recommend this lens.


I think you better save up a bit longer and get the 24-70 and never look back.
gbrimacombe

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 1
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by gbrimacombe
Review Date: 11/13/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp at all focal lengths, well built,compact
Cons: None

I am using the 24-120mm f4 on a Nikon D300s, and the lens is very sharp at all focal lengths. The lens is definitely in the Nikon professional lens category with typically excellent build quality. I was glad to see that Nikon designed the lens as an f4, as an f2.8 would simply have been too big and totally unnecessary. It is a great lens when traveling light.
gn555999

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 1
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by gn555999
Review Date: 11/11/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp img, fast focus
Cons: feel very plastic

im using a nikon D90 with this lens,
so far im very happy with it's performance,
- very light, easy to carry around
- focus very fast, compare to my 17-50mm2.8 sigma dc os hsm
lalitjee

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 12
Nikon 24-120mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by lalitjee
Review Date: 10/18/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,668.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp,f4 all the way,solid built,quick focus,
Cons: very soft/dark corners on full frame [D3s],expensive,

useful focal lenth on D3s.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.