SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 148597 10/6/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,222.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
8.75
nikon28-300f35-56g.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm AF-S VR II Stabilized Tested


tfewing

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by tfewing
Review Date: 10/6/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High IQ for such a broad zoom range; VF very effective; silky zoom action, with nolens creep issue (when pointed down); light compared to PRO zooms; nicely finished, including weather seals
Cons: Poor lenshood design (often falls off or twists out of alignment); my polarizer lens foils the auto focus

After buying a D700, I first relied mainly on my old AF lenses from the film days (20-35, 35-70, 80-200) plus some primes, while hoping Nikon would soon come out with serious f4 zooms like Canon users enjoy. I'm just not a fan of the massive and pricey PRO f2.8 zooms, even though they're exceptional glass. So, when the 24-120 f/4 went up for pre-sale, I put my order in, thinking this would be the super IQ, reasonably priced and compact FX lens I had longed for. However, the 24-120 shipments were delayed, while the 28-300 began hitting the streets. After hearing some really positive first impressions from early buyers, I canceled my 24-120 order, and picked up the 28-300 instead. Having had a 18-200mm (and not a particularly sharp copy), my expectations were not too high. Also, I was very concerned by the poor MTF curves for the 28-300. Alas, maybe I just got a great copy, but I'm sure getting very sharp, contrasty images. I can't explain why the MTF curves looked bad, and why some lens tests look poor, but in real world use it does amazingly well. [Just take a look at the test photos that SLRGEAR posts for each tested lens, and compare the 28-300mm to other zooms, even the PRO glass, and see what I mean..] I was so puzzled why even the edges of my images were better than some of my film-era glass that I made direct comparison with my 20-35, 35-70, and 80-200, as well as with my modern 50 1.8 and 60 2.8 micro. While you can see that the center image is subtly better with my primes if you have the two side-by-side, and even then you must look very very closely.. It certainly isn't a dramatic difference. But how nice it is to have such a huge range available without changing lenses all the time.


Bottom line, if you're looking for something that lets you grab fast candids, where having the ability to go from wide to long and back in a flash is important, or you just want a one-lens solution for vacation travel without compromising on image quality, GET THIS LENS!! In fact, this might be the only zoom you need to own if you carry a couple primes for low light and/or for micro applications.. (I have a 24, 50, and micro I additionally carry.)
jwphoto

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 2
Nikon 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by jwphoto
Review Date: 10/31/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,154.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very versatile, sharp ! , nice bokeh for this kind of lens, good build, range,VR
Cons: distortion, chrom.abr. bit slow sometimes

A surprisingly good lens, fits D700 high iso perfect. Very sharp overall, specially stops down to f7,1-f8 .
It is superior to the DX 18-200 , much better image quality.
Compared to my 80-200 its better from 150 mm.
VR works very good. I win at least 3 stops. Hit-rate with this lens is high because I don't have to change any more. Can understand why kenrockwell is so pleased with this lens.
Roland

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 5
Nikon 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by Roland
Review Date: 9/24/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,266.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Versatily, overall quality
Cons: A little distorsion and vignetting at some focal lenghts

I allready tried different "super-trans-standard" zooms on my D700 :
- Nikkor 28-200 AF G : not very impressed
- Nikkor 28-200 AF D : not bad at all, it was often on my camera prior to buying the 28-300.
- Tamron 28-300 with VC (tested 3 of them) : Oh my god, what a crap !


So I was curious to test this new 28-300.


I'm overall very impressed, this lens has a very good usability.


Let's beging with it's drawbacks :
- full open at 300 mm there is a not negligeable amount of vignetting
- Distortion (ranging from barell to pincushion depending of the focal length)
This two problems are easily removable during post-processing.
- At full aperture, the lens is a little less sharp, but nothing very bad, it's also easily correctible.


It's pros's :
- The focal lengths range, of course !
- Accurate and silent AF, even at 300 mm when it's dark.
- Very efficient (and silent) VR, a real plus at the tele end.
- Best image quality of all superzooms I tested so far.
-"Compacity" (Think at the Canon 28-300 lens !)
pjammes

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by pjammes
Review Date: 9/3/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,248.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons: none

Not so good as the 18-200vr was. But a very good swiss knife for allround pictures.
Some pictures here:
http://picasaweb.google.fr/patrick.jammes/28300mmVR#


Add 09/12/2010: I have change my first sample for a new one. And I can rate for a 9 for the len's image quality. And now this one is more performant than the 18-200vr.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.