SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 142687 12/13/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,248.78
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.88
spacerspacer
9.13
spacerspacer
9.38
canon70-300f4-56lisusm.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Zoom 35mm L IS Stabilized USM tested


hdhani

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 14
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM review by hdhani
Review Date: 12/13/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality (it handles well and very robust), relatively compact size and lightweight, takes 67 mm filter, highly versatile, MFD
Cons: Variable aperture

Used to be undecided between this lens and 70-200 f2.8 IS, but finally settled on this lens due to its relatively compact size and lightweight. It balances very well with a 7d, 5D, 1D and it's build like a tank.


This is a great family/ walkaround/ travel/ zoo lens... The only drawback is the variable aperture, but at 70-300 focal length you should've expected this (ever wondered how much a 70-300 f4L IS USM will cost you?). There's always trade-offs somewhere. You can always compensate the exposure with external flash or raising you camera ISOs.


The image quality is great, unless you pixel-peeping. Zooming in at 300 mm and keeping the subject distance at 1.2 m yields a wonderful bokeh IMO. If you need CREAMY bokeh then 85L and 135L will definitely serve you better.
Apricane

Registered: November 2011
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM review by Apricane
Review Date: 1/5/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,099.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp as hell, good contrast, hefty, quick and accurate AF, pleasing bokeh
Cons: A tad slow, comparatively heavy, sizeable, and somewhat expensive

This lens is simply awesome. It checks every box in the image quality department: it is sharp, has good contrast, essentially normal distortion for such a long zoom, and very little to no chromatic aberration (that I could notice on the shots I took so far). It is also hefty, making it easy enough to handle for handheld shots (I'm thinking of the 55-250 which, although it is light, also blows in the wind when it is strong enough). I'm not too worried with that happening with the 70-300L.


Build quality is also seemingly excellent. Both the focus and zoom rings are smooth (the focus ring might be a tad too soft, but nothing bad), and the barrel extends normally. I haven't noticed any zoom creep so far, and the lens has got a lock anyway. The IS is seemingly very good in operation, but I hear it a bit when I begin to have trouble shooting handheld due to arm fatigue (I don't know how audible it would be when shooting video). Yes, this lens is heavier than what I'm used to!


From my still limited experience with the lens, the AF is quick and accurate.


All in all, I'd say this lens is very good and worth every penny it sells for that I hugely recommend to those who can afford the rather steep admission price. I'd also wish the lens would be a tad faster, but it is already expensive and heavy enough as it is!
regima

Registered: April 2012
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM review by regima
Review Date: 4/4/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: build as a tank, sharp even at 300mm, fast AF, sealing, Compact.
Cons: Only kenko extender are compatible,

I really like this lens 'cause it is very compact. I also have a EF-70-200 mm f/2.8 IS II USM and I love it but it is a lot too heavy and big to travel with it in equatorial & tropical countries. The 70-300 mm IS USM is just perfect for me and the overall quality is outstanding.
MartinM

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 29
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM review by MartinM
Review Date: 6/22/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast AF, Weather Sealing, Compact Size
Cons: Price

I bought this lens toghether with my 5D Mark II. I used it at the Airshow just a few days after.


The results were impressive. Very sharp even at 300mm.


I was soaked by the rain in the morning, walking around with the lens. The sealing had no issue.


I love the size of this zoom. I can easily fit it in my jacket pocket.


A pitty that Canon genuine externders cannot be used. But as test showed, the Kenko 1.4x DGX does deliver better IQ anyway. So why not to get that one.


For the IQ I reduced to 9, cause my 100mm L Macro is sharper.
vittorio fracassi

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM review by vittorio fracassi
Review Date: 3/22/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1.26| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent construction and sealing, well balanced, fits well in bags, sharp at all focals (more from 70 to 200mm), very fast AF and broad shouldered IS, very good general image quality
Cons: impossible to add extenders, no tripod ring in kit, expensive.

like all good zooms it has a wide field of application both on FF and APS-C cameras. My personal experience disagrees with the results of the resolution results in this Review, probably there are differences in various samples as it often occurs in newly introduced lenses. I had a "good copy" 100-400 and sold it for the liability of weather sealing (the "pump" effect collects moisture and dust) and the, for me, uncomfortable zooming solution. I prefer the 70-300L to it in all respects.
Gothmoth

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM review by Gothmoth
Review Date: 3/22/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great build quality, low CA, a joy to use
Cons: price, not as sharp as i thought above 150mm

i agree that this lens has a great build quality.
it´s a great traveling lens i love to use.


but i also agree with the SLRGear reviewer about the sharpness.
i owned a 70-300mm IS 4-5.6 non L before and it was as sharp if not sharper from 150mm onwards.


other review sites seem to agree with my opinion. but some also praise sharpness for this new L lens.


so in the end i have to say: this is a great lens but image quality from 150mm to 300mm is not better then the older non L model.
logaandm

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM review by logaandm
Review Date: 1/9/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,390.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good image quality. Sharp at all focal lengths
Cons: Zoom ring reversed from standard Canon. Bokeh is not as nice as some other lenses.

An excellent lens.


I have 100-400L, 50L, 35L, 135L and 100L macro. I sold my 70-200f4L after buying this lens. Also I have the 70-300DO.


Bad: Heavier than 70-200f4L. Bokeh is not as nice as 70-200f4. White, larger and noticable compared to the street worthy 70-300DO. I would like to see a version with similar black colour and texture of the 100L macro. No tripod ring (shame on you Canon). Hood doesn't go on smoothly. Stupid Canon lens caps. Get with the times Canon and give us center pinch to make it easy to take off the lens cap when the hood is on. Allows you to make a smaller hood as well!


Good: Very sharp at all focal lengths. Very good colour and contrast. Very fast AF. Excellent IS. I can handhold 300mm down to 1/30 regularly. Focuses quite close. More reach than 70-200 without much loss of speed. Pixel sharp on 5DII and 7D. Maybe a little heavy, but I am willing to carry all day. I like the slighly more subdued white colour. I like the zoom ring near the end of the lens although this is revesed compared to other Canon zooms. Very well balanced with most of the weight close to the camera so it handles like a lighter lens than it actually is.


Not for regular indoor or night use but few long zoom lenses are.


I thought I would never give up my 70-200f4L but for my vacation/street type photography this is my choice. For regular portraits one might prefer the 70-200f4 because of the more pleasing bokeh.


This is a winner lens and makes the vision of a two lens kit that much closer. Now all I need is a 24-70f2.8IS.... come on Canon I've been waiting 4 years!
pj1974

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM review by pj1974
Review Date: 12/21/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp wide open corner to corner on APS-C . Useful range. Confident 4-stop IS. Fast, accurate AF. Bombproof build.
Cons: No tripod collar included. Bit expensive, but you pay for what you get.

What a L lens! It is super sharp, and has also great contrast at all focal lengths and aperture settings from wide open to f13 on my 7D. Then starts to soften due to defraction. I love the 35mm equivalent of 480mm, and can crop heavily still giving great images.
Colours are vibrant and accurate. The focus and zoom rings work well for me (I like holding the lens by the zoom ring and/or end of the barrel, and having the focus nearer the camera, as some of my other lenses have, eg Canon 15-85mm).
My previous telezoom was a Canon 100-300mm USM. Didn't have IS (so handholding required high ISO or good light). The 100-300mm does not have good sharpness or contrast beyond about 170mm. The 70-300mm L is just such a different beast, being sharp at any setting.
It's noticeably heavier, but I find with the weight and 4 stop IS allows good photos (I even have some good photos at about 1/30 sec at 300mm) . It's extra handy that lens IS stabilises the image in the view finder, to allow more confident composition.
I love Canon's true ring-type USM focus (as opposed to micro-USM), and the 70-300mm L lens doesn't disappoint in that regard either - lightning fast & truly accurate. Even faster than my 100-300mm's already fast USM focus.
Bit of a shame for the price the tripod collar isn't included, but I'll probably buy a non-Canon brand one for about $25 from ebay rather than $200 odd from Canon. The lens hood is deep and works well. It makes the lens look even more impressive with the lens hood being on it.
Very little flare problem, low vignetting and minimal chromatic aberrations (the latter two are correctable in post processing anyway). Bokeh can be quite good, especially when the subject is relatively close up.
The lens just reduced in price the day I visited a camera shop, and I received a good deal (including a 67mm Hoya Pro CPL) - so decided to buy it, and very happy with it's performance! Balances well on my Canon 7D (even will sit on my sturdy Manfrotto tripod ok without tripod collar). When used with my Canon 350D, it feels like I'm attaching the body to the lens - and the smaller grip makes it somewhat uncomfortable. However I will be using it with my 7D 99% of the time anyway. Highly recommended!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.