SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 39681 2/3/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,749.75
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
zeiss35f14d.jpg


Keywords: Zeiss Canon Nikon Wide Prime Distagon 35mm


Momiziano

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 4
Carl Zeiss 35mm f/1.4 Distagon T* 1.4/35 review by Momiziano
Review Date: 2/3/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Oh what a lens!!
Cons: CA

This is one of my favourite gear, has a colour rendition simply astonishing!! I shoot 3/4 of time at 1.4 and there's a very very good detail in the focused area with an extremely pleasant bokeh.. The gear is made with the high zeiss-cosina standard glass and brass, the focus ring is fantastic. Some CA at 1.4.
Gregg

Registered: January 2012
Posts: 1
Carl Zeiss 35mm f/1.4 Distagon T* 1.4/35 review by Gregg
Review Date: 1/31/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, build,
Cons: None

I just got this lens. (01/30/2012)
It's an unbelievable piece of glass. The Zeiss coating is just different than others. I can't explain what it is but this lens renders images beautifully. Contrast, colors, sharpness etc. etc. are all top notch. I simply love this lens despite the fact it's a manual focus lens. Zeiss website shows movies on how to deal with that (if you're not familiar with manual focusing) and how/where to get focusing screens for your camera.
The lens is all metal (including the hood) so it's heavy but the images it produces make you fly so don't worry about its weight.
Sample images (panoramas) are on my website http://www.eveningphotography.com
Search for images from Joshua Tree Park, they are all taken with Zeiss 35mm f/1.4 lens.
3systemuser

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 19
Carl Zeiss 35mm f/1.4 Distagon T* 1.4/35 review by 3systemuser
Review Date: 8/31/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the best lens ever made , sensational central sharpness , very well made, very precise focus ring.
Cons: size (a bit too big), weak flare resistance.

what can I say?


this is an outstanding lens and best 35mm prime ever made by any one.


its central resolution is just insanely high even at f1.8, even at f1.4 , it is usable and sharp (at least in the center of FF).


my copy is a ZE version and I would probably buy a ZF 2 version as soon as it becomes available here.


the contrast level is very high but not annoyingly high , micro contrast level is also very good and there is some special color rendering effect there (it is not usually called "the 3D or Zeiss look" but some kind of painterly effect there?)


it peaks at f4-5.6 and stays in excellent to outstanding through f11.


the distortion level with this lens is very low and the as lenstip says ,probably the best controlled in this class of primes.


CA is also well controlled but bokeh fringe is quite noticeable from f1.4 to f2.8.


So, it is an amzing lens.


I love this lens although it flares quite often.


only one issue in real life use might be the size and weight.


I dont mind the weight but it is huge , wish it were a bit smaller (shorter).
jtorral

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 9
Carl Zeiss 35mm f/1.4 Distagon T* 1.4/35 review by jtorral
Review Date: 5/15/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,799.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, build, contrats,
Cons: CA

I know I rated this a 10 in all categories but it is well worth it. This lens is simply amazing and amazing to use. The build quality and focus is the best I have seen of any SLR lens period! Color rendering and contrast is amazing! The only drawback is CA when shooting against a bright background. However, all the other qualities of this lens make up for that and then some. To see some sample taken with this lens have a look here:


For ZF version:
http://www.zeissimages.com/standardgallery.php?lenstype=524&showall


More ZF here:
http://www.nikonimages.com/standardgallery.php?lenstype=1109&showall


For ZE version:
http://www.zeissimages.com/standardgallery.php?lenstype=525&showall


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.