SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 108673 7/4/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
86% of reviewers $1,749.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.17
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
8.83
nikon35f14g.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Prime 35mm AF-S tested


Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 34
Nikon 35mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 7/4/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Sharpness, contrast, focus speed, build quality, speed
Cons: Auto focus accuracy and speed, CA, price

The image quality of this lens is great. Sharpness, contrast are very good straight from the maximim aperture. Bokeh is good too. Unfortunately there is rather a high amount of CA.


The auto focus speed is fast enough, but not as fast as the 24-70mm f/2.8G. Personally I expected a better performance for this price. Also, it is a hit or miss in low light. Very disappointing and the main reason why I returned this lens.


The build quality is fine. The lens feels sturdy and it has a nice weight to it. I’m not bothered by the 67mm filter thread, but I understand why it can be a nuisance for other photographers.


I would not recommend this lens to photographers that need fast or accurate autofocus in low light. For all other use I think it's a fine lens.
iffo

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 7
Nikon 35mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by iffo
Review Date: 5/20/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Large aperture, High resolution, Low distortion and latera; chromatic aberration
Cons: Weight, Price, Longitudinal chromatic aberration

Tested this lens mounted on a Nikon D800E. Longitudinal CA is typical for many lenses with an aperture larger than 2 and can easily be corrected in Lightroom or Capture NX2
lalitjee

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 12
Nikon 35mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by lalitjee
Review Date: 11/26/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: simply beautiful, sharp and fast focus,gem
Cons: expensive,

my main lens for weddings.outstanding quality
mskitty

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 4
Nikon 35mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by mskitty
Review Date: 7/3/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,750.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Very Sharp!!!! IT is smooth as Butter.
Cons: Price....

The Nikkor 35mm 1.4 G is an outstanding Prime Lens. The performance of this lens is perfect, smooth like butter. I recommend Nikkor 35mm 1.4 G.


IF you have love using low natural light...This lens is perfect. Used it in Las Vegas at night. Beautiful results.
ShutterMan

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 2
Nikon 35mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by ShutterMan
Review Date: 1/24/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,799.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Contrast, Build
Cons: Price

Best Uses : Street, Event, Low light


I have read people complain in forums that this lens is inferior to the 24mm AF/S. The perspective between the 24 & 35 are vastly different. It's not a matter of which is sharper, more important is which perspective is needed/preferred.


Many are quick to judge this lens because Nikon did not use ED glass ala 24mm and only uses one aspherical element. These are special glass elements reserved for overcoming difficult obstacles in extreme lens designs. Which a fast 35mm is not that extreme, these elements do not automatically make a good lens great, if it were that easy then every lens manufacture would just pop one or two ED elements and walla!



Pros:
1.) This lens is Sharp! I do not know if the first batches had difficulties or if these people did not micro adjust AF on camera body, but my copy is razor sharp. Compared it to 17-35mm, 24mm 1.4, 35mm 1.4 ais, 24-70mm 2.8, 50mm AFS 1.4. At F/1.4 the 24mm AFS appears a tad sharper (center only). Stopping it down 1/3 stop (1.6), yes just 1/3 makes it sharper from that point forward than all of the lenses tested.


2.) Vignetting is well controlled, better than 24mm & 50mm 1.4's at same F/Stop


3.) Excellent flare resistance, if not that I do not intend to use a protection filter, I would probably not use the hood.


4.) No AF adjustment needed on D700 (YMMV)


5.) Sharpness in corners from 1.4-2.0 is very good, 2.8 and above is excellent


Cons:
1.) Price


2.) 67mm filter thread


3.) Barrel distortion a little high (No Adobe LR3 or ACR Lens Profile)


Neutral:
1.) AF speed is not blazing fast, but still good


Bottom Line:
If you are a hobbyist and want a fast lens to capture your rugrats, get the 50mm 1.4 and save a bundle. If you are a Pro and need help deciding between this and a 24mm, then maybe you are not as Pro as you might think. You should know which you need and not go to forums asking people for their advice. You will either need the 24mm, 35mm, or both, but only you can answer that.
jtorral

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 9
Nikon 35mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by jtorral
Review Date: 1/19/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: fast
Cons: Not as sharp as I had expected. Will wait on the Zeiss version

To see hundreds of photos with this lens and compare to others look here:


http://nikonimages.com/standardgallery.php?lenstype=1077&showall


You can get an idea of how this lens performs with different camera.
3systemuser

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 19
Nikon 35mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor review by 3systemuser
Review Date: 12/6/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: super sharp wide open , very good flare resistance , almost no CA.
Cons: Lo-CA.

this lens is superb but the 24G is a bit better.


but still , this is the best super fast 35mm lens ever in any mount.


the AFS of this lens is faster than the 24 and 85, with very high AF hit rate.


and this lens seldom flares but unfortunately this is not my lens yet, I have been using my friend's one.


and waiting to get my own lens (I paid already for it).


I think this + the 85G makes a great kit but I am still debating either go with this one or the 24GED (I can still return either one).


The 24GED can go closer and it is sharper then this 35 at the center of the FF but in the corners , I think the 35 f1.4G is a bit better lens.


The 24 G has a bit warmer color cast ,and I think I prefer the cooler color tone of this 35f1.4G a bit better than the warmer color tone of the 24GED.



Only one optical issue of this lens that I can think of right now is minor Lo-CA issue (bokeh fringe) and I think Nikon should have used a couple of ED elements , to avoid it.


but still it is the best 35mm lens to date and I highly recommend this one.


I may use this lens on my Canon 5D2 too.


My 5D2 is now like a Manual Focus camera with Nikon lenses and Zeiss lenses , only my Canon lenses are longer than 85mm primes and the famous Canon 70-200f2.8LISMk2SUM.


Now , I am using my 16-35f4GEDVR , 24-70GED and 24G on my Canon 5D2 and Nikon D3S and I may get this 35 for my 5D2 and upcoming D800.



I think you cannot go wrong with this super prime.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.