SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 67472 2/14/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $535.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
9.17
spacerspacer
8.83
panasonic100-300f4-56g.jpg


Keywords: Panasonic G-Series Tele Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds O.I.S. Stabilized


gsartori

Registered: February 2014
Posts: 2
Panasonic 100-300mm f/4-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by gsartori
Review Date: 2/14/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $485.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, long range 600mm equiv..
Cons: None

Impressed, impressed, impressed. I was looking for a cheap tele to use on the Lumix GH3. My main need where in the 100-200mm lens, I assumed after 200mm this lens would became unusable like the Nikon 70-300. Actually I was wrong. I use it all the way. Sure is not a $2000 lens but it is an amazing value. I'm currently in Hawaii and I took this lens to catch surfers, I ended up getting amazing photos of whales jumping out of the ocean miles from the coast where I was. I couldn't believe, I was doing this without a 600mm Nikkor and my D800. Just amazing for a sub $500 lens.
PeteD

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 12
Panasonic 100-300mm f/4-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by PeteD
Review Date: 6/17/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good optics in a small package
Cons: stabilisation doesn't work as well as Nikon's VR

When I first tried this lens I was a little disappointed but as I've got used to it I've come to rate this little lens.


Optics are very good. I would say it is a little short sighted it does a better job when objects are closer.


Focus is fine I just wish that Panny/Oly would sort out their continuous auto focus.


My one gripe is with the image stablilsation which I think is a little weaker than Nikons VR
dda

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 13
Panasonic 100-300mm f/4-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by dda
Review Date: 12/25/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: cheap / good image quality
Cons: soft starting from 250 mm

I really like this lens - image Q is very good - suits my OM-D perfectly
halfmac

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 11
Panasonic 100-300mm f/4-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by halfmac
Review Date: 12/13/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $539.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great reach for Size, OIS works great
Cons: Lens creep and wobble

This lens is amazing when you consider the long end is a 35mm equivalent 0f 600mm . It now work on my GH2. It has a great size and weight for it's reach. The manual focus ring works great. It is large and smooth. Comes with the lens shade that reverses for storage.


Did I say great reach. I should. Great performer for it's focal length. A reasonable price when compared to the alternatives. The OIS works great.


I plan on using this lens for video recording.
naveedakhtar

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 5
Panasonic 100-300mm f/4-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by naveedakhtar
Review Date: 10/29/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $540.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, focal range, size, IQ, OIS, high build
Cons: slightly expensive but none if you can afford it

It took me ages to decide on this lens as I need something compact and still with high image quality and clarity. Though the lens is not as compact as you would expect from other micro four thirds, it is still smaller and lighter then Canon and nikon 70-300 mm IS and VR variants, and atleast as sharp (I have tried excellent 70-300 VR on Nikon D90) and Best IQ level Sigma 150mm macro on Oly Pen E-P1 with the adapter, which was very very heavy.


Pros:
+ IQ Excellent on all focal lengths (I mostly used 100- 210mm, very few at 300mm) and most apperture I tried (never closed it under f 1:8). Even works wonder at f 1:4.
+ Mega OIS is excellent, but I suggest turn it off if you are taking any shot faster than roughly 1/125 sec or on tripod, it will save you some battery life and probably better IQ in few cases, just like any other IS system.
+ Excellent build from plastic and very good rubberised focus and zoom rings, that you can always expect from Pany. Same or better than 14-140mm kit lens.
+ Very accurate and fast AF on GH1, for this focal range.


Cons:
- Price is somewhat high, but almost the same range of Nikon and Olympus in the same range, so see if you need a lens on this focal range (best for Safari, bird shots, shots from the top of the hill), then this is the one you should seriously consider. Other four third and bigger body lenses can be sometime fast but not as fast to focus and very heavy and very very expensive if you want this kind of clarity.


It is still probably the biggest in size among all Pany M4/3 lenses, but the IQ and features deserves the size, weight is very light comparatively.


Update:
I used the lens on couple of recent event and trips and it never disappointed me. If you like to have a look at real world scenerio, feel free to have a look at:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/hakeem-na/sets/72157628921096263/
The set is dedicated to my Pany 100-300mm and I am definately keeping this lens.
KarlMora24

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 1
Panasonic 100-300mm f/4-5.6 ASPH MEGA OIS LUMIX G VARIO review by KarlMora24
Review Date: 1/19/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: small and lightweight for its range, very good overall image quality
Cons: zooming not smooth, lower contrast and edges less sharp at the long end

The lens is well built and seems to be a very solid contruction. Autofocus is fast and almost silent (however, still noticeable more noisy than the autofocus in my 14-140). OIS works well, but is a bit noisy if you use the lens for filming in relatively silent surroundings. Zooming is okay, but not as smooth as with the 14-140 (might be a problem when shooting video).


Even wide open sharpness and contrastat are excellent in the range between 100-200mm. Stopping down only improves the edges marginally. Here the lens is on par with the performance of the 14-140 in its sweet spot around 20-50mm and noticeably better than the 14-140 at the long end. Zooming from 200 to 300mm, contrast gets somewhat lower and wide open the edges are a bit blurry, especially at 300mm. At 300mm the performance is quite similar to the 14-140 at 140mm: still decent, but stopping down to f=8.0 is advisable for obtaining sharp edges and optimal contrast. Distortion is not an issue, but there is some vignetting wide open, especially at 300 mm.


Overall, I think that the 100-300 is an excellent supplement to the Panasonic 14-140. You not only get the extra range (comparable to 5,6/600 for full frame!) for shooting wildlife, sports etc. - you also get a noticeably superior performance to the 14-140 in the range between 100-140mm.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.