SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 123763 4/10/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $226.17
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
9.50
panasonic14f25g.jpg


Keywords: Panasonic G-Series Wide Prime Micro-Four-Thirds tested


Thoppa

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 12
Panasonic 14mm f/2.5 ASPH LUMIX G review by Thoppa
Review Date: 4/10/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Ultra small and light, sharp, inexpensive
Cons: I'd love an f/2.0 version.

My lens tests the same as the SLR gear review - f/2.5 is okay, but from f/2.8 I have no complaints.


The size and weight make it ideal for the GM1/EPL5 etc as a take anywhere camera.


If they do an f/2.0 version with weather sealing, I'll trade it, but otherwise, this lens is a keeper.
rponiarski

Registered: April 2012
Posts: 2
Panasonic 14mm f/2.5 ASPH LUMIX G review by rponiarski
Review Date: 11/5/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $178.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tiny and fast, a no brainer of a landscape lens
Cons: No lens hood included.

This is a really nice lens for the micro 4/3 system. It is small, light and makes even my E-P2 nearly pocketable. Image quality is very good, focus is fast and at f2.5 it beats just about any wide angle zoom. Highly recommended.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 33
Panasonic 14mm f/2.5 ASPH LUMIX G review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 1/2/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $175.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, small, affordable, very good image quality
Cons: None

Now this is a nice optical surprise in a small package! Images are nice and sharp and the autofocus is fast and almost completely silent. Also it's very, very compact and light weight. Even if you only plan to use it now and then, it's absolutely no problem to carry with you everywhere. It fits in a small corner or pocket of your coat or bag. Highly recommended!
halfmac

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 11
Panasonic 14mm f/2.5 ASPH LUMIX G review by halfmac
Review Date: 12/12/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $230.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tiny, wide, Large Aperture
Cons: none

This lens is great. I am having so much fun with this lens. I now use it on my GH2. Makes a great size and weight for a walk around. Camera and lens fits in a jacket pocket. Tiny focus ring but serviceable.


Did I say Tiny. I should. Stellar performer for it's size.


I plan on using this lens for video recording.
asulea

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 11
Panasonic 14mm f/2.5 ASPH LUMIX G review by asulea
Review Date: 9/9/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $324.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, AF speed and accuracy, size, price.
Cons: No

A true lens for Micro 4/3, excelent.
Easy

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 6
Panasonic 14mm f/2.5 ASPH LUMIX G review by Easy
Review Date: 8/16/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size, weight, construction, image quality, AF speed, value for money
Cons: Need to stop it down for sharpness, slight distortion

I have bought this lens with GF2 kit.
It really exceeded my expectations.
I think this is one of the underrated lenses.
14 mm focal distance is very useful for my photography.
Pancake design makes a lot of sense for M4/3, zoom lenses are just too big for such small cameras.
Image quality is as good as it gets for pancake, very small and light (I did not see anything like it), construction is solid - excellent performance overall.
I still need to test it wide open if it is sharp enough for real life situations.
Great job, Panasonic - I look forward for more pancake lenses from both Olympus and Panasonic!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.