SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 136639 10/1/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
80% of reviewers $144.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.40
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
8.00
olympus14-42f35-56m2.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Wide Mid Tele Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds tested


indysteve

Registered: October 2014
Posts: 6
Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 II M.Zuiko Digital review by indysteve
Review Date: 10/1/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $75.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: cheap.great IQ but not quite as good as original, quiet a/f better suited for video
Cons: build quality

original mk1 has better IQ. i prefer this lens over the mk2. price
Perry Rhodan

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 21
Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 II M.Zuiko Digital review by Perry Rhodan
Review Date: 6/24/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: almost free kitlens, IQ, af speed, no AF problems at all, light
Cons: hood is extra, cheap JRC does the job

You must try before discarding this almost free kitlens. Way, way better then almost all kitlenses around.


And a pity that Oluv still hasn't checked back here. Needs resetting the lens body combo.
oluv

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 4
Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 II M.Zuiko Digital review by oluv
Review Date: 3/12/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: faster AF than previous version, light
Cons: longer than previous version, soft, plastic mount!

as opposed to SLR-gear's review of this lens, my particular sample is considerably softer than the old version of this lens that i also own.


the old version has a horribly slow AF and construction quality is arguable as it feels a bit wobbly, but the new version is softer overall, despite the improvement in AF speed.
also the plastic mount is a step backwards and to tell the truth i still prefer the old version because it is shorter overall and better suited with small mFT cameras.
Hannu108

Registered: September 2011
Posts: 1
Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 II M.Zuiko Digital review by Hannu108
Review Date: 9/1/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $213.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent Sharpness with f/6.3 --> f/11
Cons: Little soft wide open

I wanted to compare this with the ED L lens that came with my E-PL1 but I found it much softer!! Fortunately I had read the previous review posted by Bruce Coxley. I did what he had done, i.e., reset the lens and it changed the whole thing!


I found the lens excellent in sharpness, beating the 1st gen. ED L lens with aperture f/6.3 --> f/11 at all focal lengths I tested (14, 18, 24, 35, 42mm). At 24mm with f/6.3 and 35mm with f/6.3 and f/7.1 the ED L lens was sharper--but only in the corners.


This lens shines over the previous version especially with apertures f/7.1, f/8, f/9, and f/11.


The quality of the build is much better than that of the ED L. I also took few videos with it and found it whisper quiet when zooming--great for video!


Autofocus on E-PL1 also seems to be faster. I'll do some tests later to measure the different.


Overall a great lens!
Bruce Coxley

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 2
Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 II M.Zuiko Digital review by Bruce Coxley
Review Date: 2/26/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Smooth & easy to operate
Cons: Image quality is very good after resetting lens with camera.

Distortion is well above average and no correction is needed on horizontal or vertical edges of newspaper pages. Macro setting images are very soft and will not sharpen enough to be useful. All these shots were on tripod and times shutter. IS was turned off. Much improvement needed to get Zuiko quality.
After a long conversation with an Olympus tech rep we found out that the lens needs to be reset with the camera, as both units have firmware. Instructions are to shut off camera, lock and remove lens, re-install lens but do not unlock. Turn on camera. Go to reset in menu and follow instructions. Then you can unlock the lens and use. I did all of the above and the lens works very well.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.