SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 32926 10/16/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $540.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.67
spacerspacer
8.33
spacerspacer
8.67
nikon35f14ais.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Prime 35mm AIS


Chop

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 7
Nikon 35mm f/1.4 AIS Nikkor review by Chop
Review Date: 10/16/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great normal, fast lens. Classic image for B&W
Cons: softer wide open

A little soft wide open but from 2.8 to f11 it's very good. Nice bokeh and contrast. A classic Nikon lens. I use it for my normal lens and it's fast for low light and classic B&W image quality. Nikon has been making it forever and that's a statement to its popularity.
dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 52
Nikon 35mm f/1.4 AIS Nikkor review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/11/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: fast f/1.4, build quality, compact, takes 52mm filter
Cons: outdated

a photojournalist's standard.. like in 30 years ago. Nowadays, many has overrated this lens as its "legendary" performance.


Yes, this lens has a great design. Small, light, sturdy, fast & delivers good performance too. It had created world's greatest press photos many years ago. Today, I prefer the 35/1.8G (DX) for usability. Images are a little bit soft wide open and it has a visible CA.


I got this lens along with my F3HP, which was a great pair for almost anything. I wouldn't use it with my digital bodies.
Yucel

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 15
Nikon 35mm f/1.4 AIS Nikkor review by Yucel
Review Date: 6/23/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Nice Price, Nice Bokeh
Cons: tough to focus at F1.4 manual focus on APS-C

I would not buy if shooting APS-C for stills, especially if subject is in motion.


Would buy for film, or video, or perhaps FX.


See review and sample photos: http://glamourphotography.co/?p=2791
Peter Hovmand

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 35mm f/1.4 AIS Nikkor review by Peter Hovmand
Review Date: 4/18/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: One of the sharpest lenses, very robust, best Nikon quality
Cons: ?

Absolutely my favorite lens. Super sharp, super fast, perfect for both full frame and DX. I really don't have anything negative to say about this lens. No autofocus, just makes it more charming. Cheaper than the AF 35 1.4, just makes it irresistible Smile
DavidNJ

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 3
Nikon 35mm f/1.4 AIS Nikkor review by DavidNJ
Review Date: 3/13/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp image
Cons: Fair color rendition

It is a sharp lens but a bit behind the other Nikons in color rendition. Well made and fast. However in practice I end up using the 50/1.2, 28/2, and 24/2 more than this one.


Note that it is still in production
Momiziano

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 4
Nikon 35mm f/1.4 AIS Nikkor review by Momiziano
Review Date: 12/9/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast and legendary MF prime Made out of metal
Cons: Not perfect vide open

Little fast and beautiful Made out of metal lens. Sharp from f2, very sharp from f2.8 to f8.
Do his best with full frame sensor.
Made with same optical design for NASA


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.