SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 39271 7/10/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $213.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.83
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.83
nikon28f28ais.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Prime 35mm AIS


ftrousdale

Registered: July 2013
Posts: 1
Nikon 28mm f/2.8 AIS Nikkor review by ftrousdale
Review Date: 7/10/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build quality, great perfoemace
Cons: None

I practically stole this item on ebay as used.


It was and remains in apparent unused condition.


I always store it bagged, unlike most.


Best buy I've made in a long time!
Glutte

Registered: April 2013
Posts: 6
Nikon 28mm f/2.8 AIS Nikkor review by Glutte
Review Date: 4/11/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, contrast, color, beautiful bokey, no ca, no distortion, delight to operate.
Cons: Have to go back to my other lenses sometimes.

Mine is serial 825936 and i'm using it with a D7000.
This lens gives incredible result when used at close and mid range. At f/2.8 it's already sharp from edge to edge and sharpest at f/5.6.
Bokey is splendid,color vivid, contrast close to Zeiss 28mm f/2 ZF (I rented one few weeks ago and would't trade it for Nikon).
I tried very hard to find something wrong with Nikon 28mm ai-s but I can't find any con.
Using this lens is a charm: Focus ring is just the good grip and perfectly damped.
The lens can focus very close at 0.2 ft and with good close up (Nikon 4T or Canon 250D) I use it for photographying flowers, insects,etc... with excellent results.
When focused at infinite still a good lens but nothing to rave about. It then compares to my Tamron 17-50mm 2.8 at 28 mm. Difficult to see a difference.
Chop

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 7
Nikon 28mm f/2.8 AIS Nikkor review by Chop
Review Date: 10/16/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $240.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Super Optics and Nikon classic 28mm. Bargain!
Cons: No AF but...

CRC and 50mm filters. No AF, but since when did wide angles need it? Smooth Focus and beautiful bokeh. I use it on F3, and older F Film cameras. One of the finest 28mm out there at a very low cost.
dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 52
Nikon 28mm f/2.8 AIS Nikkor review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/14/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $125.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide (on fullframe), SHARP! small & light, takes standard 52mm filters
Cons: none

It's a shame that Nikon doesn't make lenses like this anymore. It's a landscapers' & photojournalists' dream lens. small, tough, fast & delivers top performance. I used to lug this lens to my FM2/FM3 for hiking/trekking. It's a really wonderful combo. It produces SHARP images, even sharper than the AF-version (shame on you Nikon).


I would highly recommend this lens especially for FX/fullframe users. It's easy. For the price (used) today, nothing can go wrong with this lens.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 34
Nikon 28mm f/2.8 AIS Nikkor review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 2/18/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $260.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, lightweight, sharp, good contrast, close focus, all metal, price
Cons: Manual focus

Feel free to use this lens wide open at f/2.8, because it's sharp and contrasty enough. Distortion is minimal. The build quality of this lens is excellent. It's made of metal and virtually indestructible. Old school quality. Focussing is smooth and precise and easy to do with the large rubberized ring.


Most modern camera's have focus confirmation (dot) which makes focussing easy to do. Everything works fantastic. As a nice bonus, with this model you can focus up to 20cm and the image still remains sharp!


You can find them relatively cheap these days (at the time of this review that is) and if you are looking for a professional Nikon prime in this range I can highly recommend it.
lensmeister

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 28mm f/2.8 AIS Nikkor review by lensmeister
Review Date: 2/23/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $290.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exremely sharp as sharp as Nikkor 16-35 Zoom, very contrasty, small, light, perfect andle of view for everyday street photography
Cons: Availability used, price New! Manula focus for some (not me), Other than that nothing...

The Nikkor 28mm f2.8 Ai-S is one of the sharpest Nikon lenses ever. The manual focus is great and smooth with a dream-like dampened action. It's light and small and easily fits into any camera bag, on the camera it's not heavy and bulky like some of the newer lenses from Nikon! I purchased this gem in Osaka, Japan used and it just won't come off my D700! I still have my 20mm AF-D lens but find the angle of view of this 28mm lens more accommodating for street photography which I mostly do. You don't have to get in too close to your subjects (people, etc.) which can be an issue these days in public metropolitan areas. There are different versions of this 28mm lens available so be sure you're getting the newer Ai-S model, I almost bought the Ai version, they are remarkably similar. The Ai-S version has the Nikon marking etched on the inside of the front lens as opposed to the outer edge which is the case for the Ai version.

What this lens brings to the game is extreme corner to corner sharpness from f2.8 up with a noticeable contrasty images to go with it! I read this in a review and put it to a test at the shop in Osaka, later looking at the images on my computer I was simply amazed, rushed back to the shop and grabbed the lens! Never looked back.


If you're thinking about this lens, let me save you some time... BUY IT!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.