Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera Reviews

Reviews Views Date of last review
6 175239 2/7/2015
Recommended By Average Purchase
83% of reviewers $527.17
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Overall Rating

Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Sony Wide Mid Tele Zoom APS-C Di-II PZD VC Stabilized tested


Registered: February 2015
Posts: 1
Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD AF review by s87343jim
Review Date: 2/7/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 9 

Pros: Small, light weight, large zoom range, VC(IS/VR), sharp at wide angle
Cons: No manual focus over-ride, small aperture at tele end, lots of distortion, focus hunt at low light, noisy VC, not so sharp at tele end

This review is based on what this lens is designed for, not compare it to professional zoom and prime lenses.

You have to understand what this lens is designed for. It is not to replace your 24-70mm (17-50mm) + 70-200mm + 300mm lens combo in terms of image quality, but weight saving instead. It is a travel zoom lens. It is designed to be as convenient as possible, instead of produce the sharpest images with extreme shallow depth of field.
The best way to describe this lens to think of it as your 18-55+55-200/300mm kits lens merge into one. It has problems performing in low light conditions. The focus speed will drop and often struggle to find focus if you don't use the cross type focus point at the tele end. That being said, it works will in most conditions.

It is not a sport lens either, the focus is too slow for that. However, it is fast enough to capture your kids or pets running around on the field.

In terms of distortion, it is quite bad. However, it is not really noticeable in real world shooting. It is bad news if you are really into brick wall photography though. From 18-35mm(depends on your focus distance) you get barrow distortion and then pincushion after that.

VC works well. I can get most images sharp at 270mm 1/30 sec. So that's about 3 stops improvement. Not bad. It is a bit noisy though. It also takes about 0.3 sec to get into position. The is a "jump" you see on a view finder that may scare the first time user. It is not a fault, but rather how the VC is designed. It is not really a problem, because it generally takes longer to lock on focus than take a picture. In a very unlikely event, you take a picture when the "jump" happens. It may result a blurry picture.

It is a shame it has no manual focus over ride. Sure it has the PZD motor, which is a upgrade from the pervious micro motor, but there are few times I accidentally turn the focus ring while it is on the auto setting because I'm so used to working with lenses that has the manual over ride function.

So really, you have to look at this lens as what it is designed for. It is a great lens if you just want a do-it-all type of lens. You will be disappointed if you compare it to...say a prime or modern f2.8 zooms.

Registered: February 2014
Posts: 1
Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD AF review by GPallas
Review Date: 2/13/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $119.00| Rating: 9 

Pros: Fast focus in bright light, sharp images, zoom lock
Cons: distortion evident at wide angle, sometimes hunts to focus in low light.

Got this lens as Open box but obvious price mis-print for only $119. This lens at wide angle range 18-55 took sharper and more vivid pictures than the stock Sony SAM II 18-55 which I also own. The Sony SAM II did have quite a bit less distortion at 18mm, but software like DXO can fix that.

Even though it says it Zooms to 270, the details in the photo information says 280mm focal point, which is a plus, an extra 10mm.

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 1
Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD AF review by Mhudon
Review Date: 4/26/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $723.00| Rating: 8 

Pros: Small, light, fast autofocus, good stabilization
Cons: Dust got in between the two first glass elements at the back of the lens after 8 weeks

The many reviews I have read about this lens tend to be a little harsh. It's far from perfect, but it gives you an incredible reach in a very small and light format.

Autofocus is fast, color rendition and general image quality is predictable. If you don't want to have to fix distortion in post-prod, keep clear from all the lens in the 18-200+mm group!

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 6
Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD AF review by maskinmoller
Review Date: 3/16/2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $838.00| Rating: 6 

Pros: size, tele coverage, sharpness at all FL, autofocus, VC works
Cons: Noisy VC!, build quality, rotating focus ring during AF, 270 mm doesn' fell like 270 mm

I've had the Nikkor 18-200 mm VR before to compare with. I purchased this as the old version was told to be a bit sharper than the Nikkor, but with a very slow AF, which I'd not accept.

This version surely has a better AF, though not quite as fast ad the Nikkor yet. It also has an effective VC, BUT it makes an annoying whining noise! I don't do videos, but for people with this interest, I guess the VC would have to be off. Even just using it for stills, the noise just got on my nerves. Not even the cheapest Nikkor VR lenses make that kind of noise.

And speaking of cheap. The build quality just isn't a match for the Nikkor 18-200 and I wouldn't trust this lens to last many years, which it should at the price point it sells.

Sad, since the IQ definitely is on top compared with other superzooms.

I've read other comment on the 270 mm isn't truly 270 mm and I got the same feeling that it breathes a lot, so I didn't really fell it being much longer than the 18-200 mm Nikkor.

At 18 mm it has very pronounced field curvation, so don't try to shoot straight lines..

If I was to rate it for shaprness alone, I'd recommend it, but it just has to many other small issues for me.

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 2
Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD AF review by photojay
Review Date: 2/13/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $649.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Very fast focus, excellent sharpness, light weight and not a huge lens
Cons: none

Remarkable considering it's range and what it was designed to do

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 1
Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD AF review by horushin
Review Date: 2/9/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $684.00| Rating: 3 

Pros: Compact, good image quality, light, well put together
Cons: VC and VC during Continous Auto focus

Image quality seems fine. Even at 270mm it seems outstanding. The VC is a big problem. I have asked Tech support to help. Lets see where that goes.


This document copyright © 2009-2015,, all rights reserved.