SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 75780 4/27/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,099.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
8.50
sigma50-150f28oshsm.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Pentax Sony Tele Zoom DC APS-C OS Stabilized HSM APO tested


S8472

Registered: April 2013
Posts: 1
Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM APO review by S8472
Review Date: 4/27/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open! Fast AF and effective OS
Cons: Weight, not weather sealed, shorter focal length at close focus

This lens (at least my copy) lives up to the excellent measurement results on this site. Sharpness is very impressive, it's sharp everywhere. Right from f2.8 over the zoom range.
There is only one caveat: the effective focal length becomes significantly shorter with closer subjects. At closes focus (80cm) it's a 50-100mm. Being a lens in the portrait range (focus around 3m / 10ft) it is not a 50-150 but somewhere between a 50-120 and a 50-135. I found that when I made some test pics to compare sharpness with my old Canon 70-200 f4L.
deltadave44

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 1
Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM APO review by deltadave44
Review Date: 3/20/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons: won't be released for sony/pentax shooters

here's the quote from an email i received from sigma..." Unfortunately at this time there are no plans to release that lens in Sony mount. I have had other inquiries into this in the past and have asked the parent company as recently as 2 weeks ago. But they continue to tell me that the lens will not be available in Sony or Pentax. I hope one day that changes, but I honestly don’t see that happening. I apologize for any inconvenience this causes.'
turps

Registered: December 2012
Posts: 1
Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM APO review by turps
Review Date: 12/17/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons: Your review states that this new version of the Sigma 50-150 is available now for Sony and Pentax mounts - but the Sigma website lists only Canon, Nikon and Sigma.

I would like to get this lens for my Sony A550....
buddywoods

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 1
Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM APO review by buddywoods
Review Date: 5/5/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,099.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide aperture, sharp, good range for a crop sensor
Cons: heavy, not water sealed

I have a Canon 70-200 f/4L IS but found it to be a little long on my 7D for indoor portraits in my basement so I bought this lens. This lens focus is accurate and pretty fast. I found this lens to be as sharp as my Canon 70-200 f/4L IS.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.