SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 44094 2/10/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
75% of reviewers $27,466.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.25
spacerspacer
7.25
spacerspacer
7.50
sigma12-24f45-56hsm2.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Pentax Sony Wide Zoom 35mm DG HSM


Randal

Registered: February 2014
Posts: 1
Sigma 12-24mm f/4.5-5.6 II DG HSM review by Randal
Review Date: 2/10/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80,700.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excelente ângulo de cobertura, construção sólida e boa qualidade de imagem
Cons: poderia ser pelo menos f/4

Gostei da lente, uso-a com uma Nikon D700 e para fotos de paisagens com boa iluminação é excelente. Vejam algumas fotos no flickrhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/56876249@N06/
Yucel

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 15
Sigma 12-24mm f/4.5-5.6 II DG HSM review by Yucel
Review Date: 1/23/2013 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: 12mm is very wide
Cons: Not sharp enought in corners

I've tried this lens and the Tokina 11-16 and the Sigma 8-12mm DX lens on Nikon. On a D800 FX body, I prefer the 8-12mm Sigma image quality to the 12-24.


That is, if I need image sharpness in corners, I think I get better output shooting the D800 in DX mode w a 8-16 than with an FX 12-24.


See full images here: http://glamourphotography.co/?p=6879
nh_photofan

Registered: August 2011
Posts: 1
Sigma 12-24mm f/4.5-5.6 II DG HSM review by nh_photofan
Review Date: 8/31/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $949.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent center sharpness. Good corner sharpness when stopped down. Good autofocus, fast and accurate
Cons: Soft in corners at 12mm until f/11-16. Some CA seen.

Soft in corners at 12mm until f/11-f/16. A little more CA than I had hoped with all that FLD glass. More barrel distortion at 12mm (but easy to correct) than I saw in tests of original version lens (I don't have it). Not as good on full frame as the Sigma 8-16mm is on APS-C.
Excellent landscape lens. Good corner sharpness when stopped down. Better than my beloved 17-40L Canon. (They have similar MTF charts). Good autofocus, fast and accurate.

I tested the new version vs Canon 17-24mm L at 17mm and 24mm focal lengths on Canon 5d (FF). The 12-24 has much better corner sharpness than the Canon at 17mm and equal or better corner sharpness at 24mm at all apertures. (Both are good at 24). At 12mm, the extreme corners (last 2-3mm) are very soft wide open and soft until f/11 (pixel peeping at 100%). No issues with sharpness when used on APS-H or Aps-C crop cameras. Not as sharp in corners as 14mm F2.8 Samyang/Rokinon.
3systemuser

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 19
Sigma 12-24mm f/4.5-5.6 II DG HSM review by 3systemuser
Review Date: 8/13/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp , almost never flare ,superfast AF,wide really wide, very well controlled distortion.
Cons: a bit too much CA at long end, a bit more distortion than the old 12-24.

in japan , Canon version just out about 2 weeks a go and I bought it after testing it for a few days at a local big camera shop.


I had Canon EF16-35f2.8L2 lens and Sigma 12-24original one and Zeiss 21f2.8ZE to compare to this lens, of course , the Zeiss 21 is the sharpest one of these but the new Sigma is not much worse than the Zeiss and a bit sharper than the Canon 16-35L2.


It AF very well , it is (I be lieve )selaed very well against moisture and light and compact , so it balances well on my 5D2.


I highly recommend this lens , I think all recent Sigma expensive lenses are quite good ,especially for their modest prices and the this one and the 85f1.4HSM are really outstanding for their relatively modest prices.


For 750US, you wont get any better.


One minor issue of this lens is its barrel distortion at 12mm is worse than the previous version that it replaces, though it is a still very well corrected lens.


PS. I heard that this lens may not come in Nikon mount because of the Nikon's crazy lawsuit against Sigma.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.