SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
33 367741 3/10/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,152.28
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.53
spacerspacer
9.59
spacerspacer
9.53
1EF24-70f28a.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm L USM Tested


30/90

Registered: January 2012
Posts: 3
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by 30/90
Review Date: 3/10/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,150.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Versatility, tack sharp images, color & contrast, build quality.
Cons: Some say weight is an issue...I have not found it objectionable.

The most used lens in my arsenal. This lens stays on my 40D most of the time. It is a great walk around lens and provides tons of flexibility when touring. I find that the image quality is superb and f2.8 speed allows for easy low light shooting. It's my Go-To lens and I've used it more than any other lens in the bag.
LF911SC

Registered: November 2011
Posts: 1
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by LF911SC
Review Date: 11/29/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, Feel, Bokeh, Build, IQ
Cons: Weight?

Bought this a week ago after a month living with the inferior 24-104 f/4 L. While the f/4 approached the look of the f/2.8 at the short end, there is no contest when looking at captures from the long side. Also seems like colors and contrast are much better through the 24-70. Another thing, even though both are designated "L" series lenses, the 24-70 is much better made, using more metal and less plastic that is used on the 24-105.


Couldn't be happier.
MAS1

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 1
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by MAS1
Review Date: 9/10/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent Image quality
Cons: Heavy

This lens has never let me down. It consistently produces great images.
I do not say that lightly. I am very particular about equipment and it is not often
that I can endorse a lens this positively.
Focus and images are very good, even wide open.
It is a great lens for weddings and portraits. I use it on a 5D Mark II, a 20D and 50D but it stays on the 5D most of the time.
It has good close focusing capabilities, it isn't a macro lens but it gets close
enough for good wedding / hand / ring images. I hesitated on this verses the 24-105 F4 for the 5D but this was a good choice.
Good glass!
toniwahid

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 3
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by toniwahid
Review Date: 8/14/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Built, IQ, it's "L" enough said
Cons: None ...

This lens is become my companion for my food photos apart from other prime lens. Here my food photos taken with this brick for your consideration before emptying your wallet Smile


http://www.flickr.com/photos/toni_wahid/3793892103/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/toni_wahid/3752815534/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/toni_wahid/3672565630/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/toni_wahid/3652917579/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/toni_wahid/3553930592/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/toni_wahid/3462198129/


It's heavy lens indeed, but I don't mind as the image quality is superb. You won't regret it.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 2/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ is super and AF is fast!
Cons: Size and weight.

One of Canon's best. I bit on the heavy side.


Here are some photo samples from Gene Chan: http://www.motleypixel.com/reviews/index.htm?openfolder=Canon%20Zooms/Canon%20EF%2024-70mm%20f2.8%20L/


-Lex
Sea Dragon Rex

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 5
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by Sea Dragon Rex
Review Date: 1/7/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,017.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp lens and useable at 2.8. Fast silent focus. Excellent construction
Cons: Attracts attention with hood attached

I've had this lens for two years and used in on my XT as well as my 40D. This lens lives on my camera. The images are very sharp and focus is fast and silent.


People complain about the weight but I haven't had any problem with the weight. Excellent lens and worth every penny!
CYON

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 1
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by CYON
Review Date: 1/5/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Absolutely great lens for walking around.


If you have this lens, you should use good UV filter (I recommend B&W Haze 010 MRC). Image is much better than normal UV
sivrajbm

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 12
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by sivrajbm
Review Date: 10/31/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,039.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Speed, handling, bokem, build, smooth operation, IQ with good copy
Cons: Price compared to Tamron 28-75

After several tries I finally have a good copy of this lens. I had soft copies before but this one was as sharp and at some aps sharper (2.8) than my Tamron. I had a very good copy of the Tamron. I shoot weddings and special events and really wanted the focus speed of the Canon. The only fault to the Tamron is it can be a little slow to focus. if you can't get this lense get the Tamron save up your money and decide later. If you go for this one and get a good copy off the bat you'll be a happy camper indeed...Finally, I'm happy
Treble57

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 2
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by Treble57
Review Date: 3/17/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, Sharpness
Cons: Weight

This is my "everyday" lens. Scenics are superb at 24mm and portraits are excellent at 70mm. I have zero issues with this lens.
random

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 10
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by random
Review Date: 1/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

We all know it's an L lens, so I don't need to add to what is already known about this lens optically- & build-quality-wise. If you're fortunate enough to get a good copy of this lens you'd be amazed at it's portrait capabilities wide-open at the short tele end. It's definitely prime-level IQ to my eyes, it would even improve 1-2 stops down. It has better bokeh quality than the 24-105 f/4L IS at the same FL & aperture, even more at f/2.8. It's just too bad it doesn't have the 3-stop IS of the newer 24-105L. I actually prefer this lens over the 24-105 if only for the f/2.8 & slightly better IQ & distortion control at all comparable FLs & apertures.
fergusonjr

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 15
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by fergusonjr
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast (big aperture) lens. Great build-quality.
Cons: Heavy. Limited focal-length range.

This is really nice lens. With its f/2.8 max aperture, this is a very useful and versatile lens. It feels very well-built and quite solid. I personally tend to favor a bit more zoom than wide-angle and kept wanting to dial past 70mm. The reverse-zoom setup where the lens is shortest at 70mm and longest 24mm does take a little getting used to, but doesn't cause any major problems. The only disadvantage I'd give this lens for everyday use is its substantial weight, which is particularly evident on a Rebel body -- it weighs almost twice what the camera does! This is a monster lens.


Image quality is fantastic and the solidness of the lens is very reassuring. This is a fun lens to use.
TaoGuy

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by TaoGuy
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,150.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp,fast, affordable
Cons: None

The weight is worth the speed. I think it balances very well, suppose it depends on the body used. Definitely the most used lens I have.
kzr63g

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by kzr63g
Review Date: 1/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: build quality, splash proof,
Cons: heavy

I have no problem with AF on my old D60.


This is the lens I use most.
Very nice IQ


Is heavy when using a whole day...


Balances nicely when camera grip (with 2 batteries) is used on camera.
ne1rom

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by ne1rom
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp from the 2.8, nice bokeh, pleasing colour
Cons: Heavy (about 1 kg), vignetting on FF DSLR

On an APS-C DSLR it's excellent, except some AF problems with older models like 300D, 20D - on 30D/400D everything is perfect!
On FF (5D) everything is perfect as well. Though some visible vignetting on 24mm at 2.8 thru 5.6 and on 70mm at 2.8.
garys

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by garys
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very versatile zoom range, good resolution and speed for a zoom, very functional hood
Cons: large and heavy

(on a full frame camera)A good travel lens covering many needs, except for obtursiveness and weight, but worth these drawbacks for the f2.8. Of course the resolution does not equal a prime lens and it is less sharp toward the corners, but I have made some great 16x20 prints from this lens. Some complain about the reverse zoom characteristic, but I welcome it as the hood is more effective and controls the mild flaring tendancy that this lens exhibits. Not remarked about often is its close focusing capability. While not a true macro, I often take advantage of close focusing distances not afforded me by other lenses.
Zinger

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 8
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by Zinger
Review Date: 12/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent optically & typical "L" build quality
Cons: Lens barrel extends

What can I say that hasn't already been said? :-)


It's a great lens. Easy to use, although the 24mm end is with the lens extended, which is different from any other lens I've used. Usually you extend to zoom, but this one is the opposite.


Slightly too normal/tele on a 1.6x body, but that's not the lens' fault.


Definitely recommended.
jcctx

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by jcctx
Review Date: 12/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1.15| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Like the f2.8
Cons: extension of front of lens on zoom.

Great images from this lens. A little heavy but it works for a wide range of situations.
mebailey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by mebailey
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,134.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sharpness (comparable to primes). Highly usable focal length. Super fast for a zoom. Fast accuarate focusing. Awesome construction.
Cons: None

Simply the best zoom I have ever had the pleasure to use or own. Its fast, has a pleasant bokeh, and is built to last. I have used for portraits, weddings, and walf around. The range is great for a FF or crop camera. It gets more time on the camera than any other lens!
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best build quality; f2.8; "L" contrast, color, and resolution, weather sealing
Cons: HEAVY, reverse zoom takes getting used to

I got both this and the 24-105/f4L since I couldn't decide which one to get. In the end, the 2.8 won out (I preferred the 2.8 over the 4 plus IS).


Optically, both are practically the same, with a bokeh advantage to the 2.8L (especially, of course, at 2.8!) and somehow it just feels a tad bit better in your hands.


Warning: this is one HEAVY lens. WHen you first pick it up, you appreciate the heft, but after a few minutes, your arms and shoulders will complain. It's really the big trade-off for the quality and finish of this monster.
kwk36

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by kwk36
Review Date: 12/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast AF, well built
Cons: heavy

This lens is simply amazing. Sharp, fast and quite a useful range even on my 30D. It's heavy but hey, being a constant 2.8 and a pro lens to boot, that's to be expected. I was a little hesitant in buying this lens because of reports elsewhere on the web of inconsitant quality but I have been nothing but pleased.
terryf

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by terryf
Review Date: 12/4/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Combination of zoom flexibility with sharpness.
Cons: Size and weight

This is my standard "walk around" lens and I keep it on my 20D until the photo situation calls for something different. My copy of the 24-70L shows clear softness at f2.8 at both 24mm and 70mm when compared with a prime like the 50mm f1.4 or the 135L f2.0. Stopping down to f4 helps a lot and sharpness is excellent by f5.6. I will avoid using when f2.8 is required whenever possible. Nonetheless, for a zoom lens the image quality is exceptionally good. When I was shooting in some dusty, windy environments I did get some grit underneath the manual focusing ring that made it difficult to operate and that disappointing weather sealing is why I lowered my rating for construction quality.
bbrat

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by bbrat
Review Date: 11/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,150.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: weather sealed, construction, usm, 2.8 throughout, size,sharpness,contrast,color
Cons: noe really, maybe for some the weight, but i love the weight!

i love this lens. i have mine on a 30D and its fantastic! i would guess when i jump to FF then it would be even better for me. its built like a tank! cant go wrong with this lens...gets my top grade!
cjbowlsby

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by cjbowlsby
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Impecable optical quality, wider than other standard zooms, fast focus, black body
Cons: price, size

Boy, what a monster!
But you can't beat the best now can you? Sure Tamron and Sigma have their competition, but they don't have USM or weather sealing.


Fantastic build quality. It can certainly take its knocks. It really does need the lens hood. Especially on a film or FF digital.
pz

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 8
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by pz
Review Date: 11/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very very good picture quality
Cons: heavy, IS might be useful

I bought it because after years I really am convinced that a good objective is much more important than the body. I used several different objectives in this range on my 300D, 10D, 20D and at last I did have to buy this one to achieve the desired quality of my photos. On 20D it is (almost) as good as a prime, on 5D it is the best canon zoom in this range. Using a full frame body its picture quality is excellent, much better than I hoped. The 2.8 aperture on a full frame body gives beautiful background blur. It is heavy, but well balanced on 5D.
Jarrad_Kevin

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 11
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by Jarrad_Kevin
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very Sharp, Fast AF, FTM, Great Zoom Range on a Full Frame
Cons: not the best zoom range on a 1.6 crop

I was skeptical of the mythological reputation of this lens. It really is everything people make it out to be. The AF is very fast and absolutely silent. Very good Sharpness all throughout the zoom range. Very usable wide open. Clever hood design.


It is a bit heavy, but it's a 2.8 zoom. It's to be expected.


If you need this zoom range and 2.8 this is your best option.
r0nald

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by r0nald
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,050.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, great build.
Cons: It is a heavy lens.

This lens is on my 30D most of the time. It compliments my other Canon lenses very well, the 10-22 and 70-200 f2.8 non-IS. The image quality is quite superb. The AF is fast and with an aperture of 2.8 this lens is quite capable in low light situations. Regarding the price for this lens and other "L" lenses, you definitely get what you pay for - a solidly built lens that produces excellent images.
Ross T

Registered: October 2006
Posts: 4
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by Ross T
Review Date: 10/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super SHARP...FAST!!
Cons: None

Just a Fantastic Lens....Super SHARP...FAST...Very Fast Autofocus...Great Zoom Range....Weather Proof....Very Solid Build....This is a GREAT LENS!!
myedor

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by myedor
Review Date: 1/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,150.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great range, Very Sharp, Quick focus
Cons: The weight (but it is f2.8), I would prefer if it were a fully internal zoom

This is one of my most used lenses, it is almost always on one of my bodies. Great range for walking around. It does have nacro focusing, but is not to be mistaken with a true macro lens. The construction quality gets an 8 because it is not fully internal, and the hood will fall off if bumped hard, not a huge deal but anoying for sure. I would love image stabilization on this lens but you can't win evry time. I would highly recomend this lens, especialy for PJ, and studio work.
thoughtcriminal

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 1
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by thoughtcriminal
Review Date: 12/17/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: incredibly sharp for a zoom, fast AF, f2.8, optical quality
Cons: heavy

I normally shoot with prime lenses so I was incredibly surprised when I saw how sharp this lens is. It is a bit heavy and 24mm isn't very wide on a 20D or other similar 1.6 crop cameras, but nevertheless the pros far outweigh the cons with this lens. The optical quality of this lens is excellent, the AF is fast, and a maximum aperture of 2.8 is great for anything low light (or if you just want limited depth of field and lots of nice bokeh.)


One of the things you need to get used to is that this lens extends and zooms out to 24mm (rather than zooming out to 70mm.) While I don't list this as a con, it does take a little getting used to.
jyli19

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 7
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by jyli19
Review Date: 11/3/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,125.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb image quality, fast focus, quality construction
Cons: Heavy

Image quality on par with prime lenses. This is my primary walkaround lens. Along with the 70-200L IS, it makes a perfect package.
AHAB

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 8
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by AHAB
Review Date: 10/28/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 2.8, sharp images, very useful range and it is a workhorse
Cons: Wish it had IS

This lens is a workhorse in wedding photography and portraits. Of course it is not sharp as prime lenses, but it is a very versitile and useful lens. 2.8 is great for wedding ceremonies and receptions, a 2.8 with IS would be only better. Great color and contrast.
Highly recommended along with the 70-200 2.8 IS for wedding, portraits and sports.
This lens would be a dream with the IS feature, Canon are you listening?
AHAB
photopilot377

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by photopilot377
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great quality, reasonable speed
Cons: Big & not light

I like this lens! It stays on my 10D for anything that resembles normal focal length. If they could just add the IS to this . . .
Anakin

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM review by Anakin
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AF, very fast , contrast, color, 2,8 and very sharp, construction quality,
Cons: heavy (but it depends on yours arms).

it's an excellent lens for reportage and a very good walk around lens. (because the AF is very fast)


very sharp @ every focal lengh and aperture, (on my 10D)


this 24-70 is expensive for an amateur , but the image quality is here


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.