SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 158755 2/22/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $566.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.38
spacerspacer
9.88
spacerspacer
9.88
leica25f14dg.jpg


Keywords: Panasonic Leica-DG Mid Prime Micro-Four-Thirds tested


graben

Registered: February 2014
Posts: 1
Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 ASPH Leica DG SUMMILUX review by graben
Review Date: 2/22/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, fast, beautiful bokeh
Cons: none

Before the Olympus 25mm f1.8 was available this was the only game in town for auto-focus. It renders beautifully, what is in focus is sharp and what is out of focus is dreamy soft. My favorite lens.
Romboutroemer

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 2
Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 ASPH Leica DG SUMMILUX review by Romboutroemer
Review Date: 10/25/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $590.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh
Cons: None

I have a D700 and used this camera with a variety of 50 mm lenses from Nikon (1.8D/G) and the Sigma 1.4 but all these FF lenses can't hold a candle to this little optical marvel from
Panasonic. Already supersharp wide open and with a very nice bokeh (considering the cropfactor). Af on the Om-d is blazingly fast. No rattlesnaking on this body. Imo the best Mft lens to date, so much better than the 20/1.7. I haven't tried the 75/1.8 though.
joekashi

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 7
Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 ASPH Leica DG SUMMILUX review by joekashi
Review Date: 3/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $569.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, good feel and balance on E-P3
Cons: none significant

One of the best lenses that I've ever used.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 34
Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 ASPH Leica DG SUMMILUX review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 1/24/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, quick autofocus, accurate autofocus, good build quality, good grip
Cons: Rather expensive, nervously clicking aperture blades

This is not a pancake lens, so I don't mind the size and weight compared to the 20mm f/1.7. Sharpness and contrast are very good, straight from the maximum aperture. The autofocus system is quick enough for most work. It doesn't feel sluggish like the 20mm pancake and it's very quiet too.


The relatively large barrel provides a good grip on small micro 4/3 camera bodies, and the wide focus ring moves smooth and precise. This lens gives you the classic 50mm field of view. The 20mm pancake really is significantly wider. This is a very important factor.


Compared to other standard lenses, the price of this Panasonic is rather high. However, I feel that the image quality, build quality and autofocus speed reflect that price.


Update: The aperture blades click nervously in high contrast situation. There's nothing you can do about it. I don't like it. It should not happen with a lens this expensive.


If you have the money to spend and if you don't mind the larger size and more narrow field of view (and the clicking aperture blades), I can recommend this 25mm over the 20mm pancake. I think the Olympus 25mm is a nicer lens all together.
spencerberus

Registered: December 2011
Posts: 2
Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 ASPH Leica DG SUMMILUX review by spencerberus
Review Date: 12/16/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $599.99| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, lightweight, good in low light
Cons: lens hood doesn't reverse for storage

This is the first lens for which I've ever paid full retail price, and I have no regrets about it. I needed a fast, fairly wide (my only other fast lens was a manual focus 50mm f1.4), sharp lens with auto focus so I could get indoor pics of numerous active nephews & nieces with minimal flash. This definitely fit the bill - and has become my primary lens for everything but macro photography - it isn't a macro lens and doesn't claim to be. It's pretty sharp wide open, which is crucial in low light if you want to avoid using a flash as much as possible. It really sharpens up around f4, I think that is about optimal for this lens though anything from 1.4 to 11 is pretty sharp (haven't tried it any smaller, if it even goes smaller). It's not built like a tank, but then it doesn't weigh as much as one either, and the materials used seem solid and high quality. I wouldn't throw it against a wall, but I can't think of much that costs $600 that I would. It's also not a pancake lens, but its my smallest non-pancake lens so I can't complain there. I've actually fit a GF2 with this lens on it (no lens hood) in a large jacket pocket comfortably. The only complaint I can come up with is that the lens hood doesn't reverse for storage - and I think it would if it were just a couple millimeters taller, but that's really minor. The same lens hood can be used with the Panasonic-Leica 45mm macro lens, and it fits right over the Panasonic 14mm lens in my camera bag so it really isn't a problem to carry around. The big plus? I'm taking a lot more pictures and not thinking 'if only I had that lens....'.
asulea

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 11
Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 ASPH Leica DG SUMMILUX review by asulea
Review Date: 12/14/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $540.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast focus, low light, great bokeh, well built.
Cons: No.

Excelent lens for my Olympus E-P3, great color, contrast and bokeh, sharp and fast focus.
halfmac

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 11
Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 ASPH Leica DG SUMMILUX review by halfmac
Review Date: 12/12/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $529.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast, Small, Reasonably Priced
Cons: Shade does not reverse, Noisy Aperture

This lens is great. I am have so much fun with this lens. It now lives on my GH2. Makes a great size and weight. Love the manual focus ring. It is large and smooth. Odd that the lens shade does not reverse for storage.


Did I say sharp. I should. Stellar performer, @ the fraction of a Leica M lens. A Summilux for $500?


I plan on using this lens for video recording.
kinematic

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 13
Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 ASPH Leica DG SUMMILUX review by kinematic
Review Date: 9/30/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: super bright wide aperture, lovely build quality, includes lens hood and protective pouch. Fast AF performance and nice big focus ring.
Cons: Expensive, cheap quality lens hood with no internal flocking which doesn't reverse. A little bulky.

One of my first in the holy trinity of micro four third lenses (12mm F/2, 25mm F/1.4 and 45 F/1.8).


This lens is very nice and a treat to use for selective focusing. For 3/4 body portrait shots, it's a superb performer. I use this lens professionally for portrait work, but also recreationally for street photography. The large focus ring is very nice to use, and super smooth. The wide aperture isn't too hard to use, but shallow enough to give you great subject isolation.


There is a slight bug to using this on an Pen which makes the aperture freak out because of how bright it is. In fact you do kind of need to get an ND filter to use this during the day if you want to keep your shallow depth of field.


Overall it's a great lens to use and as one of my holy trinity of lenses, is a must have lens if you like the 50 mm equivalent.


Couple sample images here;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kinematic/6182676511/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kinematic/6052230282/in/set-72157627752305222/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kinematic/6055138192/in/set-72157627752305222/


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.