SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
16 137720 5/5/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $354.08
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.56
spacerspacer
9.69
spacerspacer
9.50
olympus45f18m.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Tele Prime Micro-Four-Thirds MSC tested


lightknight

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 20
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by lightknight
Review Date: 5/5/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $375.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, sharp, fairly cheap = great value here.
Cons: no damned lens hood again........

I don't give away 10s because otherwise manufacturers might get complacent, but this IS a terrific lens. I have marked it down for construction and there s no damned hood and its mainly plastic but in other terms its well crafted all the same. the plastic focus ring is a little coarse for me when making small autofocus adjustments. thats it. The bokeh is fine and about the same as an 85mm full frame at f3-5, but it sharp, cuttingly so in fact.. . The format needs good lenses and its generally true that its got them with examples like this. I just wish there was a bit more to come from the sensor.
dualfred

Registered: September 2013
Posts: 1
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by dualfred
Review Date: 9/25/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $378.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp image quality Even in the Corners
Cons: Plastic

The Olympus 45 mm f1.8 Lens is a very Sharp Lens. Even at f1.8 the Lens is Already Sharp at the Center. Stopped down to f4.0 the Whole image Frame is sharp, EVEN THE CORNERS.
dhalbert111

Registered: June 2013
Posts: 1
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by dhalbert111
Review Date: 6/5/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $314.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: lightweight,
Cons: non up to now, auto focus is fast

The Olympus 45mm 1.8 lens is amazing, this is my first lens so i don’t really have much to compare it to. The depth of the focus is pretty amazing.


This lens is a perfect portrait lens and is very good at taken photos at anything, because the lens does all the work for you. The auto focus is pretty darn fast and the colors are great too. For people who are not in to portraiture the Olympus 45mm is still an outstanding lens to have.


I found a web page that goes in to more detail on the lens here, http://www.squidoo.com/olympus-45mm-1-8-review
i hope this helps anyone who is looking to invest in the lens.
paulie51

Registered: December 2012
Posts: 1
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by paulie51
Review Date: 12/28/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: small, lightweight
Cons: plastic construction

Used this lens at a wedding attached to an EPL3, results surprised me for what I believed was a basic/mid range camera. Would recommend to anyone who is after very good results on a budget
wjl

Registered: December 2012
Posts: 1
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by wjl
Review Date: 12/25/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, microcontrast, speed, price, about everything
Cons: lens hood is extra, and expensive as well

As good as they get - definitely one of the must-have-lenses for µ43rds. Just bought a second one for myself, because our first one almost never leaves my wife's camera. Yes, they are that good.


Together with the Panasonic 14mm and 20mm pancakes, this makes the almost perfect travel kit - high quality, light, and affordable.
dda

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 13
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by dda
Review Date: 12/25/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: perfection in a little plastic barrel ...
Cons: it's tooooo prefect

All is allready said on this little diamond (and it is correct !)
Perry Rhodan

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 21
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Perry Rhodan
Review Date: 6/24/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $240.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheap, sharp, compact, quick, light.
Cons: nothing at all

using is believing. For this money a must buy. IQ even on epl/2 is STUNNING.
Kye

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 2
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Kye
Review Date: 5/11/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Everything... just one of those rare gems
Cons: It's not black

better built than you'd imagine from some of the reviewers. optically? just to die for... this is such a nice lens. i'd feel very comfortable paying twice the price because 1. it doesn't have any real distortion, 2. it focuses instantly, 3. colour and contrast are gorgeous and 4. bokeh is like butter. and i should have mentioned sharp, because it's brutally sharp.


and my copy is perfectly centred. judging by some reviews, i guess that means i must be pretty lucky.


if you've got even the slightest doubts, forget it, this is the best M4/3 lens out there. the price is just silly for the optical quality.
pixnat

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by pixnat
Review Date: 1/19/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp from f/1.8, beautiful bokeh, fast and silent AF
Cons: none

Outstanting lens for the price!


It's razor sharp from wide open, which is very rare for a fast lens.


The bokeh is smooth, which is important for a portrait lens.


The AF is fast and silent, wich is wonderfully comfrotable for photo and video.



In summary, this is a real gem, every m4/3 owner should have it!
halfmac

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 11
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by halfmac
Review Date: 1/17/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $399.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, Small, Light, Excellent
Cons: No Lens shade

I got this over the Christmas holiday on my way to CA. Was able to see it and hold it at a real camera store (Shutterbug in Portland, OR). Fell in love with it right away. What can you say: Sharp, Small, Light, Fast and Excellent. Very pleasing out of focus. Quiet for video. Great lens. Compares very well with my Nocton 40mm f1.4 M lens.
Easy

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 6
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Easy
Review Date: 12/31/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $380.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb optically, fast, small and light, good build quality, reasonable price
Cons: No lens hood, flimsy lens cap

Another great lens from Olympus, it will become a classic lens of the system.
Must have prime for M4/3 users.
Excellent for portraits and shooting people, useful FL.
I use it together with together with Lumix 14 mm and Zuiko is better lens, 45 mm became my favorite.
Almost no optical distortions and I use it with Panasonic camera - so no software correction.
Very shallow DoF, after using zooms you can be surprised by this.
Build quality is better than I expected for this price range - it is mainly plastic, but few metal parts: lens mount and 1 metal ring closer to the front. So it feels very solid, better than it actually is. Looks great with black camera.
No hood included, unlike Olympus 4/3 lenses - but there are plenty of them on eBay for very reasonable prices.
HF

Registered: December 2011
Posts: 1
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by HF
Review Date: 12/18/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $399.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, small & light
Cons: non yet

Based on the review(s) by both the expert and users on this website, I purchased this lens yesterday. After only one day, I confirm the rating and comments that others have made are justified. Up to this point my best 4/3 lens was the Panasonic 20mm f1.7 and I am equally impressed with the Olympus 45mm f1.8.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 32
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 12/13/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $370.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, light, sharp, silent, fast focussing, fast aperture, reasonably priced
Cons: None

This lens is a must for micro 4/3 users if it suits their way of photographing. If you are looking for a short tele prime and you don't need macro, look no further, this is the one to get.


Sharpness (even wide open) is very, very good. It has beautiful bokeh and good contrast. Autofocus is smooth, fast, silent and accurate, really good. There is some CA, but it doesn't bother me much.


There's a lot of plastic in it, but I don't find that problematic. Time will tell if it's build to last. The lens is very light and small, and to me that is one of the things I like so much about micro 4/3.


Not very often I come accross a lens that's that good and that I have little or nothing to complain about. The optional lens hood I did not buy. Instead I bought a more affordable Chinese JCC copy. Apart from a tiny bit of a loose fit, it's just fine. Again, if this focal length is what you are looking for, I don't think that you'll be disappointed.
naveedakhtar

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 5
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by naveedakhtar
Review Date: 12/8/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: insanely sharp on all appertures, light weight, style match with Pens
Cons: None really dont care if lens hood is not bundled

Conclusion First: Just buy it, at this price and un-matched performance; its no brainer.


That is the reason it got short in stock everywhere and I felt lucky I got it a day before my holiday.


I am replacing my Pany 45-175 with this lens. I know both of different leagues, but even at pixel level this is so sharp, I better get objects (focused) cropped out of the image, besides I also got 100-300mm Pany.


+ Very light weight
+ Sharp, Sharper ... Sharpest
+ No noticable CA, VA, distortion
+ Price


- None (some may consider build slightly plasticy, but then if it would be metal they would complain its heavy; so at this price point, go away, NONE)


UPDATE:
I felt that the top of the lens slipped out, if this also happens to you don't worry it is meant to place a lens hood on it, just slide it back on and is fine.


I have recently updated a set on flickr that gets all the images with I shot with this lens, using Pany GH1 or Oly E-P1. You can view them here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/hakeem-na/sets/72157628843861947/
mikewhalen

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 1
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by mikewhalen
Review Date: 11/23/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $399.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: tack sharp, small and light
Cons: no lens hood included; very small lens cap; could be better at macro

I'm using this lens on a Panasonic G3. Optically it can't be beat and it is small and light, the main advantage of the MFT format. It focuses fast and silently. I too am a Canon 5D2 user and with this lens my MFT rig is starting to give me the kind of IQ results I get from my big DSLR, at least for non-moving subjects. It is really sharp and the images it produces are very nice. I'm glad I purchased this lens and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others. Just a few minor nits. You have to pay extra for a lens hood, and I've yet to find one anywhere; the lens cap is only 37mm. This is quite small and I fully anticipate loosing it at some point. It is not much bigger than a half-dollar. Lastly, it would have been nice if this lens doubled as a macro (like my 100mm Canon). None of these concerns are serious though. It is still great at what it does and Olympus has done very well with this one.
kinematic

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 13
Olympus 45mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by kinematic
Review Date: 9/30/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $399.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, compact, fast, gorgeous rendering
Cons: No lens hood or protective pouch - focus by wire only

This lens is fantastic!


Gorgeous rendering that rivals other classic rangefinder glass like the Contax G Carl Zeiss T* Planar 45.


Some comparison images found here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kinematic/6197294278/in/photostream/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kinematic/6196778705/in/photostream/


Overall I'm very impressed with this as a portrait lens, and kudos to Olympus for making such a fantastic lens that makes the Pen system very grown up. As a 5Dmk2 user as well, I find that this combination rivals the big camera well and works perfectly fine as a back-up system for any professional situation.


Regardless of the depth of field equivalent of F/3.5 full frame, images speak a lot of words for it's shallow depth of field rendering: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kinematic/6183148494/in/photostream/ You don't have to work too hard to nail focus and also get lovely selective focus with this lens.


Couple of things that I wish it had from it's sibling the 12mm F/2 is the snap focus feature (I think all Olympus lenses should have this feature now). But Olympus tried it's best to keep costs down so I respect that. However there is no excuse not to have a lens hood included and also a protective lens pouch.


In the past I never used lenses pouches with my larger lenses, but with these smaller rangefinder like lenses, I put all my lenses into pouches before they go into my bag. This is one disappointment I have with Olympus which Panasonic is one step ahead with even their Leica lenses. Hood and Pouch should be included in the price of this.


Lastly, the build quality of this isn't the same as the 12mm, however it's also half the price so it's hard to argue that. At the end of the day, this lens is just such a nice little portrait combination that it is easy to overlook it's plastic construction and lack of a physical focus ring. Certainly my favourite lens from Olympus thus far and look forward to more like these in the future.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.