SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 139669 12/25/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $774.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
9.75
olympus12f2m.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Wide Prime Micro-Four-Thirds MSC tested


dda

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 13
Olympus 12mm f/2 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by dda
Review Date: 12/25/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light/ sharp/ good built Q
Cons: none

I don't use it that often, but when I use it ... it keeps on impressing me !
kinematic

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 13
Olympus 12mm f/2 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by kinematic
Review Date: 9/30/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $749.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic build quality, super fast AF, snap focus ring, low distortion
Cons: Expensive, no lens hood or pouch included. Kind of pointless wide aperture.

I'm a wide angle snob but I must say this lens does meet my expectations. Low distortion, and fantastic image quality out of this lens. One of my favourite shots out of this lens is this one:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kinematic/6174448530/in/photostream


Superb build quality and although I am a wide angle snob, this lens does perform really well in low distortion, great corner to corner sharpness, and excellent control over CA overall. It is an expensive lens for this category of camera, but it does put the Pen into a professional level with this and the 45mm F/1.8. I've already begun using this lens professionally in my work and very satisfied with the results.


My only beef is the lack of lens hood or pouch. For the price you pay for this lens, it should have definitely included the pouch.


I did mention the pointless wide aperture. One of the things that I was attracted to this lens was the wide aperture. It is beneficial in using it in low light photography, but if you were hoping to use this as an environmental portrait lens, the F/2 just doesn't really cut it. You need to get very close to the subject to really isolate the background much, and by that point, you may as well just give your subject a kiss while you're at it. However that said, it is still possible to get a nice background blur when you plan it out, for the most part, I wouldn't use it in this way much.


The snap focus is my favourite thing about this lens. I think Olympus needs to include this feature in all of its lens designs from this day forward. For street photography this makes it a joy to use, and zone focusing with this lens and the Pen is that much easier to do.
CFBSr

Registered: September 2011
Posts: 1
Olympus 12mm f/2 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by CFBSr
Review Date: 9/6/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $799.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Manual focus easy with stops at both ends
Cons: Have to buy expensive shade

Light and comfortable, the 12mm Zuiko is a dream. Feels even better than old fashioned lenses. Sharp from lowest to highest aperture and smooth operation. Very high recommend.
aaxx

Registered: August 2011
Posts: 1
Olympus 12mm f/2 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by aaxx
Review Date: 8/11/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Best image
Best detail
Execellent design


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.