SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 82617 10/5/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $260.75
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.80
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.20
nikon40f28micro.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Tele Macro Prime DX APS-C AF-S Tested


sjkip

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 9
Nikon 40mm f/2.8G DX AF-S Micro Nikkor review by sjkip
Review Date: 10/5/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $276.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, lightweight, inexpesive and astonishingly sharp
Cons: Fairly light construction, which is as much a pro as a con.

I think this one is sharper on my DX cameras than even the 60mm micro. Also, with the shorter focal length, depth of field increases over the 60 for "in your face" closeups. Between this one and the 60 it's a hard choice. But for bang for buck value, in the DX format, I'd choose this one. And once again, if you look at the direction of impinging light, you can shoot very close to the subject without hiding it in the lens's shadow.
zanxion72

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 4
Nikon 40mm f/2.8G DX AF-S Micro Nikkor review by zanxion72
Review Date: 7/13/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great sharpness even from wide open, virtually unlimited range of focus.
Cons: It gets really close for 1:1 macro, but that's o.k.

First, the 50mm 1.8 D had replaced my 18-105 on my Nikon D90. I was very pleased with it, being fast, sharp, and providing me with better image quality than my 18-105. Then I had tried the 35mm G and this. I was amazed with both of them. The 35mm was a wide enough lens, but for head portraits you had the weird effect of an almost 50mm lens with the distortions of a 35mm lens.
Then I came to the 40mm. It is great! Very sharp, silent, produces contrasty photos with lots of detail, and I can get close to my subject closer than any other lens I have.
All this at a price nobody could resist.


An excellent lens!
Chris2500dk

Registered: April 2012
Posts: 1
Nikon 40mm f/2.8G DX AF-S Micro Nikkor review by Chris2500dk
Review Date: 4/9/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $320.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, distortion free
Cons: Focus speed isn't fantastic, hunts in low light

Very hard to say anything negative about the optical quality of the lens. It's excellent, sharp even at f2.8, bokeh is good too. No field curvature, no distortion to speak of. A bit of vignetting at f2.8, but nothing major.


It does tend to hunt a bit for focus on my D5100 in low light, but in normal light it's fine.


As a macro lens it's a bit limited by the working distance, you need to get really close for full magnification, but when viewed as a general prime lens with the added bonus of being able to get really close it's great.


Construction quality is about as expected, it's a plastic lens with a metal mount. It feels no worse than the Nikkor 35 f1.8, and quite a bit better than the kit 18-55.


I've had the Nikkor 35 f1.8 before and I much prefer this lens, giving up 1 1/3 stop (where the 35 f1.8 isn't super sharp anyway) for close focusing is a good tradeoff for my use.
Vladi Stoimenov

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 2
Nikon 40mm f/2.8G DX AF-S Micro Nikkor review by Vladi Stoimenov
Review Date: 9/30/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, nice bokeh, very close-up
Cons:

All around + macro + close-up, nice bokeh
beaum911

Registered: September 2011
Posts: 1
Nikon 40mm f/2.8G DX AF-S Micro Nikkor review by beaum911
Review Date: 9/28/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $267.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp ++, incredible for the price
Cons: slow focus

Perfect for travelling, light, very good copying slides,
sharp.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.