Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera Reviews

Reviews Views Date of last review
5 59276 11/7/2015
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $158.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Overall Rating

Keywords: Nikon Wide Prime CX Nikon-1 lens tested

Unexplored Ruins

Registered: November 2015
Posts: 2
Nikon 1 10mm f/2.8 Nikkor review by Unexplored Ruins
Review Date: 11/7/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $110.00| Rating: 6 

Pros: Size, weight distribution, durability
Cons: cost, image quality, mechanical noise, no VR

Pros: size and durability that comes naturally by giving up zoom. Good weight balance. The camera actually sits straight on the bottom. The kit lens is too nose heavy and the camera tips forward and rests on the lens barrel. Resists dust and mild water exposures much better than kit zoom. The kit zoom is really delicate and easily jams up from dust and mild rain exposures.

Image quality. The aperture advantage over the 10-30mm that comes with the camera is only 2/3EV. Doesn't matter much to me. You will give up optical image stabilizer which is good for about 3 whole stops.

It's quite prone to flare when there's a bright light source like a light bulb just outside the field of view and more susceptible to ghosting than stock lens.

I noticed some purple fringing one day that i didn't used to get. So I compared it side by side with the 10-30 that came with the camera. A flashlight was used on the side to produce a glare. It's much more susceptible to flaring and ghosting than the kit lens and gives me lower image quality in the real world. I suppose I should give a hood a try but you really need to use the expensive proprietary hood to not lose the size advantage.

AF mechanism is louder than the kit lens and I can clearly hear it in the audio track on videos.

This lens:

10-30mm that came with the camera set on 10mm:

The price tag is too high for just duplicating what the kit lens can do with a huge compromise. You give up the zoom, VR and real life image quality. If you primarily shoot wide angle and you need the size and durability advantages, this is a must have. It's pointless if you don't.

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 23
Nikon 1 10mm f/2.8 Nikkor review by Tord
Review Date: 4/25/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Small, sharp and flare-resistant
Cons: Could be faster

This is a lens easy to forget, as it is so small, and discreet. My favourite, beside the 70-300CX!

To make mine even more versatile, I've added a wide adapter, turning my 10 to an 8/2.0!

I used a Panasonic DMW-GWC1 0.79X wide adaptor (bare, without the supplied mounts, using a 49-52 step ring to balance it, and then simply taped together), to convert it to a 8/2.0 lens, even better than the original!

The resulting lens is superb, with excellent DOF, extremely rugged, and easy to use!

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 5
Nikon 1 10mm f/2.8 Nikkor review by hekob
Review Date: 1/30/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $175.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: tiny,sharp,weightless
Cons: needs smallish factory supplied hood

The only Nikon 1 lens to make the camera body truly stealthy and pocketable. Tack sharp at F/4-F/8. This wide angle pancake is the way to go for street photography, or any setting where the smallest form factor and lack of fiddling with a zoom will be to the photographer's advantage.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 39
Nikon 1 10mm f/2.8 Nikkor review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 1/3/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

Pros: Small, light, fast and silent autofocus, build quality
Cons: CA, soft corners

The build quality of this little lens is very good. The lens barrel and bayonet are made of metal. There are no external moving parts and although the lens is very small, it has a nice weight. It feels and looks clean and sturdy.

The ribbed ring provides good grip while attaching or removing the lens and when you are holding the camera. The chrome rib on the lens barrel is a useful help in attaching or removing the lens. I really like the design of this lens.

Autofocus is fast, accurate and silent. In good light it's lightning quick but even in low light the lens locks on reasonably quick. The equivalent focal length of 27mm allows hand held shooting at low shutter speeds.

Center sharpness and contrast are very good at f/2.8. At f/3.5 sharpness and contrast get a little better, but you really have to be pixel peeping. The corners are a little soft, but usable I think.

Unfortunately there's some clearly visible CA and barrel distortion. Some of it can be removed in post processing. Overall the image quality is very decent for a small lens like this.

If you like the Nikon 1 system, I think this lens is a vey nice addition. Together with the 18.5mm f/1.8 it forms an interesting set of primes.

Registered: November 2012
Posts: 1
Nikon 1 10mm f/2.8 Nikkor review by NWjon
Review Date: 11/20/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $99.00| Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp at f2.8, excellent micro-contrast and color transmission.
Cons: Not f/1.8

The modest price of Nikkor 10mm f2.8 belies it's excellent optical qualities that noticeably exceed those of the 10-30mm f/3.5-5.6 in all aspects. Sharpness across the frame is very good and distortion is nicely controlled. Micro-contrast is excellent where the 10-30mm is lacking.
If you don't have the 10mm f2,8 lens for your Nikon 1 camera, your missing out on the larger aperture that allows PDAF focusing in dim light, (3 EV), and the better image quality it affords over the 10-30mm lens.


This document copyright © 2009-2015,, all rights reserved.