SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 89626 9/19/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $171.20
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.17
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
9.33
sigma30f28dn.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Sony E-Mount Micro-Four-Thirds Standard Prime DN tested forsonye formft lens


Perry Rhodan

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 20
Sigma 30mm f/2.8 EX DN review by Perry Rhodan
Review Date: 9/19/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $169.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very cheap, very nice IQ and built.
Cons: No sony badge ;)

Must buy for NEX. Time sony and sigma did their thing together Wink
Beachrider

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 21
Sigma 30mm f/2.8 EX DN review by Beachrider
Review Date: 1/29/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nearly a pancake. Small, sharp, contrasty and light. Now it is inexpensive, too.
Cons: No MF button or depth scale.

I like this as a 'normal' lens. It is so good and so inexpensive that I leave it on my NEX when young relatives want to use the camera, too. I got it on a two-for-$200 deal because Sigma has 'replaced' it with a metal-side lens.
dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 51
Sigma 30mm f/2.8 EX DN review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/9/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $189.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, tone, metal mount, nice pouch included
Cons: slow AF, f/2.8

at its first launch.. I underestimated this lens.. I thought this lens wouldn't be much used since it's limited by the "slow" f/2.8
I've got this lens for a bargain, $189 including an UV filter (multicoated).. I just thought nothing can go wrong for the price.. and I was quite astonished!!


First thing that'll blow you is the sharpness.. it's nothing but sharp images wide open and even sharper if you stopped down a bit (f/4 - f/5.6 has amazing sharpness). On My NEX, IQ simply stands out. I don't shoot walls or test pages, I shoot people mostly and the results are gorgeous. Set the color to "portrait" (in my NEX), and voila.. I never switch it back to another setting


Another good thing from Sigma is the lens also comes with a nice pouch (yes, it is nice indeed). That's something you won't expect from a lens at this price. Build quality is also on the positive side. It's mostly plastic, with a metal mount, but it feels like a good quality plastics rather than a toy. It feels solid in your hand and weighs just right for my NEX, makes it a perfect couple (at least for me).


Now, the downside is.. it focuses slower than your Sony lenses. Works ok if you don't shoot actions/sports. I also wish it has a f/2 but hey for the price, I may be wishing too much.


I'm happy with this tiny beauty. The lens now glued to my NEX body most of the time. The focal range (45mm equiv) is just right for almost everything I need. It replaces my Samyang 35/1.4 (manual focus). It's sharp, small & light.. all that I need in photography Smile
Photografer

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 5
Sigma 30mm f/2.8 EX DN review by Photografer
Review Date: 10/4/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $199.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp
Cons: 2.8

Super sharp
iffo

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 7
Sigma 30mm f/2.8 EX DN review by iffo
Review Date: 5/29/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: High resolution in the center Solidly built and beautifully finished Free pouch Low priced
Cons: No built-in image stabilization Reasonable performance in terms of distortion and chromatic aberration Resolution in the corners is less than in the center

I agree with Andrew. The Sigma 30 mm EX DN is a lens that is comfortable in the hand, finished solidly and which focuses quickly and quietly. For a micro-43 lens, the Sigma 30 mm EX DN is not very compact, but that is precisely an advantage for those who wish to focus manually. The resolution of this lens is very high
dennishh

Registered: April 2012
Posts: 2
Sigma 30mm f/2.8 EX DN review by dennishh
Review Date: 4/2/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $199.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, Light, inexpensive and very sharp
Cons: No lens shade

Overall sharpness of this lens was a completely welcome surprise, even at f2.8. At f5.6 the Sigma is phenomenal. Because of it's size I have a tendency to leave this lens on my NEX 7 more than any other lens. I would recommend to any serious photographer.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.