SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 66021 3/24/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
80% of reviewers $174.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.40
spacerspacer
7.80
spacerspacer
7.80
sigma19f28dn.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Sony E-Mount Micro-Four-Thirds Wide Prime DN tested


CyeJoeBob

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 2
Sigma 19mm f/2.8 EX DN review by CyeJoeBob
Review Date: 3/24/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good price, sharp, f/2,8, small and light, good build quality, lenshood an bag included
Cons: good, but not very good image quality for a prime lens

The Sigma 19mm is not so much better as my 12-50mm on the OM-D, but its smaller and better for low light situations.
dv

Registered: January 2013
Posts: 1
Sigma 19mm f/2.8 EX DN review by dv
Review Date: 1/31/2013 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $199.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: good price, good quality pictures
Cons: slow to autofocus, rattly contruction, use with third-party cameras, Sigma warranty

I purchased this lens to use with the Sony NEX5-N about 7 months ago. The lens has been working nicely and to our satisfaction for a lens of this price range. But a few weeks ago the camera started to not recognize the lens (except intermittently), even after cleaning the contacts on camera and lens with alcohol. (We have had no accidents, drops, bangs, extreme climate conditions...) We tested the camera with Sony lenses (without problems) and then took the Sigma lens to the authorized Sigma dealer/repair center in Chile who determined that the lens has a firmware problem and needs a firmware update.


This is where we discovered that our 1-year worldwide warranty for the lens is useless. We have two options:


(1) Have the lens firmware update made under warranty - which requires that the lens be sent out of the country - at our expense -- for the equivalent of over $300 -- more than the price of a new lens!


(2) Have the firmware update made in Chile, but at our expense.


In conclusion:


There may be compatibility issues with third party cameras, such as the Sony NEX-5N. Or simply, unreliable construction / firmware. We have not used the camera/lens under any kind of condition where you might expect to cause problems.


The Sigma worldwide warranty is completely inadequate in parts of the world.


I do not recommend purchase of this lens until the above issues are resolved.
Beachrider

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 21
Sigma 19mm f/2.8 EX DN review by Beachrider
Review Date: 1/29/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small and light, easy to add to camera bag. Sharp and contrasty. Inexpensive, now.
Cons: Not really a pancake, no MF button or depth scales.

Now that the metal-body version is out, this lens has gotten much less expensive. I got it on a two-for-$200 deal.
bob j

Registered: December 2011
Posts: 1
Sigma 19mm f/2.8 EX DN review by bob j
Review Date: 6/1/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $223.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small, silent, moderately fast, sharp, nice hood
Cons: Slightly rattly when camera is turned off

A nice discrete little standard lens for the NEX 7 - would be nice if they broadened out the range to something a bit wider as well.
iffo

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 7
Sigma 19mm f/2.8 EX DN review by iffo
Review Date: 5/29/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: High resolution in the center Solidly built and beautifully finished Free pouch and lens hood low price
Cons: No built-in image stabilization Reasonable performance in terms of distortion and chromatic aberration Resolution in the corners is less than in the center

The Sigma 19 mm EX DN is a lens that is comfortable in the hand, solidly finished and that focuses quickly and quietly. This lens has remarkably little trouble with ghosting, even if you do not use the supplied lens hood. For a micro-43 lens, the Sigma 19 mm EX DN is not very compact, but this is precisely an advantage for those who wish to focus manually.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.