Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera Reviews

Reviews Views Date of last review
8 107710 7/30/2015
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $559.14
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Overall Rating

Keywords: Fujinon Mid Prime XF APS-C X-mount tested

Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 39
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 7/30/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $475.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness, contrast, build quality, bokeh, character

This is a beautiful, affordable and well-constructed piece of optical goodness in a sturdy and relatively compact shell. Although it's not tack sharp at f/1.4 (does such a lens even exist), sharpness wide open is still very impressive. There is a generous sweet spot that's totally useable. It's great fun shooting this lens wide open, because the results are very good.

Towards the edges, the image gets a little softer. It's best not to place your subject there if you need it to be sharp. Contrast wide open is slightly lower too, but with a little work in post processing it can be enhanced.

The bokeh looks great. Nice, soft, creamy, juicy etc. It has its own character. When you stop down a little the image gets even sharper with better contrast. There is some vignetting wide open, but it's not very much and it can be corrected in post processing. I haven't found any significant CA.

You probably won't find a lens in this price range that's better optically than this Fuji 35mm.

The build quality is great. The exterior, lens mount, and filter ring are made of metal and the lens has a nice look and feel. Focussing (on my X-E2) is quick and very accurate. The focus motor produces some noise, but I don't find it problematic. The aperture makes some noise too, but with firmware updates the 'clicking' sound was greatly reduced. Again, not a problem. I rarely use manual focus. The focus ring works, but I think it's faster and more accurate to pre focus using the AFL/AEL button.

The Fuji 35mm f/1.4 comes with a black metal lens hood. I leave it in its box, because I like my camera stuff to be as compact as possible. Also, I don't think this lens flares easily.

I think this lens is a 'classic' for the relatively young Fuji X system for many reasons. If you like the 50mm equivalent field of view, you can't go wrong with this lens. Outstanding image quality straight from the widest aperture, great character and the large maximum aperture enables you to make sharp photos in low light.

Registered: June 2013
Posts: 8
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by Gromit
Review Date: 3/31/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Cannot think of anything

I'll say it here and now - this is one of the best pieces of glass I've owned. It's small, light, beautifully built, has stunning image quality - even wide open it's super-sharp with the smallest amount of softening at the edges. A perfect 'people' lens - I just bung it on 1.4 and leave it there 90% of the time. No excuses such as 'ooh I need to stop it down to sharpen it up' needed with this lens. Very highly recommended.

Registered: May 2013
Posts: 2
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by sahliko
Review Date: 5/20/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: f1.4 isvery very sharp , perfect image quality , great bokeh , light
Cons: no

There are other lenses, the lens is not that something, I could not find it Smile. excellent excellent excellent ...

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 12
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by PeteD
Review Date: 12/7/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 9 

Pros: Excellent Image Quality
Cons: Auto-focus

Image quality is excellent, photos are really sharp and I guess this alone makes it a must buy.

I have no problems with the photos it produces, my only issue is are with the auto-focus which can occasionally misfire and is a little slow in 2012!! It kind of remnids me of the Pan Leica 45 f2.8 for m4/3 in that respect.

And the lens hood is weird!

If you want a 50mm equivalent then this is recommended.

Registered: April 2010
Posts: 2
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by hballben
Review Date: 10/21/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $559.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Beautiful construction, and glass
Cons: None

Super sharp!
I am using the lens with my Fujifilm XPro 1. The new firmwear (2.0) has been installed and really helped speed up the focus.
Beautiful workmanship on this lens! Comes with lens hood.
You will not be disappointed.

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 3
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by CyranoB
Review Date: 6/17/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $630.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Very good IQ, nice bokeh, perfectly usable from f/1.4
Cons: Uncomfortable manual focus

The perfect companion for X-Pro1.

I used to shoot Canon 7D & 30/1.4 then 5DMkII & 50/1.4. The Fuji has a much nice bokeh, especially than Canon 50/1.4. Overall lens is better than all, both in build quality and IQ.

Really nice to shoot f/1.4-2.8

The construction is good, with nice aperture ring.

Manual focus is not practical at all.


Registered: February 2006
Posts: 7
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by Powerdoc
Review Date: 6/8/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Very good IQ : one of the best for a 35 1;4 mm on an APS camera.
Cons: nothing

This is a must have lens, on the X pro 1. It's very sharp wide open, and good from center to corners at F2,8 and smaller aperture. The bokey is very nice.
The AF is rather fast (for the X pro 1 camera).
Highly recommended.

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 31
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by andre_
Review Date: 5/31/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

Pros: bokeh, definition since f1.4, virtually no fringing
Cons: unconfortable in manual focus, no IF

It's the only lens I have for my X-Pro1 (the 18mm will come in few months).

I'm really surprised how good the results are.
the out of focus (bokeh) is marvellous, at the same level as the old fast Nikkor lenses, or Leica Summicron.

This 35mm invites to shoot in the range f1.4-f2.8, to take the most of the bokeh.

The construction is good, with a really nice aperture ring.
Unfortunately this lens is not IF, and I fear some dust can enter the barrell between the lenses.

If you try to focus manually, this lens needs to be rotated a lot, and it feels a little bit unconfortable.

The hood has an unusual shape, but is very effective protecting from the lights and protecting the fornt lens.

Highly reccomended to anybody who want the X-Pro1.


This document copyright © 2009-2015,, all rights reserved.