SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 75189 3/31/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $573.17
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.71
fuji35f14r.jpg


Keywords: Fujinon Mid Prime XF APS-C X-mount tested


Gromit

Registered: June 2013
Posts: 8
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by Gromit
Review Date: 3/31/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Cannot think of anything

I'll say it here and now - this is one of the best pieces of glass I've owned. It's small, light, beautifully built, has stunning image quality - even wide open it's super-sharp with the smallest amount of softening at the edges. A perfect 'people' lens - I just bung it on 1.4 and leave it there 90% of the time. No excuses such as 'ooh I need to stop it down to sharpen it up' needed with this lens. Very highly recommended.
sahliko

Registered: May 2013
Posts: 2
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by sahliko
Review Date: 5/20/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: f1.4 isvery very sharp , perfect image quality , great bokeh , light
Cons: no

There are other lenses, the lens is not that something, I could not find it Smile. excellent excellent excellent ...
PeteD

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 12
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by PeteD
Review Date: 12/7/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent Image Quality
Cons: Auto-focus

Image quality is excellent, photos are really sharp and I guess this alone makes it a must buy.


I have no problems with the photos it produces, my only issue is are with the auto-focus which can occasionally misfire and is a little slow in 2012!! It kind of remnids me of the Pan Leica 45 f2.8 for m4/3 in that respect.


And the lens hood is weird!


If you want a 50mm equivalent then this is recommended.
hballben

Registered: April 2010
Posts: 2
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by hballben
Review Date: 10/21/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $559.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautiful construction, and glass
Cons: None

Super sharp!
I am using the lens with my Fujifilm XPro 1. The new firmwear (2.0) has been installed and really helped speed up the focus.
Beautiful workmanship on this lens! Comes with lens hood.
You will not be disappointed.
CyranoB

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 3
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by CyranoB
Review Date: 6/17/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $630.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good IQ, nice bokeh, perfectly usable from f/1.4
Cons: Uncomfortable manual focus

The perfect companion for X-Pro1.


I used to shoot Canon 7D & 30/1.4 then 5DMkII & 50/1.4. The Fuji has a much nice bokeh, especially than Canon 50/1.4. Overall lens is better than all, both in build quality and IQ.


Really nice to shoot f/1.4-2.8


The construction is good, with nice aperture ring.


Manual focus is not practical at all.


Samples:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/eddie_pick/7327128960
http://www.flickr.com/photos/eddie_pick/7327122564
http://www.flickr.com/photos/eddie_pick/7327135044
http://www.flickr.com/photos/eddie_pick/7327130540
http://www.flickr.com/photos/eddie_pick/7327125488
Powerdoc

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 7
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by Powerdoc
Review Date: 6/8/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good IQ : one of the best for a 35 1;4 mm on an APS camera.
Cons: nothing

This is a must have lens, on the X pro 1. It's very sharp wide open, and good from center to corners at F2,8 and smaller aperture. The bokey is very nice.
The AF is rather fast (for the X pro 1 camera).
Highly recommended.
andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 29
Fujinon XF 35mm f/1.4 R review by andre_
Review Date: 5/31/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: bokeh, definition since f1.4, virtually no fringing
Cons: unconfortable in manual focus, no IF

It's the only lens I have for my X-Pro1 (the 18mm will come in few months).


I'm really surprised how good the results are.
the out of focus (bokeh) is marvellous, at the same level as the old fast Nikkor lenses, or Leica Summicron.


This 35mm invites to shoot in the range f1.4-f2.8, to take the most of the bokeh.


The construction is good, with a really nice aperture ring.
Unfortunately this lens is not IF, and I fear some dust can enter the barrell between the lenses.


If you try to focus manually, this lens needs to be rotated a lot, and it feels a little bit unconfortable.


The hood has an unusual shape, but is very effective protecting from the lights and protecting the fornt lens.


Highly reccomended to anybody who want the X-Pro1.
a_


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.