SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 70902 8/22/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,174.75
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.60
spacerspacer
8.60
spacerspacer
8.60
tamron24-70f28vc.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Sony Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm Di VC Stabilized USD SP


joby

Registered: December 2013
Posts: 2
Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP (Model A007) review by joby
Review Date: 8/22/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: acurate focus; image stabilisation; f2.8 ; ideal zoomrange for walk and shoot
Cons: weight

no real minuspoints
works as you expects
the VC in this zoomrangeis rather exceptional
low light no problem, and with high iso even better
now the perfect camera with great dynamic range to find
jake302

Registered: September 2013
Posts: 1
Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP (Model A007) review by jake302
Review Date: 9/9/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,299.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very high light gathering capability due to image stabilization
Cons: auto focus not as fast as canon, weighs more than it looks

Been using this lens with Canon 5D Mark 3 for about 6 months now. I have several other Canon stabilized L series zooms, but this lens is the one that comes with me the most when the shooting situations are the most unpredictable. It is a fast lens with the F2.8 spec, but with the image stabilization and F2.8 aperture, I am getting tack sharp pictures over 95% of the time with 1/10 sec exposure in candle light situations. I am amazed at the light gathering capability this combination offers. I can take pictures in street light conditions with ISO 100 and get amazing results. The demand is expected to be high for a long time and price is likely to be list price. Tamron has a ground breaking product and a solid cash cow on its hands. I am concerned of the price erosion of the Canon lenses I own now if Tamron continues on this path. Maybe a F1.8 lens with image stabilization is next ?
FrankPhillips

Registered: November 2012
Posts: 3
Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP (Model A007) review by FrankPhillips
Review Date: 8/14/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP, Stabilized, Superior Value
Cons: none

I can't believe that SLRGear has not yet tested this amazing lens. I bought one for my D600 after seeing the test results at DxOMark, where this lens scored exactly the same as Nikon's own 24-70/2.8 (which is NOT stabilized, by the way). It matches the Nikon glass in every way, AND it is stabilized, AND it costs many hundreds less. It's fast, quiet, and SHARP! I don't know why anyone would pay more for the Nikon lens when you can have equal optical quality and stabilization for a lower cost.


Here's a buying tip: Tamron is currently running a $100 rebate on this lens (at the time of this review). If you buy from Rakuten (formerly known as Buy.com) during one of their "cash back" sales, you could save an additional $130 to $250 (depending on the sale). My net cost on this lens was only $970 doing it this way.
DaveJDSP

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP (Model A007) review by DaveJDSP
Review Date: 1/24/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Simply Better than the Nikon 24-70 f2.8 and much less expensive. Better center sharpness, better corner sharpness, better resistance to flare, better micro-contrast, better color, and of course it has VC as a bonus!
Cons: Image quality unacceptable in corners, needs to be better. I need better image quality, even if I have to pay more to get it. Bokeh can be objectionable in some situations.

I saw this lens reviewed and advertised and it seems to be the only alternative to the Nikon 24-70 f 2.8. I really want/need VC (VR), but I doubted that the Tamron optical quality would be acceptable. Up till now, I have only bought Canon or Nikon lenses (not including my view camera lenses).


I ordered 2 copies of the Nikon 24-70 f2.8 and also 2 copies of the new Tamron 24-70 f2.8 VC, all from B&H (they are always great).
I tested all 4 lenses scientifically and rigorously. Studio shooting with flash, architectural, landcapes @ infinity. One of the Tamrons was the clear winner. The other copy of the Tamron and both copies of the Nikon were unacceptable for my work. None of the lenses give truly sharp corners at any aperture or focal length. But the one Tamron was close enough to get by (I hate just "getting by") (f11 is the only aperture that gives tolerable results at all focal lengths on the best Tamron).


Anyway, the better of the two Tamrons clearly beat out both copies of the Nikon. Better center sharpness, better corner sharpness, better resistance to flare, better micro-contrast, better color, and of course it has VC as a bonus! The Nikon does focus a little faster, especially in low light, but in my studio people focus tests, I got more hits with the Tamron than with the Nikon. And of course the Tamron is about $1300 and the Nikon closer to $2000.
I would be GLAD to pay $2000, or even more, for an EXCELLENT lens. Nikon needs FAR better quality control - they should be ashamed.


Get the Tamron. It is not perfect, but is the best option available.
But whatever lens(es) you get, be sure to order at least 2-3 copies and test rigorously (if you care at all about image quality), as there can be huge variation from one copy to the next.
dwarf

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 1
Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP (Model A007) review by dwarf
Review Date: 5/31/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: precise focus. well built. vibration compensation. sharp. excellent bokeh
Cons: non I am aware of.

I had a chance to test this lens on my 5d m2. I compared it with the canon 24-70 ver 2.
Autofocus: Canon is twice as fast(probably because there was more light in the Canon's stand) but it's not precise. The Tamron nails the focus every time.
Build quality: They both feel well built, although i suspect he Canon should be better built. I like the feeling of the Tamron better.
Bokeh: Amazing! I don't know why some people complain about it. This one had no problems at all. The Canon bokeh was more like Gaussian blur...
VC: The Tamron is the only 24-70mm with VC.
Zoom and focus rings: Soft and accurate. Both lenses have full time AF overdrive.
Optics: Very sharp. The Canon is 1/3 sharper and has better resolving power. I wouldn't use these as portrait lenses. They are TOO sharp(with Canon having the lead). Not recommended for people with skin other than perfect.
Price: 1200$ VS 2400$+ Absolute bargain!
I have this lens on pre-order. Arriving in 1 week. I will make a better review then.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.