Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera Reviews

Reviews Views Date of last review
4 120480 11/19/2015
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,916.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Overall Rating

Keywords: Canon EF Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm L II USM tested


Registered: November 2015
Posts: 1
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM review by RonHorton
Review Date: 11/19/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,350.00| Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharpness stunning, weight, balance, size, contrast.
Cons: Close focus distance. Build not as solid as Mk 1. Cost.

I have had a Mk1 version of this lens for over 10 years and it was used regularly at weddings but not elsewhere due to it's weight.
The Mk 2 version is now on the camera (5D III) all of the time and my 24-105L has been sold as it will not get used.
The Mk2 is far better balanced compared to the Mk 1 - it is not just that it weighs less, the balance is great.
The sharpness is simply stunning and you could not ask for more. Colour / contrast from the lens are a notch up on the Mk1 as well - and that was a great lens.
I am not in love with the cost - £1350 was a lot and that is less than many sellers in the UK offer it for.
I love the lens but notice at close focus it is not as good as the Mk 1 - it won't focus as close and at f2.8 is not as sharp. In all other ways though this lens is far superior.
The lens hood comes off easily and is much smaller than the Mk1. Canon copies of the lens hood are silly money but cheap copies can be had on ebay that are just as effective for only £10.
I had one copy of the Mk2 that was faulty .... so maybe build quality is variable but the 2nd copy was fine. FWIW the first one would not focus sharply at f5.6 let alone f2.8 !
I went away with the other half and we fought over use if this lens ... neither of us wanted the 24-105 we had taken as well !!
My tiny (and they are really) reservations apart ... Buy it, you won't regret it ! Possibly the best lens short of our 70-200 f2.8 IS we have bought over the last 15 years.

---------------- | |

Registered: December 2013
Posts: 2
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM review by joby
Review Date: 1/26/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 


Why not testing the recent Tamron 24-70 mm- alternatif with VC and constant F/2.8 ?

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 31
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM review by MartinM
Review Date: 12/3/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,200.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Tack sharp, design, AF speed, IQ wide open
Cons: prica tag

I had now several standard zooms on Canon. All of them left much to deserve wide open.

When comparing with the Zuiko 14-35 and the Sony Zeiss ZA 24-70, no Canon standard lens was close to them.

Today I can positively remark, this Canon 24-70 made my day. It is sharp wide open and the focus is perfectly fast

The new design with the smaller hood is outstanding. The new designed zoom and focusing rings are perfect to handle even with gloves.

The missing IS might be the only drawback. But keeping in mind the ISO performance of my 5D III, the IS is no issue. For filming yes, to have IS is better.

The new 24-70L IS that will show up shortly, might be a very good alternative if you don't need f/2.8

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 13
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM review by kinematic
Review Date: 9/15/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,200.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: Better vignette control, weather proof build, lens hood locks, superb image
Cons: 82mm filter thread

Simply the best zoom lens Canon has made.

Excellent improvements made over the previous generation and superb image quality. I never thought I would say this about a zoom, but best lens that Canon has made to date.

Pros are certainly in better vignette control, the weather proof build, locking lens hood, and image quality. Some might think a poly carbonate build is not better than metal. After dropping my 100L of the same kind of build 3 times, I can tell you this is better than metal.

Another concern some might make is the lack of IS. I have no issues that this doesn't have IS and kind of glad they didn't as it would have added weight to this lens which they tried hard to lighten up.

Here's where I share my images of from lens:

My more complete review of this lens:


This document copyright © 2009-2015,, all rights reserved.