SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
114 422917 6/12/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
92% of reviewers $90.44
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
5.21
spacerspacer
8.37
spacerspacer
7.87
1canon50f18.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Mid Prime 35mm Tested


rupa13

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by rupa13
Review Date: 12/31/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $70.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: very small, very cheap.
Cons: Not sharp. Poor building quality. Not suitable as a standard lens for digital SLR with 1,6 cropping factor.

I bought this lens second hand. I did not find it very sharp, but I must admit I could have found a bad sample. The lens has a poor building quality, but you cannot pretend much for the price it costs. The main problem is that it becomes a 80 mm effective focal on my EOS 20D, quite useless to become the standard lens.
SteveR12682

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by SteveR12682
Review Date: 12/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Build quality

For $80, it's hard not to buy this lens. The build quality is not inspiring, but it is suprisingly sharp, even wide open.
logogogue

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by logogogue
Review Date: 12/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: CHEAP!!! You get much more than you pay for.
Cons: does it really matter? see above.

I am not going to bother elaborating anymore as everyone preceding me says it well enough. Just get the lens already.
philhirn

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by philhirn
Review Date: 12/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $110.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: cheap sharp fast
Cons: build, manual focus

I love this lens, focus is not as noisy as you might fear, my sample starts sharp right at 1.8
mikeyL

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by mikeyL
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Price, image quality, small size
Cons: focus can be 'iffy', and also is loud and slow, seems a bit fragile

This is the lens everyone recommends to get when you buy a Canon DSLR (unless you are buying one of the pro bodies and have money to burn). Why? It is super inexpensive, but has very decent image quality, and is really the cheapest way to get something that will work in low light. After using it for a year, I agree with the consensus. The only caveat is (mentioned also by other users I am sure) that in low light conditions sometimes the lens has trouble focusing. This can usually be overcome, but sometimes that fleeting shot is alreay gone. The focus is also slow and loud compared to USM, but that is certainly to be expected in a lens in this price class. If money is no object, you might consider the 50 1.4, but otherwise, this lens is hard to beat at the price.
caries

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by caries
Review Date: 12/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $78.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Shapr, Cheap, Fast for the money you'll invest in it
Cons: Autofocus sucks, poor built quality

Wow! What a great lens for $80! It is one of the best secrets in the Canon's lens product line. Every one of us the canon followers should have it. It is fast, sharp, great portrait lens for D-SLR. Well, it is built like a Mcdonald's kids meal toy but for the price I shouldn't complain. Highly recommended!
amelo14

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by amelo14
Review Date: 12/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Bargain price, sharp image quality, bokeh possibilities, extremely light-weight.
Cons: Build, build, build (!); AF sometimes hunts in low-light.

I bought the 50 1.8 MKII because I wanted to learn about low-light lenses. It was continuously recommended for its price tag and the quality of its image. This lens does not disappoint in either category. Not only does it open possibilities to learn about DOF and the creation of rich Bokeh images, but also -----when stopped down to 5.6---- produces extremely sharp images from corner to corner. It is ideal for portraits as well as low-light situations, specially given that it compares favorably with much more expensive alternatives.


The only serious fault is the plastic build which makes you wonder whether it will survive even the shortest of falls. This is the reason I sold my MKII (plastic version) and was lucky enough to find a used MKI (metal mount) in mint condition which cost me a bit more, but guarantees years of creative fun. If you can get hold of a well-kept MKI (mine is actually 18 years old, but in amazing condition), then you should go for that one. If you can’t get hold of one, the MKII is still the greatest Canon value around. You will not regret it.
johnvanhulst

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by johnvanhulst
Review Date: 12/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $118.00| Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Don't know
Cons: Absolutely useless in low light situations

I bought the lens especially to be able to do low light AF shooting without a flash. What a disappointment... For this purpose the lens is useless, a waste of money, despite it's very low price. I think not even 1 photo out of several hundreds was focused well...


On a cloudy winter day (like it is now), at 1.00 PM, this is a little better. Maybe 1 out of 10... But even now, the lens is hunting for focus continuously, none of the red lights of one of the focus points indicating correct focus -EOS 350D- lightens up (at 1/500 sec and f/5.6!!!!), sometimes the complete focus range is hunted...


What shall I say? Don't know... Wasted money?
Maybe the lens is broken. Maybe. Is there anybody overhere who thinks this is such bad behaviour that it MUST be broken? But I've read some reviews in the meantime talking about the same problem (see below), although not as seriously as I've experienced. I should have read the reviews before...
photofanatic

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by photofanatic
Review Date: 12/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $114.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: cheap, sharp, light and small
Cons: none... you get what you pay for

Very sharp lens. Autofocusing not very accurate, especially in low light. Colour is decent. However, for $100 it is a very good lens!
dennisc

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by dennisc
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp pictures for a 'very affordable' lens
Cons: focusing ring is very loose - difficult to hold focus

Like nearly everyone else's report, this is a cheap lens...and it is very sharp.


Definitely recommended for users on a budget and looking for a lot of returns on investment.


Great lens for portaits but watch out for overexposure on your backgrounds when shooting in bright outdoors.


Another good use for this lens is to shoot still life, provided your subjects are not too small. Food shots and daily products do well with this lens.


So what are you waiting for? Pop down to your local camera store and pick one up today. You won't feel cheated with this one.
viatorum777

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by viatorum777
Review Date: 12/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $70.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cheap, good Image Quality (for price)
Cons: Build Quality (plastic mount and parts)

Having just jumped into the world of Digital SLR's I found the image quality of this lens to be great compared to my Canon S2 IS point & shoot. The Bokeh (background out of focus) is really nice and the first few candid shots I took with it blew me away. Such Bokeh was never even imaginable with the P&S.


With a 1.6 crop factor this focal range can prove to be a bit tight indoors. I have found it a good range inside for head and shoulder shots.


However, this lens is cheap in regard to build quality. The entire build is basically plastic including the mount. The focusing ring is rather loose on my copy and rattles a bit more than I would like. The AF to MF switch also takes a bit of persuasion to switch. Lastly, when in auto focus this lens tends to do a lot of hunting especially in darker conditions. I find myself often switching to manual focus not necessarily out of desire but necessity.


With that said, for $70 this lens remains a great deal. Personally, I will eventually upgrade to the 50 1.4, but this will do just fine holding me over for a while.
sviatoslav

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by sviatoslav
Review Date: 12/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $76.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Inexpensive! Sharp!
Cons: IQ not the greatest until f/4

How can you NOT buy this fast prime for a street price under $80? You definitely get more than your money's worth
kwk36

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by kwk36
Review Date: 12/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: price, decent image quality
Cons: not USM, not well made

The image quality is good and the price is great but the construction quality reflects the price. I sometimes have to give the focus ring a slight twist to get the gearing to engage when switching from manual to autofocus. I wish Canon would upgrade this lens with USM and a little better construction. I'd be willing to pay a little more for that. Still, there's no denying that this lens is a good value with good image quality.
tiberius

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by tiberius
Review Date: 12/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, cheap
Cons: Focus sometimes hunts

This lens is a so cheap and deliver sharp images. For this, it's a must in anyone's camera bag. It's also a very affordable fast lens so I use to carry it almost everywhere in case I need to shot without the flash. Great for portraits and absolutely sharp compared with the kit lens I got with my 350D. Bokeh is very nice. Excellent value and definetely recommended.
tvoj

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by tvoj
Review Date: 12/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $95.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Bright, lightweight, inexpensive, focuses pretty fast, allows you to be fearless
Cons: Noisy motor, cheap construction, not a natural focal length with current crop factors, doesn't perform all that well at wider apertures

This is a great all-around lens for everyday use. Because of the wide max aperture it's pretty versatile if you don't know the lighting situations you might encounter ahead of time. Because it's inexpensive you don't need to baby the thing too much.


Despite being the cheapest-quality lens I own, nothing bad has happened to it in the 5 or so years I've had it.
razorblack

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 7
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by razorblack
Review Date: 12/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $110.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cheap, perfectly sharp above F/4, tiny & light, well protected front element
Cons: soft at F/1.8-2.2, hard MF switch, focus accuracy unreliable

A good lens overall, one that pairs really well with a small camera like the XT series. I feel quite safe putting it on just to walk around. It's a good focal length for 'shy' street photography, and the way the front element is recessed so deeply lets you feel safe swinging it around in less than ideal conditions.


The manual focus switch is ungodlily stiff though... almost feel like i'm going to break something when having to use it.


The sharpness at and above above f/4 will surprise you - it is as good as it gets for an 8MP camera, all macro lenses included!
kirehe

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by kirehe
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $62.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: sharp, cheap, light
Cons: gotta move those feet

Sharp from f/4.0. Light. Great for portrait on 1.6 crop DSLRs.


Only problem: it's a prime and sees less use than convenient zooms.
markenoch

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by markenoch
Review Date: 12/3/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: High optical quality, cheap
Cons: Build is cheap but so is the price

I love this lens. It has everything going for it - well almost. Pair this lens with a Rebel XTI, shot raw processed with ACR and you have image quality matching what did cost 6000 USD a couple of years ago. Yes, I'm talking 1Ds with L-lens quality. It's image quality can't be faulted. Sharpness great, vignetting low, ca low and disortion low (lower than the 1.4 in fact). The build quality are it's only con. However at this price you can afford to buy, a new one if the old one breaks.
Muiderburght

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 13
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by Muiderburght
Review Date: 12/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $90.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: fun; sharp; cheap
Cons: noisy

A colleague of mine advised me this lens after I had to return my 17-55, to be in time for my newborn pictures. Just a lot of fun and very sharp pictures.
I don't really understand much of the negative comments below. What do you expect for less than 100 bucks? It just makes for a good exercise with a prime without the risk of losing anything.
AMB

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by AMB
Review Date: 12/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: aperture
Cons: broken on my camera

I bought this lens with my 350D. I really like to have a large aperture lens, for this price seemed to good to be true.
Picture wise, it is very nice to shoot portrait with this lens.


The bad construction quality of this lens is one thing this lens is famous for, what i didn't realise this could lead to real problems. Two weeks age the plastic fitting on the camera broke, and i wasn't able to remove the lens. I just could turn it half of normal. On the internet i found a few other with the same problem.


Luckily it broke just after i returned from a vacation, i will be very very careful using it again after it is returned from canon service.
clark666

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by clark666
Review Date: 11/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light weight, inexpensive, sharp images
Cons: not used very ofter

I use it in low-light situations and it works well but the images at high ISO can't really be said to be perfect, just good compared to other photos taken at high ISO
dimfinder

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by dimfinder
Review Date: 11/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $90.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharpness and contrast, price
Cons: Build quality, loose focusing ring, poor bokeh

A great bargain, capable of producing better images than all the consumer zooms.
It is let down by very poor build. The focusing ring is almost unusable, it has some play and no dampening at all. The inner barrel is wobly and the AF/MF switch is very stiff. It is totally plastic, including the lens mount.
But all this is forgotten when you see the results. At f1.8 it is slightly soft, but from f2.8 on it is very sharp all the way to the image borders.
You can't go wrong with this lens.
redgetanj

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by redgetanj
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $70.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: bang for the buck
Cons: build quality

This lens should be on anybody's camera bag. You can't ask for anything more from this lens given how cheap it is. Image quality and color rendition is better than most zooms available out there. A very good 1st lens.
jeffn

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by jeffn
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cheap & sharp
Cons: Cheap & lousy bokeh

How can you criticize an $80 lens?


Regardless of what you say, you got your money's worth! Wide open, this lens is sharp in the very center but the 5-blade aperture means unattractive bokeh. Stopped down it is very sharp corner-to-corner.


It's small and lightweight and a bargain.
henris

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by henris
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: cheap, lightweight
Cons: AF slow, sometimes inaccurate

This is good for a cheap lens. I couldn't use my 50 1.8 for many shots. I've owned it for three years and found that I could only take some close-up shots to my satisfaction.
johnkeats

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by johnkeats
Review Date: 11/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, light, fast
Cons: none

This has been a great lens for walking around and for low-light shots. It makes for a small, unobtrusive combo with a compact SLR.
tukaway

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by tukaway
Review Date: 11/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Weight, very inexpensive, sharp when stopped down
Cons: Soft (even on cropped body) until you get close to f4, slow focus tracking

Sure, this is a very inexpensive lens - so the cons really shouldn't weigh too heavily in the balance. Build is cheap, but no more so than Canon's 18-55 EF-S (as one example).


Focus is louder than USM motors, but still not loud, and certainly quieter than the motors in a number of Tamrons I've used. What is more noticeable for me is that the lens does struggle to keep up with moving subjects.


Image quality is very good once it's stopped down to f4 or beyond, otherwise your subject better be in the center of the frame for acceptable results.
Lawrence88

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by Lawrence88
Review Date: 11/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap, Sharp for the price
Cons: None for the price

This is my first prime lens, as everyone I know suggest that I get this lens with my DSLR to try out what a prime lens is all about. So far it hasn't disappoint me for its price. Since I have a 30D, I use it mainly for headshots and other portraits for my dogs mostly. Get one! You won't regret it... The 50mm f/1.4 is nicer for sure but it costs more than 4 times than this...
larsrc

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by larsrc
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $110.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light, bright, sharp
Cons: Poor build, poor focus, sticky manual focus switch, not distance scale

At the price, there's little reason to not have this lens, unless you can afford something like 50 f/1.4. It's perfect for portraits and low-light photography.


I tried a number of copies before buying one, and on *all* of them the AF/MF switch had a tendency to get stuck when switching from MF to AF, before getting to AF. It can easily be jostled all the way, but if you're in a hurry you might not get it right.


Its focus is not impressive on a 350D, at least at wide-open. Since I have mostly used it for low-light situations, I can say little about larger aperture and more light situations.
BillDavenport

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by BillDavenport
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $70.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very sharp, light and fast.
Cons: cheesy feel

At the price this lens is a must have. It's fast enough to use for available light and probably as sharp as any lens Canon makes. You just have to get over it's cheesy plastic feel and trust it to take sharp contrasty photos.
cjbowlsby

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by cjbowlsby
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $70.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: CHEAP, strong optical quality, light, bright, small
Cons: CHEAP (meaning build) plastic mount, no focus range markings

If you have an EOS you should have this lens.
There's no real excuse not to, unless you can already own the 50mm 1.4 or 1.2.


It's innexpensive, light, you can carry it anywhere, it's unotrusive.


it's the perfect focal length for portraits and close-ups with a 1.6x cropped sensor. and it's a perfectly addequate normal lens for a FF sensor.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: inexpensive, lightweight, sharp, wide aperture
Cons: cheap build quality, slow and (sometimes) innacurate AF, colors a little drab

For the amount of money you'd spend ot buy it, this is the best bargain of any lens in the universe.


Build quality is what you expect - cheap, but images don't reflect that. Just make sure you focus accurately.


For the price, don't bother to put a protective filter on this thing - it just degrades quality and you;re better off risking a scratch and just buying a new copy of the lens if tragedy does strike.
theoak

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by theoak
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Bang for the buck AMAZING, wide maximum aperture
Cons: Hunts quite a bit, very cheap construction, small manual focus ring

When evaluating the lens, repeat to yourself "It's under $100."


It can be soft, it can be slow to focus, build quality is a joke.


It's under $100.


On my 20D this is an 80mm effective, so it's more of a tele than a normal, but it focuses pretty close.


At 1.8, you can get a lot of light and very narrow DOF, but not as narrow as some of the L series (24, 35, 50, 85 which are all less than 1.8)


It's under $100.


Filter thread is an odd size for anyone who also owns L series or "more serious" lenses. Not a problem if you are using cokin system, but if you are buying individual filters, it's a pain.


It's under $100.


If you use manual focus regularly, you might have tough time using the ring on this lens - it's small, and all the way at the front of the lens. Tough to grab if you have big meaty hands (like me).


It's under $100.


Overall, recommended. You CANNOT get more lens for your money ANYWHERE.


It's under $100.
tkgross

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by tkgross
Review Date: 11/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $93.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Image Quality and Price
Cons: Construction

At less than $100, it's a must in any camera bag.
freetoken

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 9
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by freetoken
Review Date: 11/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: light weight, bright
Cons: Just not a very good lens

Let me be the contrarian here and NOT recommend this lens.


Save your $80 and apply your money to a better lens. Obviously I do not believe this is a "must have" lens.


For an APS-C camera the 35/2 is a much better deal, and only goes for about $160 more. On the crop body 50mm is no longer the ideal focal length for a "normal" view anyway. If you feel you still need a 50mm lens (say for portraiture), Canon makes two others that are not too expensive, and Sigma makes a very good 50mm macro that is inexpensive. It is true that these other lenses cost a bit more, but you get what you pay for. Apply your $80 to one of the above better lenses.


I bought this lens years ago when I first bought an EOS camera. Never used it much then. Now with digital it is all to easy to see its flaws. The image quality is nowhere near Canon's better prime lenses. On my copy the image does not become acceptable until f/5.6 and not decent until f/8.
beebeeboo

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by beebeeboo
Review Date: 11/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $89.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: the price is right!
Cons: down side it could be better

seems to good to me!
I would say it is a good buy!
alesl

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by alesl
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $75.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharpens, contrast, price
Cons: corner sharpness

If you own just slow zoom lenses then this is great addtion to achive shalow dept of field pictures
ddesimoni

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 12
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by ddesimoni
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: inexpensive, sharp, fast, light weight
Cons: noisy, plastic mount

Great lens, always enjoy using it even at 1.8


One of the few lenses that you could use an IR filter since there is no special element coating on the front of the lens (which normally creates hot spots on specially coated L lenses)
hobbit

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by hobbit
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Extremely,cheap and light, wide apperture, good image quality
Cons: Built is a bit cheap. Quality may suffer in some copies. AF sometimes hunting in low light

Hello everybody,


I like the lens. It is cheap and light, you can take it anywhere and use for porterts and low light.


I use it mostly for indoor portrets - for instance this one
http://www.treklens.com/workshops/193007/photo28515.htm


Usually I don't open it fully wide using appreture from 2.2 and up. The sharpness at this point is very good. I made a number of shots at 1.8 and they were not bad at all.
I use it on XT/350D body and thus the real focus range is around 80mm. Therefore the DOF is also decreased comparatively to full frame body.


The sound of autofocus does not bother me much, however I can't say that the AF speed is lightning fast. It is average. In the low light it may start hunting, and u need to switch to MF.


The build quality does not bother me much, I prefer functionality over build quality. Also it is definitely better than such of many point-and-shot cameras.


Would I recommend it? Yes - it is a bargain. Just check for quality of the lens - there were some rumors on quality assurance problems.
Darkone

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by Darkone
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lightweight / great image quality / great bang for the buck / not a big tragedy if you destroy it ;) (cheap) / must have lens
Cons: no metal lens mount / af sometimes hunts and a bit noisy

See above.


Must have lens.
llbeanie1

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by llbeanie1
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

this lens is an excellent lens and very sharp
drwho9437

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 9
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by drwho9437
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $70.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Inexpencive, fast, light
Cons: not fun

Ok its really inexpensive lens, and it performs ok, to great depending on where you have it stopped down too. But photography for me is for fun and this lens isn't much fun.


Lots of people try to get old MKI f1.8 and I would agree with that probably, but I'd probably get a 1.4 at this point if I really needed a 50mm on a crop body all the time.


This focal length is good for portraits, so if you want a ok prime for a lot of them ok you can't go wrong. That said I don't shoot many portraits and I think the 35 f2.0 is a much better lens, it does cost 3x as much, but really neither is expensive for what you get.


As a side note, the focusing mechanism on the 50 here is at least quiet.
CanonMan

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by CanonMan
Review Date: 11/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $72.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great performance for the money! Very lightweight
Cons: could focus faster and quieter, and have distance window. at least a metal lens mount!

This lens is no doubt looked down upon by some. I use it all the time. Stopped down some, it yields great images. Are there better lenses out there? Of course! More expensive, you betcha! This lens could be lost, destroyed, damaged, and the owner wont be out too much money. Focus is slow and lens does not have a great, 'quality' feel to it. I pop it on my EOS 3, and it works fairly well.


My gripe for this lens is the lack of a lens hood. Seems especially hard to find, and when you do, the cost is outrageous. Yes, a simple Ritz store brand hood will work, but not the same as an OEM. Not as big of a deal with this lens, but it is a pet peeve of mine in regards to canon lenses. I have not had any problems with flare or ghosting. A great 'street' lens. Thanks for reading!
nikoskard

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by nikoskard
Review Date: 11/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: LightWeight, Cheap good image quality
Cons: mid sharpness, plastic (ok for this price range), AF

Cheap, fast (f/1.8) lens and thats all. Not quite sharp until stop down and plastic construction.


Sure you can't wait more in this price range, but if you need fast lens with nice IQ, you better look else.


OK! for rest of us.
Leo Hursh

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by Leo Hursh
Review Date: 11/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $65.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: High performance to price ratio, lightweight
Cons: Plastic build, noisy focus motor, slow focus in low light

This lens is a must have in any photographers bag. The image quality is on par with the better lens from Canon. The price is on par with the cheapest 3rd party lens. Yes, the focus is noisy and hunts in low light (where it is often used), but the image quality and wide aperture are what you would expect from a lens costing several times more. If you need a low-light lens on the cheap, this is the lens for you.
pj1974

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by pj1974
Review Date: 10/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: great for low light, portraits, fun lens to use
Cons: a bit soft wide open, autofocus in dim light

It's true this lens' construction quality is not very good. The focus noise is the loudest of my lenses, and sometimes not consistent in very low light.


But apart from that I really like this lens. I enjoy using it for portrait photos, stopped down to f2.5 or f2.8 or more it's very very sharp. And I think it gives a good background bokeh.


At first my camera (350D) had a bit of a front focussing problem, which was especially noticeable on this lens wide open (or nearly wide). But I managed to fix that and now it focusses accurately in most light conditions.


Although it IS a bit soft wide open, if needed it can really be used at f1.8 - especially if you don't need huge prints or will use it at screen resolution. For example such uses include stopping action in low light (sports, camp-fire scenes, evenings, low light indoors, etc). Coupled with my cameras good ISO 1600 performance, it's very handy to produce good low light photos that way!


I've had fun using this lens for a number of "non-professional" portrait sessions (mainly of my wife) and I'm glad I got this lens. It's worth the money I paid for it, it was only around £70 (from the UK).


I'd recommend this lens, it's a good tool to learn photography with and get decent sharp, specific results!
JimsMaher

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by JimsMaher
Review Date: 7/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $90.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: CHEAP!!! very sharp for the price, wide aperture
Cons: 5 blade aperture, slow AF, plastic mount

On a budget this is worth the investment ... versus not having a wide aperture lens.


Works well on a digital for portraits.
snapper

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 6
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by snapper
Review Date: 11/18/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $70.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good sharp images,Cheap, Light, Small, Simple, Expendable
Cons: weak construction, sometimes misses the focus, hard to manual focus

A good lens to have with you when traveling ..has problem solving-speed! I usually take it with a tube and a 1.4x Tamron TC as a macro backup - and even when walking around with the 17-85 it can get you bugs etc... so light and small. I also enjoy the high performance to price ratio ...low-cost makes using it more fun. I wont get a 50 f1.4 - this is good enough (I use the sig30mm 1.4). makes a 50mm walk-around excerise fun because it is so light. I have to rate it HIGH because of VALUE!
shay

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 2
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by shay
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $60.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp image, f/1.8 appature, small, lightweight, very cheap
Cons: Plastic mount

Best EF lens from value for money prespective.
Very small, very light, very cheap and very sharp. Max appature of 1.8 is great for low light conditions.


A lense that I recomend for every Canon EOS owner.
ggriffith

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 4
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II review by ggriffith
Review Date: 10/19/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $75.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: CHEAP! Good Images and very sharp
Cons: Cheap Build and slow focus

I've used this lens for a few years and have really liked it. It's been very sharp. My only complaint is that it doesn't have a USM like the 50mm 1.4, but it's also 1/2 price.


This lens is nearly disposable at this price, but the images are very reliable.
Page:  1 · 2 


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.