SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 47683 5/13/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
86% of reviewers $692.57
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.14
spacerspacer
8.29
spacerspacer
8.14
nikon28f18g.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Prime 35mm AF-S


eskil

Registered: May 2014
Posts: 8
Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S Nikkor review by eskil
Review Date: 5/13/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, sharp, fast, what more to ask for?
Cons: Spherochromatism, quite large for a prime

After trying half a dozen lenses to use as as a fast normal prime on my D7100 I've finaly found one I like. Nikon 35mm was too long, Sigma 30mm was to soft, Nikon 28mm f/2,8 AF was nice, but f/2,8 is quite slow for a prime. The Nikon 28mm f/1,8 on the other hand is perfect. Has ideal focal length, it's fast and it is sharp. It is larger than the others (although the Sigma 30mm is thicker). About the same size as a small zoom like Nikon 16-85, but much lighter.


The only drawback is noticable spherochromatism at short range and large aperture. The other cons that sometimes is mentioned in reviews, focus shift and spherical abberation, is nothing that I have noticed with my lens.


Although it is no macro it still focuses quite close, less than one foot (25 cm). Also, it is probably the cheepest Nikon lens with a gold ring.
alifeinpixels

Registered: November 2012
Posts: 1
Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S Nikkor review by alifeinpixels
Review Date: 11/3/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: sharp stopped down
Cons: soft wide open - which is a shame

We all read pros/cons about this lens. You know about build, slack in focus ring, and price. I spent too much time with this lens and wish I could get it back. Despite monkeying with af adjustment I just could not get a sharp picture wide open on my D600. You could see things starting to get there with a +20 adjustment but it never made it. Returning.


Gonna wait for Sigma 35mm 1.4
john Daniel

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 1
Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S Nikkor review by john Daniel
Review Date: 10/31/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp corner to corner, best for landscapes, light, great colors
Cons: none

best IQ and corner to corner sharpness for landscapes; better than 24-70,


light, Nano coating, precise.
CraigH

Registered: October 2011
Posts: 8
Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S Nikkor review by CraigH
Review Date: 10/21/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $699.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp and contrasty on my D700, D3S and D800. Crystal clear rendition with no color cast.
Cons: Almost too light weight for a $700 lens if that's possible.

I was in one of my favorite camera stores buying a new Nikon V1 for my gal when feeling a little under the weather, I started looking at glass. Spending can perk me up. Wink


I'd been casually thinking about this new 28 f/1.8G for a couple of months but was a little worried about the reports of focus shifting and had 28mm covered so many ways. Besides, I rarely need fast glass in wides. Also 28mm is not my sweet spot. I bought it anyway on shear impulse thinking I could return it if it had too much uncorrectable focus shift.


I'm going to have to say I'm quite happy with the initial results on all three FX cameras I own. Not only is there not perceptable focus shift but the lens is sharper and more contrasty than I ever expected. It has as pretty and as clean of an output as any of my top lenses like my 85 f/1.4G or any other Nano coated lens in my kit. Even the bokeh is rather nice if slightly busy. It's creamy enough and better than most wides. That's for sure.


The only possible negative I can think of is that it's almost too light weight. All my FX cameras and one DX model are somewhat heavier all magnesium bodies. All my better glass is heavier metal and glass lenses, so this lens is super light. It feels like my 50 f/1.8G for Heaven's sake. As good as it is, I'll get used to it, I'm sure. I might even learn to love 28mm. Wink


I"m going to use it on the job next week and that's saying something for sure. I usually use a lens for pleasure a long time before committing to it on paid assignments. Highly recommended.


Cheers
Nikon Guns

Registered: June 2012
Posts: 1
Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S Nikkor review by Nikon Guns
Review Date: 6/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Light, could be a nice walk around lens
Cons: Insane front focus

Ordered it because I really liked it was so light, and it should be a great companion for my Nikon D700, but I have to return it - I have never seen so much front focus, and perhaps there are also huge focus shift (as som tests describe), because the front focus dissapears when stopped down to about f. 5.6, but it can also be the deeper DOF which hide the front focus ?
fly fisherman

Registered: June 2012
Posts: 1
Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S Nikkor review by fly fisherman
Review Date: 6/29/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $699.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, well built, sharp, great walk around lens
Cons: None

No complaints here. Sharp to very sharp throughout its aperture range. Corner and edge quality quite acceptable wide open. New 'G' lens construction is great, light and functional. Reviewers who complain about play in manual focusing are foolish, believing it is a flaw. No folks, Nikon designed it that way for a reason.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 32
Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S Nikkor review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 5/26/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lightweight, AF-S, sharpness
Cons: Vignetting, build quality, smell

The image quality of this lens is good, but not excellent. Center sharpness is acceptable (for me) from f/2 and combined with the short focal length and a FX sensor it makes this lens very suitable for low light indoor photography.


At f/1.8 the image is usable, but I feel it lacks a little sharpness and contrast. You'll need to do some post processing to compensate. I think it depends on the subject and of course your expectations. I'm not completely sure about this, but I think there might be some unevenness in sharpness throughout the image.


I like this 28mm better then the AF35mm f/2D, which is soft at f/2. It's also better the the classic 28mm f/2.8 Ais version. It's substantially bigger though. The 28mm f/1.8G can be a really nice lens for photojournalistic work I think.


There's a lot of vignetting going on at f/1.8 to f/2.8. When you shoot at wide apertures, you'll hardly need to vignette in post processing. It's relatively easy to remove and it can be an asset rather then a problem when you use it creatively.


Auto focus is not completely silent, but not loud either. I think it sounds a little too scraping. You hear the same sort of sound when you turn the focus ring for manual focus. Speed is good and I've had no problems with accuracy yet. You can focus very close with this lens, nice!


Bokeh is smooth for a wide angle. There is some distortion and I think it's of the moustache kind, but I haven't tested this. I think the lens is fairly resistant to flare.


The lens is made of plastic and it feels a bit cheap. Especially considering it's 'professional' price, big box, gold band, nano diamond crystal super coating and other impressing stuff. Also, it smells bad. The smell transfers to my fingers. I think it's the rubber on the focussing ring. The lens has a metal bayonet with a rubber ass gasket but it has a cheap plastic filter ring.


All in all I think I would definitely recommend this lens for portraiture and documentary photography. I'm not sure if it's suited for architecture and landscape photography (corner sharpness and distortion).


It's a fast mild wide angle with good sharpness and contrast and it packs all the latest Nikon bells and whistles.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.