SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 115880 6/7/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $970.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
9.20
spacerspacer
9.00
panasonic12-35f28x.jpg


Keywords: Panasonic GX-Series Wide Mid Tele Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds O.I.S. Stabilized tested lens


LowTEC

Registered: June 2014
Posts: 4
Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8 ASPH POWER OIS LUMIX G X VARIO review by LowTEC
Review Date: 6/7/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,160.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Versatile, fast focus, decent sharpness in full zoom range
Cons: body scratched and dinged easily, corner sharpness could be better at wide end wide open, flare

I must say this lens does meet my expectations. Relatively light weight, small size, and fantastic image quality out of this lens. Samples of my favourite shots out of this lens:


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/14304921646/


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/8559458789/


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/9045744370/


Smooth operation and superb build quality and although the body will dinged and scratched easily with mild use, I much prefer a quality plastic exterior, my Oly 45mm 1.8 looks brand new after 2 years of heavy usage, this lens does perform really well in low distortion (with correction), great corner to corner sharpness at f4 and above, and excellent control over CA overall. It is an expensive lens for this category of camera, but it does put the E-M5 into a professional level with this and the 45mm F/1.8. I've already begun using this lens professionally in my work and very satisfied with the results.


OIS is a plus over 12-40 2.8, although I don't need it now with E-M5, but you never know when you will be moving on to GH4 Smile.
Thoppa

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 12
Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8 ASPH POWER OIS LUMIX G X VARIO review by Thoppa
Review Date: 4/10/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: What's not to like about a sharp constant f/2.8 OIS zoom that weighs 300 grams ?
Cons: None

SLR Gear's review matches my lens' performance exacly, and mine is a production lens, a grey import from Japan, with a slightly pearl-black-purple finish.


The OIS is very effective but adds a momentary delay in AF when it activates. No big deal but worth mentioning I think.


I switched from Nikon APS-C to m43 about a year ago and thanks to this lens, I have no regrets.
regardlese

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 3
Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8 ASPH POWER OIS LUMIX G X VARIO review by regardlese
Review Date: 4/9/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the best zoom!
Cons: 0

Its the best micro-43 lens I have had in my hands.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 34
Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8 ASPH POWER OIS LUMIX G X VARIO review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 8/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build quality, image quality, weight, grip, autofocus, zoom range, aperture
Cons: Price

Although my name is Prime Minister, I do appreciate a good zoom lens with a useful zoom range and a fixed fast aperture. Kit lenses of course can be a great alternative if your on a tight budget, but they can't beat a high quality zoom like this. The Panasonic 12-35mm certainly caught my attention. Given it's professional (high) price, my expectations were high. The lens did not disappoint.


The build quality is very good. The lens has a good quality feel to it and everything works quick and accurate. I expected the zooming to be a little bit smoother, but it's really good as it is. Maybe it gets smoother over time. The lens extends a little when zooming in. I wish the extending lens tube was metal like the lens barrel. Also, I'm not a fan of the super shiny bling bling finish of the lens barrel. These are just trivial things of course.


The 12-35mm has a nice weight, but I think the lens feels a bit too heavy on smaller micro 4/3 camera's like the olympus PEN Mini. On a camera like the Olympus OM-D it feels just right. It provides a good grip and it prevents camera shake. The plastic petal shaped lens hood locks on quickly and firmly without any play. The lens hood is relatively small when you compare it to the lens hood of a Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8. But then the whole lens is incredibly small and light for a 24-70mm (equivalent) f/2.8 lens with image stabilization. Amazing. The image stabilization works great and it permits at least a two to three stops slower shutter speed.


The autofocus is quick, silent and accurate in most conditions. Continuous autofocus is not so great, but since I never use it, that's no problem for me. Also, this is probably not a shortcoming of the lens but of the camera autofocus system. The 12-35mm focusses rather close and that's something I always like. It gives the photographer the possibility to isolate a subject and zoom in on details.


Okay, let's pixel peep. Sharpness in the center is excellent at all focal lengths straight from the widest aperture. The corners are a tad soft, but they sharpen up by stopping down one or two stops. At f/2.8 the image quality is very good. Set it to f/4 and you don't have to think about it at all.


I see no problems with the contrast and colors either. There is some CA, but that can be removed easily. The image quality is not as good as some of the best primes, but to me it's more then acceptable. It comes very close. Really good performance and I expected no less.


It depends on your style of photography (and budget) if this lens is interesting to you, but I think this is a very high quality zoom lens with a useful range and a fast(ish) f/2.8 aperture. It's very convenient to go from 24mm wide angle to 70mm short tele in a twist of the wrist without any serious compromise on image quality. All of this comes in compact, lightweight, weather sealed and high quality package. Great for journalistic/reportage photography or as an everyday do it all lens.


Would I recommend this lens? Yes, go get one! And some primes.


Update (12-2013): There is a new king of the hill: the Olympus 12-40mm and I like it better then this Panasonic. Read my review and find out why.
iffo

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 7
Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8 ASPH POWER OIS LUMIX G X VARIO review by iffo
Review Date: 5/25/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High optical performance Compact, light and well built Built-in Image Stabilization Sealed against splash water and dust
Cons: High price

Its the best micro-43 lens I have had in my hands. Using a fast lens and image stabilization could help you leave your tripod at home.
The suggested retail price in the Netherlands is 1100 euro's
Which is a good price for waht you get. You will enjoy the image quality and forget what you paid for it real soon after purchase.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.