SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
11 105544 9/27/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $948.89
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.82
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.73
olympus75f18m.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Tele Prime Micro-Four-Thirds MSC tested


Mr Fussy

Registered: September 2014
Posts: 2
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Mr Fussy
Review Date: 9/27/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality and image quality.
Cons: The lens hood should be included.

I started photography in high school and I am now 60. I have used Pentax, Mamiya, Nikon and now Olympus. I have owned about 8 Nikon lenses. This year I switched from Nikon DX to Olympus OMD E-M1.
This is probably the best lens I have ever owned.
Despite being $900, it is an absolute bargain. Comparable (not equal) to the Nikon 200mm F2.0 which is $5,600 and weights 2.9Kg.
If you like working with 150mm equivalent focal length you must buy this lens for your M43 system.
Finally this lens proves you can get shallow DOF with M43, I have photos of a smallish bird of prey on a handlers glove, it fills the frame, but with either the eye or talons in focus but not both at f1.8. The background is just a beautiful blur.
Outstanding, well done Olympus!
romeo

Registered: June 2014
Posts: 2
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by romeo
Review Date: 6/16/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light - Small - Fast - Sharp - Lens Hood
Cons:

After using Nikon (D300/D700) and Sony (NEX-7/A7r) now I use only Olympus.
Two body OM-D E-M5, one OM-D E-M5 with 25mm F1.8 and another OM-D E-M5 with 75mm F1.8.
No regrets for the past,for me small is beautiful.
Image quality of the Olympus with its lens is sharp, beautiful with gorgeous color.
http://www.romeocolombo.com/Sony7andOlympus5/Olympus-OMD-EM5-MZuiko-75mm-F1/
LowTEC

Registered: June 2014
Posts: 4
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by LowTEC
Review Date: 6/7/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $950.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tack sharp corner to corner in all aperture, supreme build quality, fast focus
Cons: zero

One word to describe this lens, Perfection.


This is one beautiful lens, full metal construction with silk smooth focus ring, all in a tightly assembled body. The optic is perfect, tack sharp wide open all the way to f16, this lens is so sharp that I can consistently crop my wide open shot bird image to 1:1 and still able to see every individual feather; the sharpness, micro contrast, color rendition, nice starburst and creamy bokeh is simply surreal. It is so sharp at f1.8, I don't think I ever step it down to shoot. There is simply no sharper lens ( in full range of aperture) on the market regardless of system, only Canon 135 f/2, sigma 70mm macro can come close.


The extreme sharpness makes it so versatile (cropped like a 150mm-600mm in FF equiv., despite what ppl think of the focal length), I use it for portrait, close range birding, concert, sports and even landscape shooting, it is my most used lens of my whole M4/3 lens collection.


Get it!


A few samples to show how it's like in real use, some shots are 100% cropped


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/11434029673/


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/9251152980/


https://www.flickr.com/photos/lowtec/8502258303/
lightknight

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by lightknight
Review Date: 4/27/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide open performance, build quality, size, weight, price, bokeh
Cons: A little long for a portrait lens

I would love to give it a perfect score....but Olympus won't get one from me until they stop asking for another $100 for a lens hood....You will see that I have put price above in the pros list. The thing is have you purchased a lens that performs at this level from Canon or Nikon? Look up the price of a 135mm L lens or a 85mm 1.4. They cant touch the little lens that can. The only negative for me is the focal length as Portrait length is anywhere between 50-135mm with a preference towards the long end. But it does create some issues particularly indoors. So I would have loved a 52-67 F1.4, but I will take this just as it is thanks. A real Goldilocks lens, not too heavy, not to light, not to big and not too small, in short, just right.
rrwilliams64

Registered: September 2013
Posts: 9
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by rrwilliams64
Review Date: 3/22/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $675.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best IQ in MFT system , heavenly bokeh, sharp across frame
Cons: hood sold separate, pricey675

Best lens bar none in the MFT system, comes at a dear price but worth it
SebF

Registered: April 2013
Posts: 1
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by SebF
Review Date: 4/21/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $990.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Oustanding image quality, colors rendition, aperture, build quality
Cons: No macro, price

I own this lens since a few weeks. I really love it, because it fits perfectly my habits : I like telephotos a lot. With my Canon Rebel T2i (that I sold last week because my E-PL5 does the job perfectly), my favourite lens was the 100 m F2,8 L IS macro, and I really think that the 75 mm is as good as it.


Even for familly pictures, I try to keep this lens on my E-PL5 : I just go back a few feet to have everybody in field !


It's a wonderful lens, and a pleasure to use.
Ocean

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 21
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Ocean
Review Date: 12/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good construction,
Cons: only silver, no hood, very pricey

without lens hood and only ugly silver
Optics are very good - but for me it's not a keeper - I like the 1,8/45 mm by far more!
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 34
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 12/8/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, auto focus, sharpness, contrast
Cons: None, it's perfect

Not much to say, this lens is perfect. Excellent image quality, excellent build quality. Besides a loan to finance it, there's nothing more you can wish for.
maskinmoller

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 6
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by maskinmoller
Review Date: 9/21/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $992.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, build quality, autofocus
Cons: none of importance, but would have been even more useful id semi macro

This is one of the best lenses I ever owned and surely the sharpest wide open.


I used to shoot Nikon and my favorite was the Nikkor 105/2 DC, which has an even softer bokeh and is softer (though one of the sharpest Nikkors) making it a bit easier for portraits, but this lens is much better technically.


So sharp even wide open that you probably want to soften the skin on many people if their skin is not perfect.


It is a joy with a portrait lens sharp wide open coupled with the reliable AF and in camera vibrance reduction making it very useful for available light shots.
Gandalf

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 8
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Gandalf
Review Date: 9/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,133.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Simply amazing sharpness and bokeh
Cons: Loose some contrast when strong light hits the lens, but not worse as many others

This lens is so sharp - the only lens with the same sharpness I have shot with is the Nikon 200mm f/2.0.VR


And the bokeh is also very fine.


If you have the money do not think twice, you will not regret it.


If sharpness means something it is "hard" now to use other lenses with weaker sharpness Smile


I will use it for portraits and street-shooting, but also for detailed landscapes - even it is 75/150mm (FF)it is sometimes fine to use a small tele for parts of landscapes, and this lens will be amazing for this.


The price I payed is included the hood and special cap for this hood, and the overall price is OK for such a fine lens, and if you want it to be perfect I think you need the hood, because it can loose some contrast in strong light, but not worse than so many others (but there are some lenses, that are better in this special area)


I can only agree with the former reviewer when writing:


"I'm still incredibly excited to have it"


....and I can not wait to shoot with it again (just got it yesterday)
luimallozzi

Registered: September 2012
Posts: 1
Olympus 75mm f/1.8 ED M.Zuiko Digital review by luimallozzi
Review Date: 9/9/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Easily the sharpest lens I've used, Fast and Quiet Focus, Great build quality, Smooth Focus ring for Video, Great close-focus distance considering the 150MM equivalent focus distance
Cons: Possibly the Price, Basic Hood should have been included.

Background:


I have the Canon 5D MK II, 35MM 1.4L, 85MM F1.2L, 135MM F2L. I've owned fantastic versions of the 200MM F2.8L, 70-200 EF-S F2.8L II, 24-70, 16-35 . . . I'm a Canon guy. I'm not an elitist but I can say, I'm a fan of good glass.


When I bought the OM-D, I got really excited when this lens was announced. When it finally came in, I was extremely excited and after using it, I'm still incredibly excited to have it.


Here is the actual review part: (i'll make this really short)
- Easily the highest quality optic I've used in the longest time. (even compared to my 85MM F1.2 or 135MM F2)
- Impossibly sharp and insane past F4,. (Thats all I'm going to say about that)
- Great Bokeh and Color, Great Contrast, Decent Flare resistance.



Regarding the Price and Lack of hood:


- I'm not taking away points from the lens because it doesn't come with a hood. If I could score the 'value for money' on this lens it would score 15/10. (5 above 10/10) Its worth it.


- Its more expensive than most other lenses, but it performs way better. Think of the last 135MM lens you bought brand new . . . How much did you spend? This costs less, and delivers way way more. Don't expect filet-mignon for hamburger prices.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.