SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 55235 2/29/2008
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,437.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
1canon85f12.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Prime 35mm L USM


lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 2/29/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness at 1.2 is great! At 2.2 it's unbelievable! Bokeh is dreamy!
Cons: AF seem a little slower from other L lenses

Perfect lens in every way! This AF does seem a little slower but it doesn't bother me.


Here's a nice set of photos taken with the EOS 1D MkIII:
Sample Photos


-Lex
mebailey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM review by mebailey
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,499.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The best portrait lens in the Canon arsenal. Dreamy bokeh. Very sharp even wide open.
Cons: Heavy, slow focusing (MarkI), rear element easily damaged, awkward manual focus

This is my favorite Canon lens. It is a pleasure to use and gives outstanding results. It looks like a little Hubble telescope from the front (it gathers light like one too). Its alittle long for group photography unless you have alot of room.
Each time I remove it from the camera I set the manual focus to infinity so the rear element will retract maximally to lessen chance of scratching it when I mount it again.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: f1.2, "L" build and image quality
Cons: HEAVY HEAVY HEAVY and slow AF

This is the ULTIMATE portrait lens, bar none. Af is slow, though (due to the heavy elements) and I hear the "II" version is faster.


It produces just about the best bokeh I have ever seen!
lord_malone

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM review by lord_malone
Review Date: 2/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,350.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Rock solid L build. Outstanding color, contrast and bokeh.
Cons: Heavy chunk of glass. Slight learning curve. Slow to focus esp. in low light.

This is a superb lens. Everything good that needed to be said about this lens has been said. Once you've mastered this lens, the priceless photos you'll capture more than justifies its heavy price tag. I would like to use it on a FF body (currrently mounted on a 1.6x crop body) as it gives me a little too much reach in certain situations. Though I said weight was a con (for most), it doesn't bother me in the least bit. However, it has proven a little too much for my petite wife to handle. About the only thing that hinders this lens from being absolutely flawless is its slow focus. I've missed several shots because of this. Overall, its an exceptional lens and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
twereliu

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM review by twereliu
Review Date: 12/30/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good Bokeh (Amazing Actuall) and stunning minimum DOF
Cons: Heavy, Very Slow focus

I am not sure what other poster meant by the light issue.


At 1.2 the images are a bit soft, but this is a portrait lens primarily and sharpness isnt that important there, can actually detract, at 2.0 it is very useable, sharp, and still has awesome bokeh.


But if you want sharpness stop it down and bit more and it will perform, like wow perform.


Also very useable with some extention tubes for selective focus macro's, I am talking abstract flowers etc, not insects or grains of rice etc.


The background blur is amazing, cant really explain it but it is quite lovely.


The major issue with this lens is that it is dog slow to focus and many times just cant in lower light situations.


The manual focus is always on though, so for portraits or selective focus shots it really cant be beat in my opinion.


It's not a must have lens, but I have fallen in love with it's bokeh effect and portait capabilities.
AHAB

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 8
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM review by AHAB
Review Date: 10/21/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: World class sharpness, low light ability, excellent background blur.
Cons: price... but you get what you pay for

Really draws in the light.
Excellent in low light applications.
Phenominal background blur, this is a specialized tool, you may have to practice a bit because the depth of field is razor thin, when you master this lens it produces amazing images. Rent it first to see if it is for you.
AHAB


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.