SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 66831 12/28/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $574.75
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.60
spacerspacer
9.20
spacerspacer
9.40
olympus17f18m.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Mid Prime Micro-Four-Thirds


ysoli

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 2
Olympus 17mm f/1.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by ysoli
Review Date: 12/28/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely beautiful and sturdy construction, 34mm FOV with f1.8
Cons: Lenshood not included and it's pricey

This lens is a real gem:
- Lens construction is first class with it's full metal body. You have to see it in real to really appreciate it.
- 34 mm FOV with f1.8 is the best all-around performer I can imagine for the micro 4/3. I don't need anything else, except the 45mm f1.8 which is a stellar portrait lens.


It's image quality is not on par with the PanaLeica 25mm f1.4, but it's build quality and FOV really makes up for it.


I'm going to use this lens for many-many years.
dav1dz

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 1
Olympus 17mm f/1.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by dav1dz
Review Date: 3/24/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $499.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast auto focus, minimum chromatic aberration, small size, great low light performance
Cons: No hood in box, not pancake small

There are people who dislike this lens for technical reasons. But don't let that dissuade you from purchasing it if you enjoy the 35mm equivalent angle of view. There are sharper primes within the Micro Four Thirds system right now. That is true. But this lens is sharp enough for anyone that enjoys walking around with this perspective.


It may be a little expensive in EU, I feel for you guys.
asulea

Registered: April 2011
Posts: 10
Olympus 17mm f/1.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by asulea
Review Date: 2/21/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very fast AF, good contrast and color, nice metalic construction, sharp.
Cons: No lens hood.

On my Oly OM-D EM-5 much beter then Panasonic 20mm f/1.7.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 29
Olympus 17mm f/1.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 1/26/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, autofocus, sharpness, contrast
Cons: Slight corner softness at large apertures

I decided to rewrite my review of this Olympus 17mm f/1.8 prime lens, because the optical quality of the first sample I had of this lens was really disappointing. Something was wrong with it. Luckily the sample I have now is much, much better.


The build quality is great. The all metal design makes it sturdy with a nice weight. It looks and feels like an expensive precision instrument. I think it's well designed. I prefer the black version of this lens. It has a nice discreet black satin finish. A lens hood is not included. I think it's always wise to use one.


Autofocus is really fast, silent and accurate. The field of view of approximately 35mm is very versatile and perfect for many types of photos. The snapshot focus system works great and it makes manual focus and pre focus easy, but I hardly use it. The autofocus is fast and accurate enough. It's a nice option to have though.


My first copy of this lens was not very sharp. The center was acceptable, but sharpness quickly deteriorated towards the edges of the photo. Not so with my current sample. This lens is sharp wide open and only the corners of the frame are a little soft. Totally acceptable. There is some visible vignetting and CA wide open. Stopping down to f/2.8 makes things better and at f/4 the image is practically tack sharp with little CA. I'm happy with this performance.


Bokeh is quite nice actually. I find it can be surprisingly soft and creamy at times. I don't know what it is, but this lens has a pleasant character/rendering. Images look vey natural.


If you're looking for a high quality compact allround lens, I definitively recommend this Olympus 17mm f/1.8. I prefer it over the Panasonic 20mm f/1.7, because of the natural rendering (the Panasonic renders too harsh) and lightning fast autofocus.
Ocean

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 21
Olympus 17mm f/1.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by Ocean
Review Date: 12/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: outside-Metall construction, sharp and fast
Cons: pricey, only in silver, only f:1,8, no hood

without lens hood
Optics are very good - but I like the 1,7/20 mm Panasonic or the 1,4/25 mm Leica even more.
The price is much to high.
There should be a black one!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.