SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
34 212196 7/19/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $518.62
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
9.55
spacerspacer
9.35
1canon100f28macro.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Prime Macro 35mm USM Tested


mariuspavel

Registered: July 2014
Posts: 5
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by mariuspavel
Review Date: 7/19/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: nice bokeh, sharp, price
Cons: AF sometimes blocks

I really don't have anything bad to say other than it's a very heavy lens, so my wrist gets tired quickly. Other than that, this is a perfect lens. Image quality is outstanding - no fringing or warping, and everything is crystal clear.


If I could have justified the extra cost I'd have gotten the IS version because image stabilization would be very nice for handheld shots. I tend to shoot 1 or 2 stops low just to increase the shutter speed, and then fix it later in Camera RAW.


Oh, the autofocus is pretty wonky at closeup. It has a very hard time getting a proper focus, and often the focus goes berzerk (on my old Canon 450d). Not a big deal since macro photography is best done manual focus anyways.


Some pics with this lens here - www.mariuspavel.ro/trash-dress-teodora-zsolt-fotografii-de-nunta-brasov/
caMARYnon

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 6
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by caMARYnon
Review Date: 10/25/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $630.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent IQ
Cons: some focus hunting in low light

A big cons is the lack of IS but not for macro work, for portraits.
Only for macro is just perfect.
Rotremjr

Registered: January 2012
Posts: 4
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by Rotremjr
Review Date: 1/18/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality
Cons: No lens hood provides

Pros:
-Excellent image quality. Even better on a full frame camera.
-IF focus system. The lens does not extend. The front element does not rotate.
- Smooth AF
-Excellent quality / price ratio.


Cons:
-Not solid as the first version, but strong enough still to resist a 2' fall (as hapened to me on a hard surface) without any lens shift.
-A little cyan color cast visible.


Samples:
http://s150.photobucket.com/albums/s111/Rotremjr/Fleurs/?action=view&current=_MG_1899.jpg


http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s111/Rotremjr/Fleurs/_MG_5928.jpg


http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s111/Rotremjr/Fleurs/_MG_1950.jpg
ken billington

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 4
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by ken billington
Review Date: 12/6/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast focusing, non-extending or rotating, sharp images, excellent optical performance, practical minimum working distance (MWD) of 150mm.
Cons: Build quality not as solid as L-Series lenses, No image stabilization.

Advantages


1. Fast Focusing - Utilizing USM (Ultrasonic Motor), the Canon 100 Macro internally focuses very fast, quietly and very accurately.
2. Non-Extending or Rotating - When focusing at 1x subject distances, the lens does not extend, and the front element does not rotate.
3. Sharp Images - the Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro Lens is sharp wide open. The tiniest details in your tiniest subjects will come to life with this lens.
4. Optical Performance - Flare is very well controlled. Color and contrast are excellent and distortion is negligible. Although vignetting is apparent at f/2.8, this rapidly disappears when the lens is stopped down.
5. Practical Minimum Working Distance (MWD) - The Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro Lens gives an optimum MWD of 150mm. At the higher MWD of the Canon EF 180mm f/3.5 L USM lens (240mm), insects are not really close enough. At the lower MWD of the Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens (90mm), insects may scare and fly away prematurely.


Disadvantages


1. Build quality - this USM Macro lens has a reasonable build quality although it's not quite as solid as the L-Series lenses.
2. Image Stabilization - this lens does not feature the image stabilization present with the significantly more expensive Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 L IS USM Macro Lens.


Summary


The Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro Lens is a very good choice for macro photography of butterflies, insects or flowers. It offers excellent optical performance and middle-of-the-road working distance, size and weight.
Check out my insect stock photos and images on http://kenbillington.ch/photobank/Insects/
suttere

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 1
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by suttere
Review Date: 9/21/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $580.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, bokeh
Cons: missing image stbilisation

very sharp images. Need of tripod in many circumstances. natural bokeh.
jt354

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 9
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by jt354
Review Date: 5/9/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $540.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: No 3-position focus limiter, incompatible with EF extenders, no tripod ring

The 100mm 1:2.8 macro is a nearly-perfect lens. On a crop-sensor 40D, it's tack sharp wide open with no apparent distortion and relatively low CA. It produces vibrant, contrasty images at all ranges from 1:1 to infinity focus. The focus ring is not L quality, but it is fairly smooth and has a great range of travel for precise adjustments. Internal focus is a nice bonus compared to the Sigma 105mm and Tamron 90mm macros. Autofocus is reasonably fast, and a focus limiter aids in focusing at portrait range and longer (.48m-infinity). Unfortunately, there is no way to limit focus to macro ranges (1:1-1:5), and the AF occasionally hunts when set to full range.


Construction quality is very good. The lens feels solid, has a metal mount (and probably metal internals), and balances well on Canon's larger bodies. Near the base is a cutaway for a tripod ring, which is not included and costs a fortune to buy aftermarket. A flange behind the rear element prevents the 100mm macro from mounting to EF teleconverters, and the lens also lacks the extra "extender" electrical contacts. Finally, it's cheaper than the Nikon version!
uamsstudent

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 3
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by uamsstudent
Review Date: 12/5/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Price & Unbelievably Sharp
Cons: None

I think that this lens is sharper than the "blur index" graph shows. It really is brutal when used for portraits. It is by far the sharpest lens that I have ever used.
elho_cid

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 10
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by elho_cid
Review Date: 11/17/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: USM AF, great image quality, build quality
Cons: big and heavy compared to some competition

This lens has unbeatable price/performance ratio. it is not only great macro lens, but its also very good on greater worging distances, doubling as a telephoto prime.
On close-up distance the reliable AF is very handy when shooting moving objects, such as kitten or puppies.
Tamron 90/2,8 is reported better, but I didn't like its out of focus rendering so much.
On my Pentax setup the DFA100 is lighter and performs as good optically, but lacks the USM.
Sigma 180 is sharp as well, but the CA is too high for my taste.
So the EF100 is my favorite macro lens.
RadiantLite

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 16
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by RadiantLite
Review Date: 6/12/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: contrast, depth of field, built-quality, AF speed
Cons:

I bought Canon Macro 100mm for fun, because of the deep cashback from live.com in the thanksgiving week. First I think if I don't like it, I will sell it, but the lens is just too amazing to be sold.


Canon Macro 100mm is quite affordable and do a fantastic job. No wonder a lot of professional use and recommend it. The lens is primarily use for macro, for small things. The lens have ability to focus really close to object so that the camera can capture a life size image.


The depth of field is very shallow, especially wide open at f/2.8 as you can see in some samples that I have uploaded. So, f/8 or higher is recommended if you want to capture a sharp object.


But the shallow depth of field is not bad thing for many people, it helps the photographer to point out where is the most interesting part of the picture.


The focal length of 100mm, make it ideal for portrait lens because it flattens out the facial features and blur the background making the subject more appealing especially girls portraits.


The color contrast is also very good, it turns everyday boring object becomes interesting.


Physically, the lens are slightly longer and heavier than most general purpose lens, the built quality is almost similar to 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM and slightly better than 50mm, 85mm primes.


The focusing bar is big make manual adjustment becoming very easy (manual focus is important for Macro work to ensure accurate focusing, although the auto focus is very fast due to USM (UltraSonic Motor). We can adjust the focusing to macro range (close up) or standard to long range.


This lens focal length is bit too long for indoor shot and in crop sensor camera (Rebel series, and X0D series) but ideal for full frame camera (5D, 1D(s) series), but it is perfect for outdoor.


Other alternative for APC-S camera is the EF-S 60mm f/2.8 USM which is smaller more suitable indoor and have almost equal price and image quality. The drawback is the EF-S lens can't be use in full frame camera if you want to upgrade later.


For sample photos and other reviews, please visit
http://www.radiantlite.com
bennike

Registered: September 2008
Posts: 2
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by bennike
Review Date: 3/25/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor Sharp Images and silent focus. I actually like the build quality as well
Cons: None so far

This lense has produced many excellent razor charp images for me. As a secondary use I have had some very pleasant surprises when using this for Portrait Photography.
waro52

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 5
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by waro52
Review Date: 12/31/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $485.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, focusing speed,
Cons: none

I get more keepers with this macro than any other macro I have owned (50mm f2.5 canon and a nice old Zuiko). Fast focus, incredibly sharp at f/5.6 and good working distance make this a fun lens. The build quality is not at L quality but then, neither is the price. I played around with canon's 180L. The 180 is too heavy and I could not see an appreciable increase in image quality over this lens. I love this lens. It make day hiking an adventure both ways. On the way up to a lake I have on a 17-40 for scenics. On the way back this lens allows you to focus on flowers and insects. I used to put the camera away on the way home. No more.
onlyone

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 8
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by onlyone
Review Date: 6/1/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $470.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, Smooth and fast AF, Bokeh is fine
Cons: Missing len's hood, Plastic body

If you don't hope L lens, metalic body and hood in a box, buy this len, it can give you anything.


It's one of my favorite lens, especially in my Macro workshop, it gives me very sharp image and nice bokeh. Its USM give a very fast and accuracy AF, even in low light (but not too low). I pay around 16,000 ฿ (Thai baht) but it gave me much more.


Recommended lens !!!
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 10/30/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Phenomenal Macro Prime lens! Sharp and fast...my favorite lens!
Cons: Wish is was built and weather sealed like an L

I love this lens, it's my favorite!


I have loads of high-resolution shots at these two locations:
Nature Macro Samples
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro Sample Photos


-Lex
fergusonjr

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 15
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by fergusonjr
Review Date: 10/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Super-sharp. Super-fast AF.
Cons: Plasticky body.

This is one of my favorite lenses. It's fantastically sharp -- its sharpness is especially evident because it's a Macro lens and it's able to reveal such fine details. The auto-focus is blazingly fast -- so fast it sometimes seems instantaneous.


The lens feels relatively well built, but the plastic body suggests low quality. It's probably fortunate that it doesn't have a metal body, as it would certainly be substantially heavier. Other than having a focus ring that doesn't feel particularly tight, the lens seems fairly solid.


A superb lens that delivers superb Macro photos!
tmeldgaard

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 1
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by tmeldgaard
Review Date: 9/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, fastest focusing macro
Cons: missing lens hood, not L built, could have a nicer bokeh

Bought this lens mainly for its macro capabilities but realized that it is an amazing portrit lens as well. I love the fast focus when the limiter is on.


Bought a copy lens hood on ebay for almost free - highly recommended.
hitendra

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 11
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by hitendra
Review Date: 7/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, superb balance, well built.
Cons: None

Here are some shots taken with it… judge it yourself...
http://www.hitendrasinkar.com/photoblog/index.php?x=browse&category=25&pagenum=1
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 5/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $440.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, colours, blur & USM
Cons: I am still missing the lenshood!

One of the best Canon lenses! I own 6 macros - 4 Sigmas, 1 Tamron and this one. I made a lot of tests comparing it with the brother Sigma 105 - they are very close in optics, may be the Canon offers a little bit more saturated colours and a sweeter out-of-focus. Sharpness is brilliant as the Sigma and the USM is much quicker (but I nearly don´t use it, I like the MF traditionally). The Sigma is cheaper, nicer, not so heavy and has no cornershading at 2.8. Canon against Sigma - normally 5:4 - but the missing lenshood???, so 5:5.
jdf

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 8
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by jdf
Review Date: 1/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, USM
Cons: None

used it the very first time on a 350D, i was amazed how fast it was compared to a sigma 105 EX, it's very fast for a macro lens. it's Build is ok, and it's nice.


Image quality it provides is very good, some of the best lenses canon has.


The AF is very fast and precise as this is an USM lens.
If you are on "macro mode" it swings out to "normal" very fast!
kzr63g

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by kzr63g
Review Date: 1/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp from 2.8 Does not prolong when focusing. Relatively fast AF.
Cons: F 32 is not so sharp.

Used it for a long period of time.
Very satisfied.
Sharp from full opening. But could be better at 32 (I rarely use this f-stop).
Nice that this lense do not prolong when focusing.
A shade should have been included (you have to by extra).
Fast USM.
Internal focusing is something I like.
ne1rom

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by ne1rom
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp
Cons: none

It's not "L" so the construction quality could be better.
Image quality is excellent. Macro is almost scary Smile No bug cant be safe Wink
I recommend the lens for FF and APS-C DSLR.
adobo

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 17
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by adobo
Review Date: 1/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $440.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good working distance, Canon makes good macro lenses..
Cons: I don't like the shape.. hehehe

Although relatively new (announced in 2000), for some reason, it feels like an "old design"... (for me)


But aesthetics aside.. Canon makes good macro lenses.. Internal focusing, sharp, front element doesn't rotate during focusing, did I say sharp?


Anyway, the EF-S 60 and EF-S 100 are almost equal in image quality.. I guess the only thing that you need to consider is whether you want a:


Lighter, slightly-cheaper lens (EF-S 60mm) (crop body only btw)


vs.


Longer working distance, requires higher shutter speed because of focal length, and full-frame compatibility (EF 100mm)


Btw.. This is a fun lens.. you won't run out of things to photograph once you grab this one Smile


And this could also be used for portraits Smile (so maybe you can sell your 50mm f/1.8 II)
SteveR12682

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by SteveR12682
Review Date: 12/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp
Cons: Larger and heavier than similar lenses

This lens is a great lens, both for macro as well as general shooting. It is larger and heavier than other macro lenses in the 90 to 105 range, but the internal focusing and USM are definitely worth it.
vladnotkin

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by vladnotkin
Review Date: 12/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast Focus, Wonderful Image quality
Cons: None with the lens. Canon should have included Lens Hood.

I use this lens for all my macro photography, in fact, I use it 50% of the time during the summer month. The images are sharp, as sharp as they can be using Digital SLR, and the quality of picture is incredible.


When working within the 12 inches of the subject, I find that I need to switch focus to manual mode, but my other L series lenses are no faster at focussing when working within the minimum focusing distance.


If you are looking for a macro lens, you can't go wrong with this one.
SamuelMV

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by SamuelMV
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharpness, image quality, fast
Cons: big (especially with the hood attached), range in APS-C

I have used the 100mm USM 2.8 Macro for 1 year and a half. Its image quality is top notch, probably one of the best Canon lenses.


Thanks to the USM AF it's fast and silent, althought it's better to focus manually in macro photography (or focus using camera movements).


It has a switch to choose between two distance ranges for autofocus, which improves the versatility of this lens in non-macro photography.


When I switched from film to digital, I founded that the equivalent focal length (160 mm) was too far for my needs, so I ended selling it.
Muiderburght

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 13
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by Muiderburght
Review Date: 12/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp, close-up, internal focusing; quiet (USM)
Cons: slow focusing (macro range), very precise focusing (sometimes off)

Recently bought this lens. It was a bit of an impuls purchase. it's a lot of money for something that is this task specific and wont be on your camera all the time.
I actually use it for taking pictures of my kids. I like the sharpness and the close up pictures you can take with it. With non-macro lenses, you always have the face and some. With this lens, you can do eye-nose, foot or hand pictures.I guess a crop would work too :-)
In the store, I compared it to the Sigma 105 Macro. You can read my review there. This lens is just extremely quiet and has internal focusing compared to that one. Well worth the extra 100 bucks if you ask me. Of course, I already knew from SLRGear.com that the picture quality would be more than ok. Which I can only confirm. Most Canon prime lenses wont disappoint in that field and hence it wasnt a major focus at buying.
BillDavenport

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by BillDavenport
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Very nice image quality, good working distance
Cons: slow focus, low contrast

The only other macro lens I've had to compare it to is the 60mm Micro Nikkor which is the sharpest lens I've ever seen. The Canon isn't as sharp, doesn't and have the internal contrast of the Nikkor. It's image quality is nice but soft looking. The focus is slow and iffy especially compared to USM lenses
tkgross

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by tkgross
Review Date: 11/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $470.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness and working distance with 1.6 mulitplier lenses
Cons: Can't think of any

Sharpest lens I own. Pretty nice even as a walk around.


Equivalent 160mm keeps you a little furhter from the bees.
Jarrad_Kevin

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 11
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by Jarrad_Kevin
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very Sharp, Macro Capability, USM
Cons: A little heavier than I'd like

Extremely sharp. Even wide open.


The AF is not slow at all, in my opinion. It's quite quick. Not quite as fast as the 85 1.8 or 24-70L, but close and noticeably faster than the 50 1.4. I use it even in some macro situations with great success. I wouldn't depend upon the AF in all macro situations, but it is useful when needed.


It's a hefty lens and doesn't feel as though it's lacking in build quality. It's a little heavier than I'd like, but it's not heavy enough to make you think twice about using it.


I'd love for it to be weather sealed, I'd love Image Stabilisation, but other than that it's just about all you could ask for in a macro lens.


Highly recommended.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 11/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, beautiful bokeh, working distance
Cons: Heavy, slow focus

I use this lens in conjunction with a Sigma 50mm macro. Both are excellent optically, but I pull out the 100mm when I need the extra working distance (for shy subjects like bugs - especially on a 1.6 crop) or I need the narrower field of view.


The lens in exceptionally sharp and distortion-free. it is, however, relatively heavy and slow in autofocusing - especially when working way up close. in such cases, it's better to manually focus.


The focal length is not as practical as the 50mm macro (a little too long for me) but when you need the extra reach and full macro, it's hard to beat.
tukaway

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by tukaway
Review Date: 3/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp, beautiful bokeh, accurate focus
Cons: Occasional focus hunting when not used for macro work, IS would be helpful

This lens is remarkably sharp across every part of the frame. It may addict you to macro work. Bokeh is liquid smooth.


Perhaps this is unique to my copy, but I have found that when shooting at normal (non-macro) distances, the lens can tend to hunt a bit more than my other lenses when focusing in reduced light.


It's a specialized tool, and is truly excellent in its niche.
snapper

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 6
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by snapper
Review Date: 11/18/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Reference level sharpness (L-like), good colors low distortion, reasonable speed and accurate focus
Cons: a little long, no I.S. - which would make it PERFECT

This is a great value. The sharpest lens in my bag. Dependable accurate focus, clarity - to be used when you want the best image quality you can get. Sometimes hunts in very low light. Takes the tamron SP 1.4x very nicely for 'Bigger Bees' - I cannot see any difference in quality with slightly slower focus. Very accurate focus nice big manual ring. I keep bringing it with me in the bag because I'll always see another bug/flower and this is the WAY to get 'em. Perfect for a your baby's face on a 20D.
Rugged and heavy.
jyli19

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 7
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by jyli19
Review Date: 11/3/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $430.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellents image quality, professional quality construction
Cons: Optional lens hood, pricy

Professional quality macro lens. Sharper than L series zooms. This lens proves to a be a workhorse for me, both macro work and normal shoot. Focus is very sensitive.
mdbassman

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by mdbassman
Review Date: 11/2/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $499.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wonderful-Sharp-Crisp
Cons: none

I love this macro lens! The images are sharp and the DOF is wonderful. It is a good all around lens also but I use it for 99.9% macro.
photopilot377

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM review by photopilot377
Review Date: 10/31/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small, Light weight, quality images!
Cons: a bit long for APS sized sensors like the 20D & my 10D

I like it! My only gripe is that it becomes a little too long when used with the 10D/20D size sensor. I would love to test it on a FF body.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.