SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 97840 12/30/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,416.36
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.80
nikon70-200f4vr.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Tele Zoom 35mm AF-S VR Stabilized tested


andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 29
Nikon 70-200mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by andre_
Review Date: 12/30/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality, VR, lightweight
Cons: no weather sealed, distorsion

I just used this lens in my trip to Ghana few weeks ago, with my D600.


Together with a 24-70/2.8 lens, this telezoom makes a perfect equipment for a travel.
Despite it lacks the weather sealing, it is very well built, and I haven't had any problem in the hard conditions I've used it.


The colour rendition is the usual for the new Nikkor lenses: high contrast, high saturation, but compared to the 24-70 this 70-200 has more details in the shadows.
I haven't experienced any flare, and both the CA and the fringing are virtually absent.


This 70-200/4 is sharp from the full apertures, and the bokeh is surprisingly good.
If one adds a strong light falloff til f5.6 (but it's easy to fix in PP), this zoom is ideal for portrait photos and every large apertures photos.
I never complained the lack of the f2.8... And I never took a photos closer than f5.6, actually.


The pincushion distortion is quite visible when there is a horizon in the frame.
Luckily, the lens correction in Lightroom works well.


The VR works perfectly, as every other new Nikkor lens, and the image degradation is virtually absent (when in the firsts VR models was better turn it off with the shorter shutter speeds). One can always forget the VR.


I'm very satisfied of this lens: it's flexible, light and has outstanding performances.


I haven't used it under a hard rain yet, and I fear a little the lack of every kind of sealing.
But for everything else it's a perfect lens.
Very few photographers need the bulky, epensive f2.8, now that the market offers this one. Smile
a_
lalitjee

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 12
Nikon 70-200mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by lalitjee
Review Date: 3/29/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,565.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp,fast AF,lightweight
Cons: no, no really

i have used this lens on my d3s,so far in three weddings and very happy with the results and handling,
lgerlanc

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 1
Nikon 70-200mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by lgerlanc
Review Date: 3/28/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,520.82| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp, very fast AF, close min. focusing distance(less than 1m), light, VR,
Cons: made out of plastic, no weather sealing

This lens is for everyone who doesn't need f2.8. They say that the 2.8 VR II is sharper, but I can't imagine it being a noticable difference because this is supersharp. It seems to be just as fast at focusing. The VR works perfectly(I was able to get sharp images at 1/4 sec @200mm, standing and without leaning on anything). The thing that impressed me the most was the close min. focusing distance(it seems to be less than 1m), it's very useful. I only wish it was built a bit tougher but it's probably because I'm comparing it to my old AF 80-200 2.8 D which was like a tank Smile.
blowup

Registered: January 2013
Posts: 1
Nikon 70-200mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by blowup
Review Date: 1/21/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, fast and my arm doesn't fall off from holding it
Cons: still a little heavy

I switched from a canon setup to a D800 recently, not realizing how much money i had to spend and how much weightlifting i needed to do if i wanted to use their best zooms.
I've tried both the 24-70 2.8 and the 70-200 2.8 - both were far to heavy for me leave on the camera all day for the kind of shooting i do.
I ordered the 70-200 f4 the day it was announced, keeping my fingers crossed that it would be a good lens because Nikon has made some problematic zoom lenses recently. Fortunately, they got this one right. I've shot in candle light handheld and still gotten 4 out of 5 sharp images with moving targets.
Very satisfied. Now if Nikon could just make a cheaper, lighter solid mid range i could put my primes away.
thejohnz

Registered: July 2012
Posts: 3
Nikon 70-200mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor review by thejohnz
Review Date: 1/12/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,396.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, compact and light, great VR, works well with teleconverters
Cons: No f2.8

As an owner of the Nikon 70-200 F2.8 i was very curious as to whether this lens was comparable. Well, after having this lens for a few days and doing some intense side by side comparisons, I must say that this lens is simply spectacular. At comparable apertures it mostly outperforms my F2.8 version with or without the TC-14Eii and the TC-20EIII attached. Using the D800, focusing was not a problem even with the x2 tele. The VR is rock steady and definitely the best I have ever experienced on any Nikon lens.


I have to say that the test results above done by SLR Gear do confuse me a bit. The pixel pitch of the D800 and the D7000 are almost the same but the data in the area where both sensors are being used seems to suggest otherwise. I can understand the corners in the FX area would be different but why the difference in the middle areas? The earlier tests of the 70-200 F2.8 were done on a D700 so there is no way to compare those test results here directly. (it would be good if SLR Gear did test the F2.8 on a D800E)


I will need more field time to really get a good feel for this lens but so far I have high expectations. Check out Brad Hill's website for some good field testing of this lens.


Some other pluses for this lens is that it can focus to 3.3' and does not suffer from focus breathing.
At 5' from the image this lens has 50% more magnification than the F2.8 version does!


So if you can live without F2.8 (and I am beginning to think I can) this lens will serve you well.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.