SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 62488 2/13/2015
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $601.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.25
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
9.50
canon35f2is.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Wide Prime 35mm IS Stabilized USM tested


ruicarv79

Registered: February 2015
Posts: 1
Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS USM review by ruicarv79
Review Date: 2/13/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lightweight, discrete, IS, close focus ability and... fantastic image quality!
Cons: Not f/1.4! :)

You can find my personal review here:
http://ruicarv.wix.com/ruicarphotolover#!canon-35-f2-is-usm/c1n3k
MichaelShea

Registered: April 2014
Posts: 7
Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS USM review by MichaelShea
Review Date: 1/6/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $653.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quiet, unobtrusive, well-balanced on 5D mk iii, extremely sharp, reliable & quick autofocus, effective stabilisation
Cons: Serious vignetting, but easily removable in post processing

A perfect match for the 5D Mark iii, in that it's a versatile, genuine walkaround focal length and exactly the right build quality, weight and size to feel comfortable mounted on the camera. My first full frame lens and I suspect it will be a very hard act to follow. Possibly only trails to the Fuji 23mm f1.4 amongst similar class and angle of view lenses that I've been lucky enough to use.


The absence of a lens hood is admittedly quite ludicrous and Canon's marketing ploy of saving basic accessories for its 'L' range is indefensible. However, it's possible to obtain fully functional replica hoods from the far east at low cost.


It's conventional wisdom that image stabilisation properly belongs to telephoto lenses or for the benefit of video shooters. This is complete tosh because the difference that can be observed on stills photographs where IS is applied, in this instance through the lens, is glaringly obvious to me. But there again, lenses often get referred to as 'tack sharp' when they are obviously anything but. That does actually apply here, from approximately f4 to f8 incidentally. More to the point, the IS works splendidly with this lens.


I won't get into the argument over whether the lens was overpriced when first introduced, but would like to thank Sigma and others for forcing Canon to think carefully about its pricing policies. It used to be the case that full frame cameras and supporting lenses were characteristically big, heavy, unwieldy and expensive. I admit all that put me off for several years, but now am very glad to have belatedly made the move to Canon full frame and do not expect to look back. This new lens sets a very high benchmark by which others will be judged, but it represents a very promising start as far as I'm concerned. Thoroughly recommended.
mariuspavel

Registered: July 2014
Posts: 5
Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS USM review by mariuspavel
Review Date: 7/19/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: super sharp, IS, build quality
Cons: none

I own this lens for 4 month now, and it's super shrp from f2. I use this for weddings - inside of ballroom to take super sharp images of guests. I highly recommend this superb lens. Some pictures I took with this lens you cand find here - www.mariuspavel.ro/foto-nunta-brasov-alina-nelutu/
caMARYnon

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 7
Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS USM review by caMARYnon
Review Date: 10/25/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent IQ even at f2.0 (colours, contrast, sharpness, bokeh, 3D effect); useful IS; very very good AF; very good built quality; excellent close-up capability
Cons: high coma in night shots at f 2.0 and 2.8, not the best f2.0 resolution

This 35 is now my favorite walk around lens on my 5D MKII.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2015, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.