SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 15853 3/23/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $687.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.75
spacerspacer
9.75
spacerspacer
9.75
fuji55-200f35-48rois.jpg


Keywords: Fujinon Tele Zoom XF APS-C X-mount OIS Stabilized


Gromit

Registered: June 2013
Posts: 8
Fujinon XF 55-200mm f/3.5-4.8 R LM OIS review by Gromit
Review Date: 3/23/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fabulous IQ - up with the very best
Cons: Er...haven't found any yet!

I got this to complete my 3-lens set for my recently bought X-Pro1 and it's just blown me away. It's beautifully made, light, works very smoothly. The zoom ring is still quite stiff but this should loosen off over time I think. Also it does extend a LONG way when thrown out to 200mm - that really is it for downsides, if they really are? The upshot though is the image quality which is staggeringly good - I simply cannot fault it. A 55-200mm zoom, with OIS which is cheaper, and as good as a Canon 70-200 F4L IS? You betcha.


I'm delighted with it, and whilst it's really the only choice for Fujistas who need a longer f/l they need not be disappointed. This is a cracker of a lens.
richardanthony

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 1
Fujinon XF 55-200mm f/3.5-4.8 R LM OIS review by richardanthony
Review Date: 10/30/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $699.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing build quality, IQ, sharpness
Cons: 3.5-4.8 aperture

I had some hesitations purchasing this lens coming from the Nikon camp. My previous 70-200 2.8 was a stellar machine to work with. I wanted to achieve a similar look but had my doubts. I knew the aperture range wasn't the best but looking at several reviews I've seen with some work I could achieve some great looking images using the longer end of the zoom. So far I'm extremely impressed with it's focusing properties, IQ and sharpness. The micro contrast is right up there with the best. I actually attempted to use this for sports and was pretty surprised by its abilities. The biggest short falls lie's within the Fuji focusing speed but to be completely honest it's not that bad. Coming from a D600 my EX-1 with the most recent updates with this lens works very well. Again this isn't a sports lens just can be used if needed with some good technique. I can't recommend this lens enough. I would have loved a fixed 2.8 but it would've been huge and that defeats the purpose of the system. The bokeh is awesome just his the buy now button, you won't regret it.
abzeal

Registered: August 2013
Posts: 2
Fujinon XF 55-200mm f/3.5-4.8 R LM OIS review by abzeal
Review Date: 8/11/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent at 55mm, OIS works well, Low CA, Vignetting, Distortions, Silent auto focus, Build quality
Cons: Weaker performance at 200mm, Autofocus not always the quickest, Barrel extends a lot

If you want a telephoto for your Fuji then you don't have much choice, but don't despair this is a decent piece of kit. Perhaps a little overpriced, but excellently made, its a mostly hit from fuji.


It takes stellar photos at the shorter end of its range, with even some smooth out of focus areas and wonderful colour reproduction. It'd make a decent portrait lens until the 56mm comes next Jan.


I found performance all round a bit weaker at the 200mm end, sometimes it struggles to focus a bit more. Bit disappointing its not a constant F4, but you can work around that limitation at the far end.


It's not going to be great for sports as the auto focus is not super fast but not painfully slow, but then you probably didn't buy you Fuji for that.


All in all, a good lens and something I'm sure you'll enjoy having in your kit bag.
tonybridge

Registered: April 2013
Posts: 1
Fujinon XF 55-200mm f/3.5-4.8 R LM OIS review by tonybridge
Review Date: 4/18/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light, sharp, superb optical quality
Cons: none

Stunning quality in a no-compromise lens.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.