SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 84322 1/13/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,162.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.78
spacerspacer
9.89
spacerspacer
9.78
1canon300f4.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Prime 35mm L IS Stabilized USM


JRenato

Registered: January 2012
Posts: 5
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM review by JRenato
Review Date: 1/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exelente em todos os sentidos
Cons: Nada

Uma lente fantástica!!!!!!
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 11/16/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,150.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, compact, reasonable price!
Cons: Nothing at this point.

High-Res sample shots using a Canon EOS 30D


Pros:
Folks, this is a no-brainer these days. With the sensor
technology advancement resulting in lower noise levels
at higher ISO’s you can save the bank and your arms.


It was a pleasure hand-holding this while shooting at the
San Antonio Zoo. With ISO 400 on average and IS for back-
up, I was shooting high enough shutter speeds to capture
sharp and in-focus images. Much more compact that the
Canon 300mm f/2.8 IS USM lens and for MUCH less!


Built in lens hood...works great!


Cons:
The only think I can think of is even though it has internal
focus, when the lens hangs down it will focus’drop (you
can fell it in the barrel). This focus-drop will cause every
subsequent shot in AF to travel more and therefore add a
slight bit of time to focus-lock on the subject.


-Lex
TaoGuy

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM review by TaoGuy
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light weight, sharp, relatively fast, fair cost, IS, love the hood.
Cons: Too slow w/extender

Having converted to the digital world a 18 months ago the new technology today continues to amaze me. This is a Great lens for the $. This lens has convinced me to try the 400 DO/4.0. With todays cameras and lens, the ability to shoot @800 ISO with good results finishing in CS2, the once prime 2.8's are not as necessary as in the past. I purchased several L's a year ago and all are miles ahead of yesterday's lens in my opinion. I find this one goes with me 95% of the time vs the 2.8 that unless needed for a specific shot is used much less than before.
terryf

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM review by terryf
Review Date: 12/4/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,650.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great image quality, price relative to that of the super teles
Cons: Slow AF with Extender attached.

I have been very happy with this lens for my nature photography. Well over half the shots I take have the Canon 1.4 Extender attached so that, on my 20D, the field of view is equivalent to that of a 672mm lens on a FF camera. Yes, for small birds the 500mm f4 would be much nicer but it costs much, much more than this combination. For large birds (like Herons) and for similarly large mammals the amount of reach that I have is adequate. My copy of the 300mm L IS is extremely sharp. At f4.0 it is very nearly as sharp as my 135L at f2.0. The extender drops the effective maximum aperture to f5.6 and the combination provides very good shapness. There is some slowing of the AF function when the 1.4X Extender is used. A big bonus is that the IS (along with the relatively light weight of this lens) means that I can use this lens hand held for most of my wildlife photography. I also like the retractable design of the lens shade since that makes it quick and easy to remove the lens cap or change filters.
beaver_1946

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM review by beaver_1946
Review Date: 11/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IS
Cons:

Very versatile. Good for bird flight photos. IS helps with slower aperture. Nice if you only want one lens for wildlife.
Leo Hursh

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM review by Leo Hursh
Review Date: 11/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quick focus, sharp at all apertures, effective IS, integrated hood
Cons: Noisy IS

Lens has excellent image quality (sharpness, color and contrast). Almost as good as the 70-200L f4. This lens begs to be shot wide open. Focusing is very quick and silent. The lenses close minimum focusing distance allows it to be used for macro use if needed. The IS is very effective, however, it is rather noisy when it engages. The sliding hood is very convenient and well built. Overall, this lens is one of Canon's best bang for the buck bargains. Coupled with the 17-40L f4 and 70-200L f4, this rounds out a very high quality and versatile lens package.
JohnJ80

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM review by JohnJ80
Review Date: 9/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness, IS works well, lightning fast AF
Cons: Slow AF with 1.4x TC II

This lens is my sports shooting lens (soccer). Works great and is wonderful for being able to shoot tight. The AF tracks perfectly in AI Servo with a 5D - allowing one to keep the shutter half pressed allowing the AF to track until just the perfect instant to fire. Rate of keepers is very high.


With the 1.4x TC II on board, this lens is still a pretty good 400mm f/5.6 lens. However, it is not all that good for sports since the AF is now that much slower - noticeably slow. You can do it but you are going to drop your keeper rate for sports.


The sliding lens hood is the ticket. Much better than the screw on nonsense.


Highly recommended.


J.
mdbassman

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM review by mdbassman
Review Date: 11/2/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp Images - Smooth Operation
Cons: IS is noisey but so what?

Love this lens! Sharp images and a pleasure to use. IS feature is a bit noisey but doesnt bother me.
photopilot377

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM review by photopilot377
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very Good Lens w/ Image Stabilization
Cons: I want it to be even longer . . .

I bought this one instead of the 400 f5.6 because it has the Image Stabilization. Add the 1.4x mulitiplier and this lens is still very good, as long as the 400, same effective aperture, WITH IS! I have excellent quality 13 x 19 prints taken with the 5D2 & older 10D.
(I wish Canon would put IS on the 400mm f5.6)


Newer body (5D2) and results are still excellent.


Only down side to using the 1.4x is focusing speed for moving wildlife.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.