SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 41093 4/2/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
80% of reviewers $420.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.40
spacerspacer
7.80
spacerspacer
7.40
nikon18-140f35-56vr.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Mid Tele Zoom APS-C DX AF-S VR Stabilized


ppk

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 6
Nikon 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX VR Nikkor review by ppk
Review Date: 4/2/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light and good zoom range
Cons: Will not survive a drop or big bump

I have had nikons for a long time, back to 1990. There were tests, but not near the concern that there is today for metrics on performance. Basically you looked at the pics to see how the color and sharpness compared.. And following on that some of my sharpest digital pics are from 2006-7 with my D80 and kit lens 18-135. The pics.. Looked three dimensional.. I traded the 18-135 for a weak 70-300 vr. I missed the 135 lens after it proved to beat its replacement hands down. And I looked for a new one the last couple of years. Then...


I bought the nikon d7100 with the 18-140 kit lens for $500 off list... So it is hard to compare an old lens to a new one with a 24 mp sensor.. My pics look a lot sharper with the 18-140 than many other lenses I have had.. This lens is a notch sharper than my 18-300 or 18-200 vr dx nikon gear. I believe that to be a fact. Another attribute is that the lens seems to have a better vr than the older lenses. The 67 mm filters are more common too. I also have an 18-105 lens that is put on the camera when my wife uses it. Make you a deal on that blurry mess of a lens..


Looking at others' reviews and numbers it performs better in my book than what is indicated above. It will break in two if you torque it any.. But what doesn't? I think it is sharp at wide and tele in the center and edges..


Seems to capture detail and color the other super zooms blur out. Call me crazy, but less is more.
Ninja

Registered: February 2014
Posts: 1
Nikon 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX VR Nikkor review by Ninja
Review Date: 2/7/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Good focal length ,good sharpness at 35mm and up ,good built
Cons: Soft at 18mm ,high distortion ,hard to focus on bright subject

This lens came with my D5200,I was expecting razor sharp images but unfortunately is soft at 18 mm .The best sharpness is at 140mm ,iQ is not great but is ok, distortion is high .
sjkip

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 9
Nikon 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX VR Nikkor review by sjkip
Review Date: 10/5/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $460.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent focal length range, super sharp, little or no CA or distortion in normal use.
Cons: Just a bit heavy. Also the focus and focal length collars turn somewhat tightly.

I think this one is even better than the superb 16-85 DX, with which I've taken thousands of pictures. On my cameras, a D7000 and a D90, the 18-140 will now be my workhorse walkabout lens. I've only taken a few dozen pictures with it so far, but I'm amazed at its sharpness and lack of CA. Because of fairly close-in focus, it's almost like a macro, especially if you crop the image severely, which is possible because of the lens's sharpness. I highly recommend this lens to anyone who is interested in real photography, as opposed to shooting pictures of test screens and brick walls. Out in the field it's great.
photojay

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX VR Nikkor review by photojay
Review Date: 10/4/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp beyond what I expected from a 18-140,good weight and balance in a D 7100
Cons:

I belive the previous review was written in haste. This is a very good consumer lens, quick focus,sharp images,easy to carry. With my high resolution D 7100 it performs like a pro zoom. I hope they sell a lot of them.
I am a pro and work for Fire Rescue. The VR is great, using this lens at night when there is a fire is a breeze to do with out external light
aimatyna

Registered: September 2013
Posts: 1
Nikon 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX VR Nikkor review by aimatyna
Review Date: 9/20/2013 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 3 

 
Pros: resolution
Cons: colour aberrations,distorshon on full zoom band.

I've just bought it. I'm upset. I expected much more from Nikon. The single advantage of that lens is the resolution. But it's not ectraordinary resolution. It's simply normal, like all other lenses have.


As for distortion, colour aberrations, vignetting these parameters are quite pour.


I've put some referrnce of the test photos below. It could give you some impressions about that lens:
http://fotki.yandex.ru/users/aimatyna/album/366045/


Anyway 600 USD is not fair price for that lens. The price should be less than 300 USD.


So think twice before you will decide to buy that lens.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.