SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
10 103490 5/21/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $4,366.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.90
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.80
1canon300f28LIS.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Prime 35mm L IS Stabilized USM Tested


raymondba

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 1
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM review by raymondba
Review Date: 5/21/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $4,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It takes sharp images really fast!
Cons: Well glass is heavy!

Well, I must start by sayingt hat this lens is amazing. I havent had the chance to compare it to the newer mark II but it takes really good images. I use it on a H sensor camera and the speed and lens combo is perfect. I get the 390mm at f 2.8 and there is no reason to use a higher f stop number. It is havy and i use it as a carry arowned lens for sports and wildlife. it works fine for me beeing an x triathlete but it gets to the heavy point at some times. I woudlent recomed that you walk further than 10 miles with it on your shoulder. The foces is really fast and the abilaty to take shots ad 1/400 of a sec in dusk is pretty awsome. I would higley recomend this lens.
AutoMotoMedia

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 4
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM review by AutoMotoMedia
Review Date: 3/13/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp & Fast
Cons: Heavy (non IS)

Here's some pics I have taken with the lens....


http://automotomedia.net/showthread.php/83-Canon-300mm-2.8l-(Non-IS)


A couple of years ago I picked up a non IS 300 2.8l. I love this l ens a lot. I rented one some years back, so I knew I could get by without IS. The person I bought it from worked for a newspaper, so this thing has been used a lot, but is in good condition. Focuse s fast, really sharp, and fun to shoot with. It is one heavy SOB!
magnus_

Registered: June 2010
Posts: 1
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM review by magnus_
Review Date: 6/25/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $5,250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: awesome, unbelievable, stunning image quality. great case.
Cons: awkward hood attachment. MFA likely necessary but no mention in manual.

Until recently my main telephoto lens was a very old (1994) 300mm f/4L non-IS, partnered with my 7D for shooting wildlife especially birds. Results have always been extremely impressive, meaning I’d take a picture, look at the camera viewing screen and think, “not bad”. Then download onto computer, and “wow”. Sharpness and IQ amazing.
Then I was able to afford a brand new 300mm f/2.8L. I took it out into the field and I couldn’t have been more disappointed. Every shot, including literal “sitting ducks” 10 metres away, were significantly out of focus even at 1/3000th second. I couldn’t believe it, having read all the raving about it here and elsewhere.
So I did a little research and read about Micro Focus Adjustment (MFA) and that it seems to be actually required for any high quality lens. I followed the procedures, found optimum focus at a setting of +9, and FINALLY I understand what all the fuss is about.
Now in the field I look at the back of the camera and think, like before, “not bad”. I download the images, and simply cannot believe the images. Even the most mundane subjects leap off the screen with the colour, sharpness and contrast. Quite incredible.


I do have two slight problems:
1. There is no mention in the lens or camera manual of the very high likelihood that focus adjustment will be actually essential, when many forums seem to indicate that is the case. After this experience, I calibrated all my other lenses too, and found I was able to improve almost every one. Interestingly, the only one that required no adjustment was my old 1994 300mm f/4 mentioned above.
2. The lens hood is a real pain to attach and detach, maybe I’ll get the knack in time. Introducing it to the front of the lens, it jams very easily and you have to be VERY careful not to touch the glass when attaching it in reversed mode (i.e. to get it back into its case).
genotypewriter

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 12
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM review by genotypewriter
Review Date: 6/17/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great optics, mechanics...
Cons: IS is showing a bit of age

Here's my sharpness comparison of the 300 2.8 IS and the currently USD 700 more expensive Nikon 300 2.8 VR (both on a 5D Mark II):


http://www.flickr.com/photos/genotypewriter/3852798932/


Here's also a bokeh comparison of the 300 2.8 IS vs. Nikon 300 2.8 VR and Sigma 120-300 2.8:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/genotypewriter/tags/300mmf28bokehtest/


Considering these points and the age of this lens, it's a real bargain.


Compared to newer lenses like the 200/2L IS and 800/5.6L IS, this lens is showing its age, mainly in the IS department.


If anyone's wondering whether a 200/2L+1.4x TC is just as good as a 300 2.8L IS... the short answer is no. The bare 200/2L is optically a bit better but adding a 1.4x TC to it will take that lead away. Get the 300 if you want the reach.
sivrajbm

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 12
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM review by sivrajbm
Review Date: 4/14/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $3,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, Sharp, Excellent IQ, Mad Bokem, Built like a tank, Beautiful Build Quality...WOW worth every dime...
Cons: Doesn't come with CP and a nice storage place in hard case or nice soft case, picky huh :-)

Ok, first of all got this beauty for a GREAT price. (Still had that new lens smell ) Totally unmarked with all the parts, UT date code. I've shot and played with it for a couple of months before I gave this review. This lens is the BOMB, it's fast to focus and EXTREMELY sharp. I can see why everyone raves about this lens. I shot some HS Baseball & Soccer with it last week. This is my first Great White and it's excellent it also takes the 1.4tc extremely well. I bought a nice Domke J-612 and Canon CP for it. I'm planning to get a 2x II also for a 600/5.6is. All I can say is WOW it's worth every dime...
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 2/6/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $4,030.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, best bokeh!
Cons: $$$, but you get what you pay for, right?

Worth its weight in gold...no doubt a nature photographer's dream lens!


See some great wild-life samples taken with this lens here:


Canon EF 300mm f/2.8 L IS Photo Samples


-Lex
hitendra

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 11
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM review by hitendra
Review Date: 1/19/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $4,150.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The BEST lens money can buy!
Cons: None

Most photos I have shot are with Extender 2X. Judge it yourself here…
http://www.hitendrasinkar.com/photoblog/index.php?x=browse&category=28&pagenum=1
photogjack

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 9
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM review by photogjack
Review Date: 12/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $4,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image stabilization, sharpness
Cons: none

Outstanding lens in every way. Image quality is first rate, construction quality is equally excellent. Image Stabilization opens new photographic opportunities. I routinely handhold this lens at 1/60th and 1/30th with acceptable results, which makes it great for places where tripods and or lights are not acceptable (churches). I routinely use it with the Canon teleconverters. With the 1.4 there is no loss of quality to speak of (pixel peepers might disagree) and focusing speed is still first rate. With the 2X there is a slight loss of sharpness and contrast and, on the 5D, it vignettes noticeably. But it cleans up nicely by f5.6 and is still quite usable for most applications.
jack
cold_fire

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM review by cold_fire
Review Date: 11/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $4,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: THE best lens Canon ever produced
Cons: expensive hood if broken

Never ever I have seen such a magnificent lens. While it does benefit from stopping down, the increase in resolution is very slight as the lens is almost as good at 2.8 as it is at 5.6. Nothing else to say. This is THE lens.
Powerdoc

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 7
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM review by Powerdoc
Review Date: 8/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $6,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Professional tool with oustanding IQ
Cons:

IQ wise this lens is great even wide open.
Still great with the TC 1,4
just good with the TC 2 (but a bit better on the 5D, than the 20 D)
The AF is fast (just average with the TC2 : you should limit the AF range here)
The build quality is fantastic
You can handhold it , but not during minutes.
The IS is a fine improvement especially in this focal range.


This lens is one of the best 300 mm lens, and one of the best canon lenses. Wide open it's the sharpest of nearly all canon lenses.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.