SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 34486 7/11/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
83% of reviewers $348.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.83
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
8.00
rokinon14f28a.jpg


Keywords: Samyang Rokinon Canon Nikon Pentax Samsung Sony Four-Thirds Wide Prime 35mm MF


titi_elsass

Registered: December 2009
Posts: 6
Samyang/Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC review by titi_elsass
Review Date: 7/11/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp at all aperture, price, build quality, ultra-ultra wide!
Cons: Distorsion but easily correctable with lightroom, only 6 blades

Used on 5D classic and 5D Mark II.


An unexpensive & very specialized tool giving great results!


The first main important thing: if you don't use software distorsion correction, it's a odd idea to buy it. Distorsion is huge and complex on full frame, but with some lens correction software (lightroom profile for example), it's very easy to correct.


Apart from this point, the image quality is very, very impressive. I found it to be as sharp or sharper than my precious Canon 24mm TS-E II ! I really like the "look" of images taken at f/2.8 (with important vignetting). Very low chromatic aberrations.


The build quality is very good and better than the Samyang 35mm f/1.4 I had some months.


The only thing which could be better is the blades number. There is only 6 diaphgram blades. 7 would be great for sun or night city shots!
joebat

Registered: April 2014
Posts: 1
Samyang/Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC review by joebat
Review Date: 4/23/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $510.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Low cost, good colors, wide, sharp, good constuction
Cons: no AF

I have this lens since January and I use it on a d3100. Because of the large depth of field it is not difficult to manually focus. The colors this lens produces, even at an entry level, are simply amazing. The distortion is easy to improve with DxO and PTLens. I use the lens mostly for landscapes, architecture and people succeed also nice.
keydet

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 5
Samyang/Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC review by keydet
Review Date: 4/6/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide, fast, sharp
Cons: No AF

Even without considering how inexpensive this lens is, it is a very good ultra-wide prime. Consider the cost and it is an exceptional value.
CW

Registered: March 2014
Posts: 1
Samyang/Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC review by CW
Review Date: 3/30/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Affordable, decent construction, extremely sharp
Cons: Barrel distortion and vignetting, not weather proof.

Other posts complain of distortion, low contrast, etc. The review points out that it has barrel distortion but it is easily corrected in Adobe Photoshop using the Warp function. As for low contrast, perhaps wide open but perfectly acceptable at F4 or higher, and you can easily add contrast with any photo software.


I previously owned the Canon L series 17-40 and 16-35 lenses. This lens is easily sharper than either of those at any F stop, regardless of what others may say.


If you have trouble manual focusing then this may not be the lens for you because the deep depth of field even at 2.8 may make it difficult. But after you do some tests and learn where to set the focus ring it all falls into place.


As for the-digital-picture.com and Ken Rockwell being the only two accurate reviews of this lens, that is pure BS. DXOMark and Photozone.DE have both highly rated this lens. If one can't work around the known weaknesses of this lens, then get another hobby because you certainly aren't a professional.


A highly recommended lens.
uforias

Registered: October 2010
Posts: 3
Samyang/Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC review by uforias
Review Date: 2/22/2014 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Unsharp - Too much Distortion - Huge Vigneting - Low Contrast

I have bouth this lens after reading a few very positive reviews regarding its performance comparing to i.e. Canon 16-35mm f/2.8 II, which I own. Unfortunately I have been able to prove myself that these so called reviews are not true. The only true review that I have seen from this lens is image quality tests from http://www.the-digital-picture.com/ and Ken Rockwell review. My findings go in line with these two tests. Too much distortion, huge vigneting and poor contrast; Canon 16-35mm f/2.8 II blows this lens away wide open in terms of image sharpeness. If you are on a budget, this lens might be a solution, otherwise avoid it.
m-ex

Registered: October 2013
Posts: 3
Samyang/Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC review by m-ex
Review Date: 10/14/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $320.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, f/2.8 really sharp
Cons: manual focus, manual aperture control, strange distorsion

Surprisingly sharp even at f/2.8


Love this lens on FF, super wide, best money/performance.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.