SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 46709 2/9/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $4,666.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.75
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
9.00
1canon400f4DOIS.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Prime 35mm DO IS Stabilized USM


Wojtek

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 8
Canon EF 400mm f/4 DO IS USM review by Wojtek
Review Date: 2/9/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $5,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, sharp and relatively small
Cons: Low contrast

As far as the sharpness is concerned, it surpassed Canon 400mm f/5.6 'L' lens, especially in the frame center, see the test results on http://pikespeakphoto.com/tests/canonlens400do.html
However, low contrast makes pictures look somewhat worse than with the f/5.6 lens. Low contrast is most pronounced at f/4. Bundled with 2x Extender one can see sharpness fall out at the frame edges (http://pikespeakphoto.com/tests/canonlens2xtele.html) more than with the f/5.6 lens.
magiclight

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 2
Canon EF 400mm f/4 DO IS USM review by magiclight
Review Date: 10/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light weight for it's specification and very good resolution.
Cons: lowish contrast

Great lightweight lens (for a 400mm f4).


The resolution is very good however the contrast is lower than other L series super telephotos. This is due to the DO construction. Images taken with this lens will need a little extra local contrast addedd in raw processing.


I use this lens as a walkabout hand held wildlife lens.


Autofocus is very quick with my 1DS Mrk3.
jimjsp

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 400mm f/4 DO IS USM review by jimjsp
Review Date: 5/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $5,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light weight, compact, quick focus, hand held
Cons: Should come with a simple lens cover

Works great with 2x or 1.4.x. Don't mind carrying this one compared to the other super-telephotos and for me this determines if it gets used or not. I leave it on my 1DmarkII and keep my 1DsII free for my other lenses. When I first viewed my pics from this lens I immediately knew it was a keeper. If its too heavey no matter how good a lens, you always ask yourself if you are going to lug it with you. Its all about using it if you have it with you, and you just can't say anything bad about the images.
HealeyDriver

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 400mm f/4 DO IS USM review by HealeyDriver
Review Date: 2/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $4,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light weight (relative to other 400mm), fast autofocus (easy to track birds in flight)
Cons: attention grabber from public

I bought this lens to use on a photo-safari to Botswana. What a kick!... the lens was on the camera (D20) 80% of the time. Handholding was successful even at night. I used light available from a vehicle spotlight to take pictures of a leapard with its kill in a tree well past sundown. The pictures show droplets of blood on the animals as clear as if I'd used a flash. (Handheld at 1/30 sec). Keys to success: Fast lens, excellent IS, and very fast follow-focus.... This is definitely my favorite lens. I used the 1.4X (canon extender) on some daytime bird pictures, and they came out so crisp I had a hard time believing I was using an extender at all.


My friends asked if I was going to submit the pictures to National Geographic, and others have requested prints to be used in their homes... (I'm not a professional, but clearly was achieving professional results with this lens.)


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.