SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 42042 6/16/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $6,750.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.80
spacer
10.00
1canon400f28IS.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Prime 35mm L IS Stabilized USM


genotypewriter

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 12
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM review by genotypewriter
Review Date: 6/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp
Cons: Heavier than the new Nikon 400 2.8 VR

I haven't only used the 500L IS and the 600L IS but compared to _everything_ else in the line-up, the 400 2.8L IS (wide open) ties for Canon's #1 position for IQ alongside the 200 2L IS. The 400 2.8 shows very slight traces CA compared to the shorter 200 2 in near-undetectable quantities towards the edges. This is a great achievement since it's twice as long (and CA generally increases with focal length) but it's also a stop slower (slower lenses are easier to optimise for CA).


I have also used the Nikon 400 2.8 VR and I was even able to handhold it:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/genotypewriter/4375194653/
The Canon one is however quite a bit heavier. This point aside, I do prefer the Canon over the Nikon since it has smoother bokeh and seems sharper than the Nikon:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/genotypewriter/3852064595/


I'm guessing the next iteration of this lens will improve the weight and have even better IQ.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 9/17/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $6,750.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nothing gets better than this one at 400mm!
Cons: You are heavily noticed with this lens.

Super lens...a "for sure" work horse in the field!


Sample photos with EXIF data.


-Lex
Badmono

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 15
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM review by Badmono
Review Date: 8/22/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ-IQ-IQ
Cons: Colour - everyone notices you, but this can workin your favour when it comes to blagging your way into events!

Awesome, I always wanted one, saved my pennies for a few years - was it worth the money & wait - YES YES YES.
One sad thing I've noticed other camera users with poor lenses [100-400 zoom] for example slag off the weight of my lens - these saddo's ought to try one for themselves, their crap zoom would join plenty of others for sale on ebay - the IQ of this lens is so much better than any zoom lens on this planet.
I have one suggestion for Canon to improve the lens - make it an F2 and drop the price :-))
AHAB

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 8
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM review by AHAB
Review Date: 11/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $6,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharper than a razor
Cons: Takes time to learn how to use this beast

This lens is a beast almost 13 pounds.
You will have to take the time to learn how to use this lens effectively.
Once you master this lens it is stunning, yes, even at 2.8.


Sharp, crisp, rich detail and color!


There is a reason you see this lens at the sidelines of every major sporting event, it does not get any better at this length.
Add a 2x extender and you have a pretty good 800.
Beg, borrow, or rent one if you can, once you use one it tends to spoil you.


Yes it is heavy, but so what?


It is what it is, one of the finest lenses on the planet earth!


AHAB
cold_fire

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM review by cold_fire
Review Date: 11/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $7,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: one of the finest lens I've ever worked with
Cons: expensive and easy-to-break lens hood

while a touch soft at 2.8, it gets perfect from f4 up untill f16. the only annoyance with this lens (although it can be applied to all super-tele Ls) is the carbon fiber lens hood that can get broken very easy and it is really expensive to replace (500$ a piece). A monopod is mandatory, obviously.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.