Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera Reviews

Reviews Views Date of last review
6 41578 6/16/2015
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $938.60
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Overall Rating

Keywords: Fujinon Wide Zoom XF APS-C X-mount OIS Stabilized


Registered: June 2015
Posts: 1
Fujinon XF 10-24mm f/4 R OIS review by lensemaster
Review Date: 6/16/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: lightweight, sharp image
Cons: none as of yet

OK, so given I'm a fan of Fuji & wide angle shots, so may be slightly skewed to the positive here. Almost perfect image quality, lightweight and easy to handle. Have only used it for 2 projects so far, so will update if it changes, but no cons as of now. Sound investment for any level of photography aficionado. Didn't notice the softness at ƒ/16 or ƒ/22. Ref:

Registered: January 2015
Posts: 17
Fujinon XF 10-24mm f/4 R OIS review by gabrielvines
Review Date: 5/26/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $799.00| Rating: 9 

Pros: fast focus and strong build
Cons: aperture ring not marked

Made use of the lens for an event around downtown in Miami. It is light and portable and incredibly sharp. I love too waterfall pictures and those need to get extra wide from time to time and this lens delivers on those occasions. Great tool if interested in architecture and landscape photography because although I would have loved to see a f/2.8, I was surprised by the quality and sharpness at f/4.0. A small annoyance was for me the non marked aperture ring which is a bit loose. But otherwise, it's stellar with a very nice bokeh at 4.0. See Ex 1, ex 2 or Ex 3

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Fujinon XF 10-24mm f/4 R OIS review by rdonson
Review Date: 1/21/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

Pros: Well built, OIS, versatility, good design
Cons: none for me

I use this lens on my X-T1. I shoot RAW and process in LR 5.7.1. This may mask some of the optical shortcomings mentioned but since I get the results I'm looking for it doesn't matter to me.

This lens has been a joy for me to use. I use it for outdoors architectural shots and for indoors to get the lines of the space I'm in. I never imagined I'd appreciate OIS on a super WA lens but I do. Hand holding is FUN!

With my processing workflow this has continually rewarded me with very good images. Its a delight. For me its rather compact and not overly heavy. In the hand its easy to use and very smooth to zoom and focus.

I also have Canon DSLRs and a case of L glass and I don't find this gives up anything to a comparable L lens.

Since purchasing the X-T1 for walkaround use I've become a Fuji fan. I appreciate the design, engineering and build quality not to mention the benefits of mirrorless.

Registered: October 2014
Posts: 1
Fujinon XF 10-24mm f/4 R OIS review by zwagner
Review Date: 10/31/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $799.00| Rating: 8 

Pros: Nice range, 10mm!, solidly built, smooth focus/zoom rings, pretty sharp, decent with flare
Cons: wicked high vignetting, sizable distortion, edges decent but not fantastic, aperture ring wonky/no hard markings

This lens is a solid 8 for me. I love Fuji's lenses, and have used most of them. The fit and finish of them is usually outstanding, and the optical quality of their lenses is consistently very good, and sometimes outstanding. I would say this is not their best effort, but that doesn't mean it's a not a worthy offering. Good, useful zoom range combined with a fixed aperture, and ooooh that 10mm wide angle. You can definitely get some expansive shots with this lens. It's not the widest I've used (14mm equiv would be), but close enough and wide enough to really make some astounding images.
That said, I don't get all the reviewers who are saying this lens has no or low distortion. That is simply not the case. Fuji imbeds their raw files with lens correction data, and Lightroom and others automatically apply these corrections during processing. That doesn't mean the lens is awesome. That means Fuji is letting software do a lot of the work for them. Is that okay? Well the lens is $1k not on sale, so you make the choice.
I use Capture One Pro for my editing, and when you turn off the lens correction, this lens shows significant barrel at 10mm. I haven't taken a significant look at the other focal lengths, but I've seen it goes from significant barrel to some decent pincushion as it gets to the long end.
Also? Vignetting is huge. And it is all over the place in the focal range.
CA isn't too bad from what I've seen so far; definitely better than some of the other wide lenses I've used.

Sharpness is great in the center at most focal lengths (sharpness all over suffers some at 24mm), but towards the edges it gets blurry. If you shoot jpeg with Fuji's LMO turned on, you definitely will not notice it as much, but it's still there. Uncorrected it is significant. But stopping down to 5.6 improves things, and by f8, things are pretty solid across the frame (though the edges still lag the middle).

Also, though not as much of an issue for me, the aperture dial on my copy of the lens is loose. Not as in turning; that is fine, but you can move it from side to side a bit on the body, which is a little disconcerting and something I've never seen from my other Fuji lenses with aperture rings. Plus the fact they didn't put the aperture numbers on the dial is just lame. For this price, come on. All fixed aperture lenses should have hard markings, zoom or prime. Period.

In the end, a couple things could have changed my rating: 1; they could have made it cheaper. I got mine for 799, but it was on sale. 699-799 should be the starting range for this lens in the current state. 2; improved the optics/aperture ring. Were the optics better and the aperture ring more solid, or even one of those things, I could have bumped the rating a point. And if both were solid, I would have given it a 10. As it is, it's an 8.

Good effort, Fuji, just not your best.

Registered: July 2014
Posts: 3
Fujinon XF 10-24mm f/4 R OIS review by pacslr14
Review Date: 7/27/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,346.00| Rating: 10 

Pros: OIS, well balanced on X-T1
Cons: bulky

Fabulous Super Wide Angle lens. Great for architecture photography. Very little distortion. Slight chromatic aberation , easily correctable.

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 2
Fujinon XF 10-24mm f/4 R OIS review by gert57
Review Date: 4/16/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $999.00| Rating: 9 

Pros: rather light, good balance on XE-1, sharp, OIS, low distortion
Cons: ratherbig (not toooo big)

Very versatile lens, from very wide to moderate normal. Very handy for city shooting and landscape work. Good color rendition, good sharpness, OIS very handy in low light shooting.


This document copyright © 2009-2015,, all rights reserved.