SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 50050 11/27/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $5,350.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.89
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
1canon500f4.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Prime 35mm L IS Stabilized USM


macman

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 4
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM review by macman
Review Date: 11/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $7,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, image quality, image quality!
Cons: Weight, but then I suppose that is to be expected.

I had always dreamed of owning a big white one day, well that day came and what a lens it turned out to be. Fantastic image quality, even with the 1.4 converter it produces stunning images.
I have printed out A4 sized prints which were cropped from the original somewhat and they are truly stunning.
It needs a good support, so a decent tripod and gimbal head or a big beanbag.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 2/12/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $5,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The "Pro" is, even if you're not a "Pro" you sure look like one!
Cons: You may what a hire a body guard to protect this lens...yes the lens, not you!

I don't own this lens unfortunantely, but Michel Roy does. He's a fabulous northern nature photographer. Check out these sample photos taken with 1D Mark II:


Canon EF 500mm f/4 L IS Lens Photo Samples


-Lex
SaSi

Registered: November 2007
Posts: 1
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM review by SaSi
Review Date: 11/27/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $3,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Reach/weight is best, Sharp, versatile
Cons: No way you go unnoticed

There is only one thing wrong with this lens. You cannot go unnoticed. Especially if you mount the lens hood. Thank goodness, contrast and flare control are excellent even without the hood.


I was decided to get a 300/2.8 as a means to get to 600mm for birds, small animals and sports. A used 500/4 in mint condition came my way and I grabbed it for ~$1,000 than it normally goes used in such condition.


The lens is barely usable handheld. I have made day trips with it and made several shots handheld but was finding myself reaching for support most of the time.


The lens excells with a monopod. Even a lightweight one like the Manfrotto 676B is fine.


It takes the Canon 1.4x very well. Only some loss of contrast in some occasions, that could very well be caused by me not using the hood all the time.


It also takes the Kenko 2xTC extremely well. AF is not lost on a 350D/XT and AF speed is not any worse than with the bare lens. I need to stack two 2xTCs to reach a level when image is so-so.


IS works fine with the lens and although rated at only 2 stops (compared with 4 in the newest lenses) it does it's job well, especially on a tripod.


Build quality (both of the lens and the carry case) are beyond criticism. It is a solid lens that will take good pictures and won't fail you. Again, only issue is how well you react on comments from bystanders, especially in public places. Best thing to do with this lens is take a walk in the woods.
jcmueller

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM review by jcmueller
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast focus, weather seals
Cons: cost , focus - see comment

Mainly shoot youth sports with a Canon Mark II. Always shoot off mono-pod, will occasionally pickup mono-pod and shoot handheld. Why pick the 500mm? Both the 400 f2.8 and 600mm f4 cost and weigh much more than the 500mm. The 500 gives a little more reach than the 400, not quite as far as the 600. For outdoor sports (soccer, baseball, softball) this gives great isolation of the player. If you shoot all day (7am to 5pm) the extra couple of pounds will make a difference by the end of the day. For low light (Friday night football) have a 300mm f2.8, for indoor (volleyball, basketball, hockey) the 300 is more versatile than the 400
In low light, ISO >1250 shutter <250 at F4, can detect slower focusing compared to the 300 f.28 even using just the center focus point. A low battery will also slow focusing down.
Superlatives are needed to describe the picture quality, regularly make sharp detailed 13”x19” prints. Have used the 1.4 extender with good results. Example: Girls softball shooting from the outside the fence (250 ft?) towards home, frames the batter, catcher and umpire.
Horror Story. The weather seals do work. Camera was on, and had slid to the back of a small power boat. Imagine my concern as another boat approached ours and I watched a WAVE come over the side of our boat onto my camera.
Highly recommended.
Mlr8081

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 3
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM review by Mlr8081
Review Date: 3/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $5,400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Near Perfect Image quality
Cons: Price and weight

I made the mistake of saying OK when a friend said for me to hook up to his 500 and shoot a few frames of a Pine Martin when we were in Yellowstone this January. When I saw the results I knew that I would have to have my own.


Yes, it is expensive and heavy. But if you are serious about wildlife photography, and shoot dangerous or shy or small animals (birds, bears,or other predators) there is no finer all around lens. I own a 400 f5.6L and a 100-400 LIS and have used the 600f4Lis. All of these are fine lenses capable of producing professional quality images, but the quality of the 500 is definitly superior to the 400's, and the lens is much lighter and easier to deploy than the 600.
I continue to be amazed by the image quality, and the IS is head and shoulders above that on the 100-400. When I review images I almost never have to cull an image for being soft. I am not a proponent of handholding a telephoto, but have gotten great images with this lens in a few cases when I didn't have time to mount to the tripod, although it is too heavy to handhold for more that a few shots. It is very usable with teleconvertors. I use the 1.4 frequently, and while the images suffer slightly, they are still excellent. With the 2X you can reach out and get the shot that you could otherwise not get with good results, especially if you stop down a stop or two.
The only real negative to this lens is the cost. If you can't afford the 500, the 400 f5.6L image quality is very close at a fraction of the price.
twereliu

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM review by twereliu
Review Date: 12/30/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast, Furious
Cons: Bring a Crane

The 300 prime is sharper, barely, but this thing is just awesome.


Dont think your are goind to walk around with it and not notice though, the 400 is even heavier or course, but it's BIG.


Fantastic lens, ultra sharp, as good as the 600 and you can double to 1000 and still get phenomenal results.


I have rented 6 times and would buy it if I didnt have other bills to pay.
steube59

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 1
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM review by steube59
Review Date: 11/1/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $5,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: If you need both reach and speed, this is your best bet!
Cons: None, if you're a Pro or Un-Married.

When matched up with Canon's EOS 1DMkII it is fantastic! Effective 650mm reach and both the AF / IS gives 1st class performance. Used with a Wimberley gimbal-head and you have total control for active mammals or birds in flight. I used to lift weights (a lot) so I wouldn’t disqualify the heavier 600mm f/4 L IS just on weight, but the 500mm is obviously shorter, easier to handle, and I’d swear superior optics. My only complaint is despondent look in my friend’s eyes when I say NO, about lending it.
niclasfoto

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 1
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM review by niclasfoto
Review Date: 10/25/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, fast AF, work well eith EF1,4x..
Cons: Weight, cost??

I bought this lens about four years ago and I still love it...


The pivtures almost nails you in the eye, straight from the camera...


Works well for many motives, birds, landscape, flowers, animal,, you name it!


Wiht the 1,4x converter you have a VERY versible lesconfig..


No problem to log around when trevelling. Yes if you compare wiht shorter lenses these are bulky but if you need a lens of this calibre you need it. No more to say about that.


I dont know how many hours the IS has been active, no problem so far..


I have had the EF 300 2,8L in my possesion and I miss the feeling in the focusing ring. I also miss the "three gear modes" for the focusing.. None of the new IS:lenses have this nice funktion!!!!!


Bought in Sweden..


Recommend it more than any other lens I have owned.
ChrisH

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 1
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM review by ChrisH
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $5,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Simply one of the best performers in telephoto you can get. Bullet proof AF, Sharpness, IS, Build quality
Cons: none really

Ok I bought this lens 3 months ago and I I used it for lot's of stuff now. ( Sports, animals, landscape)


I love this lens. Yes it's Pricy and heavy, but that's kind of normal for this big telephoto.


I can also say that it performces very well with the Canon 1.4 Converter.


It's a fantastic lens and I can only recomend it.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.