SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 51241 6/16/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
75% of reviewers $516.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
8.75
olympus25f18m.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Mid Prime Micro-Four-Thirds MSC


romeo

Registered: June 2014
Posts: 2
Olympus 25mm f/1.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by romeo
Review Date: 6/16/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light - Small - Fast - Sharp - Lens Hood
Cons:

After using Nikon (D300/D700) and Sony (NEX-7/A7r) now I use only Olympus.
Two body OM-D E-M5, one OM-D E-M5 with 25mm F1.8 and another OM-D E-M5 with 75mm F1.8.
No regrets for the past,for me small is beautiful.
Image quality of the Olympus with its lens is sharp, beautiful with gorgeous color.
http://www.romeocolombo.com/Sony7andOlympus5/Olympus-OMD-EM5-MZuiko-25mm-F1/
Umberto 357

Registered: April 2014
Posts: 1
Olympus 25mm f/1.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by Umberto 357
Review Date: 4/22/2014 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $633.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Leggero, luminoso, tagliente
Cons: il prezzo, la sensibile perdita di qualità oltre f.11

Era da molto che desideravo un 25mm: la lente più vicina all'angolo di campo dell'occhio. Possiedo anche il Panasonic 20mm/f.1,7, ma per il mio gusto apre troppo; sono stato tentato dal Sigma 30 mm, ma i test che ho consultato mi hanno sconsigliato. C'era poi il 25 Panasonic ma... e poi anche per quello ho visto un test che mi ha fatto desistere.
Ho acquistato lo Zuiko 25mm/f.1,8 da qualche giorno e l'ho subito provato. In negozio ho scattato a f. 1,8 con luce naturale (eccellente!), poi in strada, f.2-f.4. A casa, nel pomeriggio l'ho testato. Uso sempre il medesimo paesaggio che inquadro dal terrazzo sistemando nell'angolo superiore sinistro alcuni camini e in basso a destra delle tegole marsigliesi ed antenne tv, cavi, scatole di derivazione staffe e viti varie: ne conosco ogni particolare e utilizzando questa immagine da anni e mi dà immediatamente idea di quello che ho per le mani: così, stop dopo stop fino a f. 8 ho verificato che la qualità è ottima, a f.4-5,6 eccellente, paragonabile per contrasto ed incisività "cristallina" al Canon 17/40 a f.8, e ciò su tutta l'immagine, senza morbidezze laterali o angolari. Piuttosto scadente a f. 22, ma il degrado comincia a sentirsi da f.11. Comunque con un po' di p.p. a f. 16 l'immagine è ancora accettabile (più che sufficiente al 33%-50%), stampabilissima. L'ho provato poi in campagna e me ne sono innamorato. Sono decisamente soddisfatto. Ho voglia di comprare così il 45/1,8 al quale ho letto che assomiglia molto ed ha un prezzo migliore.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 33
Olympus 25mm f/1.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 3/29/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Compact, lightweight, sharp, good contrast, fast AF, wide aperture
Cons:

For me this is the fast and compact standard prime that was missing in the Micro Four Thirds lens lineup.


There is of course the Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 and optically it's a very good lens. However, the Panasonic is relatively large and heavy (even more so with the large lens hood), it costs more and it does have some optical flaws like soft corners and visible CA.


I hoped that the Olympus 25mm f/1.8 would be a good performer and luckily it is. Wide open at f/1.8 a large central portion of the image is very sharp. Contrast is good too. There is some vignetting and CA, but it's not excessive. I don't see any serious distortion either.


In short, I don't feel the need to stop the lens down for better image quality. When you do stop it down one or two notches, sharpness and contrast get slightly better. Again, I think it's perfectly fine at f/1.8.


Autofocus is swift, silent and dead on. Noting moves externally and I think it's nice that the lens shares a 46mm filter thread with some other lenses for the system.


The build quality is like the Olympus 45mm f/1.8. A large ribbed focus ring, a metal lens mount and a lot of plastic. It doesn't feel fragile and because it's heavier then the 45mm, it feels quite substantial for a lens this size. A plastic lens hood is included.


For me this Olympus 25mm f/1.8 is a very welcome addition to the system. I like it more than the Panasonic 25mm, because it's cheaper, smaller, lighter and the aperture doesn't rattle. In real life image quality is about the same. Highly recommend standard lens!
pmld

Registered: March 2014
Posts: 1
Olympus 25mm f/1.8 M.Zuiko Digital review by pmld
Review Date: 3/12/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light - Small - Fast - Sharp - Lens Hood
Cons: price

I agree with the review done on this page, there are not many on the market relatively accessible and quality options. The Panasonic 25mm 1.4, has a minimal difference in depth of field, it is shorter, but the difference is minimal it does not justify the purchase even if it is 1.4. However Olympus 25mm 1.8 gain for all other specifications, even in size. A good option for those looking for a 25mm AF lens for MFT. No regrets.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.