SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 26817 10/9/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
50% of reviewers $286.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
6.50
spacerspacer
7.25
olympus14-42f35-56mez.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Wide Mid Tele Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds EZ


jwdw

Registered: October 2014
Posts: 1
Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 EZ ED M.Zuiko Digital review by jwdw
Review Date: 10/9/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $359.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: light, fast, tiny ,very acceptable image quality for a zoom this size
Cons: expensive lens cap , don't expect prime lens image quality

I am using this lens as walk around lens. It stays on my olympus EPL3 most of the time. used it also on my OM-D . Image quality is absolutely satisfying for this type of lens. they are sharp, and the contrast is good enough. Its "friendly" , feels good too . On the EPL3 it's at its best ( i think because of the lower resolution sensor). i don't compare it to my prime's ( 20mm1.7, 45mm1.8 or 60mm 2.8)
waterfoot

Registered: September 2014
Posts: 1
Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 EZ ED M.Zuiko Digital review by waterfoot
Review Date: 9/6/2014 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Size, build quality
Cons: Almost everything else

I bought to make a "pocketable" camera (along with a E-PM2 body) to do much the same job as something like a XZ-2, say.


Boy was I disappointed; I expected performance similar to other Olympus kit lenses but this one comes nowhere near. It lacks "bite" (low microcontrast) at any focal length and aperture, producing rather dull, tonally flat images.


Just to add insult it sometimes misbehaved on startup/shutdown and occasionally failed to focus, although this was rare. I tried hard to "get to like it" but failed and sold it for a loss, replacing it with the (excellent) Panasonic 12-32. The little Panasonic lens is in a different league optically, challenging my Olympus 12-40/2.8 in the centre of the frame even wide open.


I usually like Olympus lenses, often getting attractive results from lenses that are brushed aside by the "sharpness is everything" fanatics (the 17/2.8 springs to mind) but the 14-42 EZ has no redeeming optical characteristics to mitigate its lack of resolution.


Definitely not recommended.
nippa

Registered: September 2014
Posts: 3
Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 EZ ED M.Zuiko Digital review by nippa
Review Date: 9/2/2014 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nicely made , very light and a great built in lens cap ( extra accessory )
Cons: Outside f5.6/f8 it's not sharp enough for me

I've tried two copies of this lens and while its size and build makes it highly attractive I've been unhappy with the limited sharpness.
The mediocre resolution means that I've given up the convenience of the lens for the old Lumix 14-45 and thereby lies a tale.


If I compare your resolution charts for the two lenses I see very little difference but in practice one is fit for A4 prints and one for A3.


If small size is important this lens will do the job and when stopped down a little results are good enough for most things.
Watch for shutter shake as I found with my E-M10 ; after using the electronic shutter resolution improved significantly.
Perry Rhodan

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 21
Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 EZ ED M.Zuiko Digital review by Perry Rhodan
Review Date: 3/20/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very very small. Very sharp for a kitlens. Extremely fast AF on EM10
Cons: No hood. (only 28mm wide ;-)

Incredible. My copy is very good across the board. Does much better compared to my sony 16-50 on my nex6. The AF is so quick, it's lightning fast. The zoom speed can be set in 3 speeds to your liking, works very well. The AF ring is somewhat small, but hey that's what tiny pancake zooms are all about, compromises. In contrast to the new and tiny panasonic 12-32, this oly does have an MF-ring on the lens. The IQ and AF speed look comparable to the pany. Only wishing oly made it 24mm on the wide side. To my surprise it does rather well in macro.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.